We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location within easy reach to everything you need”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet location within easy reach to everything you need”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As mentioned in most reviews Kabiki is approx a 80m walk from the road from where you pass through a security barrier - unauthorised vehicles not allowed access and although I never felt unsafe walking around Phnom Penh it is nice to stay in a quite, secure street. We stayed at Kabiki for 4 nights in room 19 upstairs which is the furthermost walk to all the hotel facilities, but this wasn't an issue for us. The grounds are lush with many trees but you are able to still find sun around the pool. It is a family friendly hotel so there were often kids enjoying themselves in the pool. Our room had a narrow balcony but unless you were a smoker I don't think you would use it. The ground level accommodation had a large garden in front of them and rooms were far enough back from the paths so privacy from other guests walking by. The rooms have everything you need in hotel style accommodation. Breakfast is provided in the restaurant by the pool and offered a good range of food. Staff serve drinks and meals all day to pool & restaurant guests. Kabiki is not central as it is a 10-15 minute walk or $3USD Tuk Tuk ride to the market, Royal Palace and many restaurants along the riverfront. If you want to enjoy the aspects of the city during the day and the peace of accommodation by night Kabiki is perfect. If you want to stay in among the busy part of PP chose somewhere along the riverfront or nearby. The staff at Kabiki were knowledgeable and very helpful in organising tours and drivers but more importantly they were all very friendly.

Room Tip: Only access to 1st level rooms is stairs but rooms are private. Ground level rooms have a large gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkl3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    277
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
329
263
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved the quietness of the Kabiki, being on a closed off side street. I was a bit nervous arriving at midnight & knowing I had to walk a few yards but they were ready for me with a warm welcome. Had a deluxe garden room that has a patio in front so it allows a lot of privacy due to any one walking by is at a distance. I walked to many places from the Kabiki vs a tuk tuk, Nat'l Museum, Palace, St 240, FCC. It's well located. Staff is friendly & very efficient. I changed my reservations & will stay at Kabiki again at EOM.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Kabiki Hotel at the end of our three-week holiday in Laos and Cambodia - and this was the most comfortable stay. Situated in a beautiful garden, with a nice swimming pool, huge and tastefully furnished rooms, delicious breakfast, the Kabiki was a small oasis for us in the very heart of Phnom Penh and within walking distance of the Royal Palace and the Mekong. The staff was very friendly. Back home, we discovered that we had left some of our personal items at the Kabiki, and the staff was very helpful in sending them to us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenR785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just checked out of The Kabiki an hour ago and now sitting in the airport. The Kabiki is clean, quiet and relaxing. You need this after a long day in and around the city. The pool is a great way to cool off at the end of the day and does the trick beautifully. The location is centrally located to everything and made even safer that security is posted at either end of the street. Not sure why and when I asked it was explained the Prime Minister lived on the street. This needs to be confirmed, forgot to ask the hotel when checking out. The breakfast is good, nothing fancy - still a good way to start the day. The hotel is kid friendly which suited us fine and was not an issue. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There's no fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If there is anything I am a sucker for its comfortable four poster beds and lovely quiet pool-sides. Kabiki has both! We checked in for 4 days after reading the great reviews here and were not disappointed. Its not an exaggeration when people say that this is an oasis. It truly is. Its tucked into a small tree lined street and the property itself is really green. The rooms are large, ultra clean, with really comfortable beds and that romantic mosquito net on them! The aircon works perfectly well and the bathroom heating worked perfectly as well. Their breakfast spread is great with a good range of fresh fruits, oats, yogurts and some very good coffee to go with. The manager is a really friendly person and gave us a lot of info about the place and Phnom Penh in general. There are tuktuks that are easily available from the hotel making it truly well appointed. We would spend the day in the madness of the city and then return exhausted to our beautiful hotel! Would surely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had high expectations of the Kabiki and we were not disappointed. Tucked away down a very quiet side street less than 10 minutes walk from the Royal Palace it offered a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh. We entered the hotel via the shady garden which leads into a cool, airy and tastefully furnished lobby area. Staff greeted us with a cool drink and iced towel to wipe away the dust from our journey. Our room was located on the ground floor just away from the reception but was perfectly quiet with a good view into the garden. The room was clean and spacious with a large kingsize bed and modern bathroom with wet room. Towels were beautifully folded with real flowers nestling in the folds. The large desk held complementary water and a platter of fresh fruit. On the desk there was also a folder full of information on tours, sights to visit, restaurants and guidance on how not to pay too much for a Tuk Tuk ride. The aircon was very effective and the room was also thoughtfully equipped with a plug-in insect killer and mosquito net, neither of which were needed. In addition to the desk the room contained a comfortable sofa and large flatscreen TV. In the morning we were provided with a generous breakfast of fruit, oats with homemade yoghurt, breads with jam and eggs however we wanted them (and also ham or bacon if that's your thing). Breakfast also came with excellent coffee! All in all we were very sad that ours was only a one night stay and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

What a joy it was to come into the lush garden after the long drive from Siem Reap. The grounds and pool are blissful, with birdsong waking you up. The staff are genuinely lovely and helpful. My teenage boys loved the chocolate crepes and milkshakes. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,436 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing