We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice stay at the Kabiki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #18 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice stay at the Kabiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Kabiki late September. Due to my late arrival, I had arranged the vintage Jaguar to pick me up at the airport. It was nice to have the car waiting for me. I had a large double room with air conditioning and many English TV channels. The breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. The pool was very much appreciated due to the extremely hot and humid weather. The location is very good - central yet quiet. It is close to the street with interesting boutiques and restaurants as well as the palace. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    269
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
325
256
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Kabiki hotel is set in a lovely part of Phnom Penh, and the hotel has a lovely garden area with tons of trees and a nice pool. At night the place becomes magical with lanterns all over the garden area.

However, the rooms themselves are quite basic given the kind of room tariff they charge. There are no slippers or robes provided. Only shampoo and soaps are provided in the bathroom. Also our room had a loose tile and no one had bothered to fix it. We also found that the pillows were very hard and our sleep quality wasn't that great.

However the ambiance of the place thankfully makes up for these shortcomings!

Please also be warned that the hotel is family friendly so there will be tons of kids running around or in the pool. So if you are looking for peace and quiet this may not be your hotel. There are also quite a few cats on the property that sit on the chairs and are lounging around so if your allergic to cats, you may want to avoid this hotel.

While the hotel is a stone's throw from the palace and the independence monument (and St.240), it is a good 20 minutes walk from the river side.

While our overall experience was not bad, we would suggest that you look for other options given that the hotel isn't cheap and maybe spend a day enjoying this hotel's pool :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here as recommended by a friend. This simple but fab hotel is down a quiet private street near some big villas and a small security garrison. So it feels like it is in a secure spot but without feeling like you are trapped in some western enclave. You really feel like you are in the middle of the city (but it is not noisy) as you can just stroll out of the small compound into the neighbourhood. We did this and tried some excellent food in nearby restaurants. Kabiki is very central and short tuk tuk ride from most things.

The best part of this place is its setting, it feels like a colonial home within its own oasis, complete with a beautiful swimming pool and palm trees. There is a great little bar serving drinks, snacks, and more substantial food if you wanted to eat in.

The rooms are big, and clean and very comfy. And of course the staff are lovely!

I am not sure I will ever get the chance to visit Phnom Penh again, but if I did I certainly stay here again rather than one of the big international complexes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northdevonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel's tag line is "A peaceful oasis in the middle of Phnom Penh" and that is just right.

We arrived during rush hour, having spent about 45 mins in a taxi to get the 11kms to the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by how lovely, lush and quiet the hotel is.

You step through the gates and leave all the traffic, honking and grime of the city behind you.

Yes, you do have to walk about 100 meters through a security barrier to get to the hotel but there's usually a porter or hotel staff close to the barrier to help with bags.

Rooms and bathrooms were fairly large and clean and they had family rooms, which are great especially if you have more than 2 children. The family rooms on the ground floor have a little courtyard in front with a table and chairs (great for parents who want to have a drink, while kiddies are tucked up inside)

Breakfast is simple and healthy - fresh passionfruit juice, yogurt and muesli, eggs, bacon or ham, fresh bread rolls and a cut fruit platter.

I particularly liked the location of the hotel, about a street or 2 away from St 240, which has the loveliest little boutiques, cafes and restaurants (I spent far too much time on this street, much to my family's dismay)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from our stay at The Kabiki and can recommend this hotel. The service was good, the pool was nice and the gardens lushly green. A little oasis in a busy city. Hotel location within walking distance of Royal Palace and river promenade in one direction and the Independence Monument in the other direction. Rooms basic but stylish, a good size with bunk beds for the LOs. Breakfast was nice and the homemade jam lovely. Only complaint would be to give the bathroom in room 11 a little TLC - the handle on the shower door was hanging off.
Note: the hotel is near to the PM's residence or office so to go down the road you need to leave your transport and clear security. No big deal, gave a sense that it was safe to stay around there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I, plus 2 children (3 and 6) recently stayed there for five days. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. It seems the managers care about the staff and they always seemed to be busy doing something, fixing, working away. The pool (actually two, another toddler one) was a big draw card which the children made full use of. Our room was with a great big comfortable bed and a bunk. The food was simple and fresh, especially the local dishes and fruit juces. On the minus side it was the wet season and there was a slight 'dark, floody' feel to the place. We had a very relaxing time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kabiki 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It is tucked away down a quite street which makes it a welcome getaway from all the hustle and bustle! Our only slight downside was the pool area which could be a lot cleaner and more inviting in appearence. Other than that we were really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 22, Street 264, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#24 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing