We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very chilled”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very chilled”
Reviewed December 26, 2008

This hotel is perfectly situated near the Royal Palace making it possible to walk to all the major tourist spots. The lovely gardens are what made it for me, although it can get busy and noisy with families/children using the pool. The restaurant is good and the staff are lovely.

The rooms are very comfortable but the walls are so thin that I could hear every intimate detail of my neighbours' lives. I resorted to sleeping with the noisy bathroom extractor fan left on - just to create some 'white noise' to muffle what was happening either side. However, I did have a room with an adjoining door - perhaps non-adjoining rooms are better sound-proofed.

  • Liked — The garden - a wonderful quiet escape from the madness of Phnom Penh.
  • Disliked — The ridiculously thin bedroom walls.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Char|London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    276
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
329
261
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I was originally disappointed that my original choice was full, so had to go with the recommneded option of Kabiki. However, that ended up being a very fortunate thing. The setting, the rooms, the staff - all top notch for the price and location. I am sorry to read about some of the other experiences. Our experience was fantastic. The staff were so warm and friendly - particularly those in the restaurant. I would return to the other side of the world just to spend more time with them. They were always smiling, very helpful, and genuinely interested in learning about their guests. They seemed to really enjoy it when we would make our own attempts to try their language.

We did not experience any of the challenges with the pool area being over-run by outside guests. The garden setting was tranquil, the pool was perfect.

Helpful?
4 Thank depmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I went to the Kabiki with four other friends. We booked a large room (a suit if I remember correctly) to fit all of us and the price was moderate. The room was great and the bathroom extremely clean and beautiful.

the french owners were though indifferent and not polite., basically very snobbish..we didn't feel welcome at all. Also, their dog kept peeing in the swimming pool and no one seemed to care...

If you wanna stay at a place where you can have drinks etc this is not the place for you. The restaurant / bar closes around 9.00 and is also very expensive in comparison to bars and restaurants around.

  • Liked — Nice and clean rooms
  • Disliked — Snobby owners and staff, bar and restaurant closed early
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank valajons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabikiPp, Owner at The Kabiki, responded to this review, October 31, 2008
From what I know, dogs do not pee in pools. One of the co-owners of the facility does have a young dog and he does visit the place with his dog twice a month. Last month, indeed the dog fell in the pool, but I have doubts that he did pee in it, as the poor thing was more trying to get out of the salty water, which he managed to achieve in a few seconds.

The Kabiki is a 3.500 sqm property, with two pools, all for only 11 rooms, in the most exclusive area of Phnom Penh. Our restaurant serves dishes from 4 USD to 7 USD (3 to 5 Euro). Restaurants in town indeed benefit of much more reasonable space/location related costs… But the Kabiki is located less then 100m away from street 240, where numerous reasonable restaurants and bars are located. In that street, we highly recommend the Sugar Palm (authentic Khmer cuisine), the Tamarind (best couscous in town), the Shop (best pastries and sandwiches in town), the Freebird (great burgers and Mexican), etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSCLIFF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I love this style of small hotel and myself and 3 children did love our stay here and we stayed 6 nts all together. We love the location, in May 08 I stayed at Pavillion, we felt safe and the staff at the restaurant and bar were wonderful to us. But..... i do agree that the managment were rather aloof. Also the local presence in the pool creates quite a busy atmosphere sometimes. Regardless of the few criticisms i have made I would still stay there again.

  • Liked — Small boutique hotel and the location.
  • Disliked — The pressure of the water in the shower and not much hot water
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MORT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

As we had children under 16 we were not allowed to stay at the Pavilion (my first choice) so we were offered the Kabiki instead. This is a sister hotel of the Pavilion so I figured despite the limited number of reviews (which were mostly good), this would be OK.

The hotel is located in a great part of town, just near 240 Street and the Royal Palace and a short tuk tuk from the Riverside (you can walk if you don’t feel the humidity). The hotel itself is quite new and located in luscious gardens. It’s all on the one level so is more like a resort than a hotel, which suited us very well.

The room was large and nicely appointed, although there were some signs of quite poor workmanship in the building of the place. If I were the owner I would be going back to the builder to complain. In part of our room the roof was collapsing and there were signs that the roof had been leaking – they were just completing repairs to it as we checked in. The bathroom also had signs of poor finishing (eg gaps between the shower screen and the wall). These were only minor issues and certainly did not impact negatively on our stay, but I imagine the hotel owners must be disappointed that the building work was of such a poor standard in some of its finishing.

The staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were able to arrange travel for us and everything went smoothly. The poolside restaurant is very good, making an excellent cocktail, but the menu is pretty much limited to western-style food – I’m sure it’s very good but we didn’t really go to Cambodia to eat pizza or fine French dining. There were 4 or 5 Asian-style dishes and anything we did order was delicious.

My only comment that would be slightly negative is in regards to the pool. If you stay there you need to be aware that it is a public pool – anyone can come in use it, provided they pay the admission fee. This was set at a level that meant Cambodians could not come in but expats can. I have nothing against the hotel management using their resources to maximise their income – it probably makes good business sense. However, perhaps their website should read something like “Guests have free use of the public pool that is located within our grounds” so that there is no misunderstanding. As we were there on the weekend, the pool was very crowded – something like 20 or 30 kids and their parents. This meant that we were unable to sit anywhere near the pool. On the upside, our children made some new friends, which was a positive experience. I guess my main concern was that the pool was clearly not built to take numbers of people that were swimming in it so it was pretty murky most of the time. I guess I was also a bit peeved that we were prevented from staying at the Pavilion because it was too exclusive for us, but shunted off to a sister hotel that was quite happy to let every man and his dog in. I should point out that at $US70 per night it is not a cheap option, either.

Overall though, we had a pleasant time and would stay here again. We’d also recommend it to others, with the caveats mentioned above.

  • Liked — Great location,. lovely gardens, nice rooms
  • Disliked — A bit expensive and too many outside visitors
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank guykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2008

No peace and quiet at The Kabiki - this place was over run with screaming children, running riot, all under 6 years old - childrens birthday parties on both days we stayed - no pool towels or seating for hotel guests and very slow lunch time service due to influx of non residents to use the pool. Very disappointed - maybe should decide whether it is a hotel or public amusement water park - unfair to be both

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabikiPp, manager at The Kabiki, responded to this review, October 20, 2008
Kabiki is located in one the safest vicinity here in the heart Phnom Penh. We have large ground, 2 pools; one for the adults and the other shallow one for the kids, day beds and a beautiful garden. Being so, we accept event bookings with a limited number of persons in a limited number time, from locals and expats who wish to conduct parties with us. But because of this rule not being followed, the management decided to stop accepting any kind of event reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Our stay at the Kabiki was alright. The gardens were beautiful, and the rooms were clean.

In a city that has suffered major turmoil, the Kabiki is a nice getaway.

However, the rooms lacked decaration, and the manager was not too friendly either.

However, we felt safe at Kabiki. Breakfast was okay, but left hungry the 2 mornings that we ate there. The service was extremely slow as well.

We spent an afternoon by the pool as well, and as other reviews have noted, the pool did seem to be filled with non-guests.

The internet barely worked when we were there was well.

Overall I would say the Kabiki was okay, not sure if we went back again if we would stay there.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — The fact that the internet did not work
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilly1234Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabikiPp, Owner at The Kabiki, responded to this review, October 8, 2008
Since September, we started to ask entrance fee for those who would like to use our pool, be it expats, back packers or local. This is to evade having full packed weekends. We, indeed, suffered a bad internet connection from our former provider and now we are using new one that gives 1mb/sec.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing