We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, great location”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #18 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed here after Sihanoukville during a quick stopover in Phnom Penh, in late July 2008.

Thought this was a lovely boutique hotel in a quiet location. Have just read a review that criticized every aspect of this hotel. Am not sure what country this reviewer thought they were in, or what they expected, but our experience was completely different.

Granted, the rooms did not contain the 5 star luxury appointments as you’d expect from the Raffles or Hyatt etc, but they were certainly much more atmospheric than generic and bland Westernised hotel chains.

We found the rooms to be spacious, clean and minimalist, with courtyards out the front. All the basics were on offer including TV, A/C, fridge etc. A pleasant change was the option of ceiling fans, as well as the ever-present air conditioning.

The pool area was excellent to come back to after a long day. Great location near 240 as well. Staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.

Would definitely recommend a stay here if you looking are for a boutique hotel with a bit of culture.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelbourneKlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 868 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2008

There's not anything positive I can say about this hotel, hears why
Wouldn't confirm next ongoing flight (a first)
No phone, clock, wardrobe, toilet brush, acceptable TV reception
A tiny fridge with nothing in it, yet there was 4 bottles of warm water in room.
Management non existent, staff rude and unhelpful
Internet very slow, when it did work (not often)
Finish in rooms substandard, tiles on floor moved, grouting in bathroom sub 3rd world, sewerage smell unacceptable
Nothing closed properly including shower screen door
The smallest tissues I have ever seen (They where in a tissue box)
The pool appeared okay but constantly filled with what appeared to be lots of non guests
I have travelled the world over many years, and this is the first hotel I have felt unable to leave a general service tip

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank graton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabikiPp, Owner at The Kabiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2008

The Kabiki indeed suffered some bad finishing and the workers had to double the sewage system, the roof of the new building was leaking and we had to install a second cover. Technical problems do appear far too often, keeping the maintenance team quite busy.
This being said, the feedback from our guests is usually positive and they love our staff.
This advisor has posted 4 other reviews, giving each hotel the worst possible mark… so come and check it out by yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is a simple yet comfortable family-style hotel. We thought for the cost a good value. If you are looking for something more mainstream/cookie cutter, then book with one of the larger, well known chains.

The rooms are large and simply appointed. The individual air conditioning units are just adequate. The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and as others commented, the hotel is in a safe, convenient location which is a real plus.

We found the staff friendly, including the French staff, so wedo not agree with a previous writer. At first maybe a little stand-offish, but once you speak with them, they are warm and responsive. We found breakfast to be simple, yet adequate served in a very lovely setting.

Yes, the rooms could use some decorating to make them feel warmer and more inviting, but the fact that it is not like every other hotel also gives it a certain charm. This is a small, basically family run hotel. Accept it on that basis and you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MindSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Stayed here as the pavillion was fullyed booked. The hotel grounds were lovely - nice garden and great restaurant / pool area. The whole place had a relaxing, laid back feel to it and proved to be a nice break from the heat and hustle&bustle of exploring PP. The staff were helpful when we asked them questions about the local area. The location is good - its just down the road from the pavillion and is a short tuk tuk ride ($2) to the riverside (15min walk.) or other parts of the city. Previous reviews complained about the pool being full of expats - this seemed just to be the case on the weekend, during the week days of our stay we had the pool to oursleves - which was great. The breakfast was simple but well prepared and tasty (bread/jam, fruit, papaya juice, tea/coffee). We had lunch at the hotel pool side restaurant on one of the days and the food was lovely! The local staff were friendly and provided good service. The rooms were simple but spacious and nicely decorate (came with a safe). Overall I would recomend the Kabiki - especially those travelling with children and it makes a very good second option if you can't manage to get a room at the pavillion. My only negative point would be the room cleaning - I think this could be improved on, the room certainly wasn't dirty but the large cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and on the bathroom wall - wasn't a good look. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Kabiki and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

This is a nice guesthouse in a good and very safe location in Phnom Penh. It has a swimming pool, which was very nice for my brother, me, and my parents. It is also family friendly and that was good as well. The room was pretty spacious with a nice bathroom and shower, and the people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. However, the restaurant didn't seem quite open yet because we had completely ordered dinner when, 10 minutes later, the waiter came back and told us that they didn't have any food left. The breakfasts were really good though. This is a nice, friendly guesthouse that we recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preteentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

There are some very nice features to The Kabiki. It is well located, near the National Museum and Street 240, where there are interesting restaurants and boutiques. Its garden and pool have potential. Breakfast, served at the small restaurant near the pool, was beautifully presented and delicious (freshly baked bread, butter, jam, fruitjuice garnished with passionfruit, a fruit plate, and good coffee). The staff were helpful and friendly. On the down side, the pool water could be cleaner - it's cloudy and less than inviting. One of the days we were there, the pool was overrun by local expat families with lots of kids - perhaps friends of the owners? - so that the scene was anything but relaxing. Perhaps that was a one-off event. As for the rooms, at the time we visited, there was no place to set one's suitcase, unless on one of the bunk beds. A small table would be useful. The mattress was extra-firm. While I like a sturdy mattress, this was a bit too hard, similar to many hotel beds in China. The rooms at the back are made of concrete and all in a row behind the main reception/house. Due to lack of cross-ventilation, it is necessary to have the airconditioning on, and it takes about an hour to cool the room down if you've been out. The solar water heating works well - just takes a minute or two to come through the pipes. Each room has a small concrete courtyard in front, with a chair and umbrella. Not sure why they chose concrete, rather than grass, because it traps the heat. No one sits out in those areas; it's a wasted effort. While we were there, workers were busy planting bushes and trees in the garden. They left virtually no lawn space - a rather odd planting scheme in my opinion. I would have preferred groupings of bushes and trees to create pockets of shade with lawn in between where you could pull up a chair. Instead it's a kind of polka-dot affair. No in-room safes yet (on order, apparently). While they are making an effort, it seems they haven't got the design quite right, and they really need to get pool maintenance down. I thought it was a bit overpriced, given the overall experience. Having said that, it's a good bet if you are travelling with kids or can't get into The Pavillion nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We recently stayed at Kabiki for 2 nights. Good location, close to Independance monument, not far from the river even by walk. Cambodian staff very friendly and helpful, french staff not really, sometimes make you feel unwelcome.
It seems that on sunday afternoon all expat, friends and family are invited to enjoy the brand new swimming pool! Not less than 16 children playing and shouting around. Not possible at ALL to rest or enjoy the swimming pool.
First evening: restaurant closing at 8.00pm, and half of the menu was not available.
Breakfast was poor: first day , early morning, we asked for plain bread instead of nuts bread because of allergies and were answered that there was no more bread!!! The day after we didn't get any fruit salad neither juice although we had it the morning before. At 7.30 in the morning we've been told that no more juice! In the afternoon we asked for a coconut pancake and were told no more coconut! How can't we find tropical fruit in Cambodia...?!
Cleanliness ok but room decoration can be improved. Really nice garden.
Hotel still under construction, for that reason full price is not justified.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bjasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabiki, Owner at The Kabiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2008

Actually we opened 8 new extra-rooms, the swimming-pools and the restaurant in the beginning of March, 2008. Unfortunately, there were some problems in setting up the work of the restaurant like in every just-opened one. By now everything is in right order, the restaurant is open from 7AM to 10PM and is managed by a chief-cook with over 15 years experience. Concerning the access to the swimming pool, we are in a way to settle the membership system. The swimming-pools will be open only for members from 10AM to 5PM, and for sure are always open for the Kabiki guests. The construction works have been done; few more are coming, including the playground for children. We hope you understand that every new hotel needs some time for the complete settling.
The rooms range from 45 to 70 USD. We are a 150m from the Royal Palace, with 3.500 sqm park, 17m pool and kiddie pool. Breakfast and taxes are included, Internet is free. Now, in Phnom Penh no other place offer that at any similar rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $50 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing