We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second timer- STILL THE BEST!”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A year after visiting Phnom Penh, we decided to stay in Kabiki again and its still lovely!

We arrived quite early and so the room wasn't ready yet as I expected. But they offered us an room were we can use while were waiting for our own room be ready, - and yeah, thats "service"! Reception staffs are just fabulous. No question was ever left unanswered they even offered us bottled water to bring while hovering around the hot Phnom Penh and though quite familiar with the place, they are still very happy to show me where are the best places to shop.

Our room is nice and clean with a private balcony in it perfect for an afternoon tea or early morning cup of coffee.

Their garden is big and nice and the pool is just crystal clear awesome! with enough lazy lounge to chill and some cabanas around.

Restaurant offers good food and mojito! I even personally told the staff how we love the cocktails he made for us.

Everyone is friendly and warm I guess all Cambodians are. We would like to extend our stay but sadly they are full. I will see you again Kabiki. I dont see any reason why I will not recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ayesha_saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 880 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in November 2012. Very central but quiet location, just a couple of minutes walk to the Royal Palace. Staff were very friendly, with one man at check in being very enthusiastic in practising his English and showing us around the hotel.
It rained while we were there and the paths to our room were flooded, but not a big deal to us.
The restaurant has a small but appealing menu, priced on the higher side for Cambodia but a good option if you couldn't be bothered to go out. Being a vegetarian who doesn't eat eggs, breakfast was a little limited but the bread and homemade jams were nice - plus the Vegetarian restaurant is basically just across the road, which does very cheap and decent meals.
Our Superior Double room was pretty cute, very bright and exceeded our expectations for the price ($100AUD for two nights)!
Another review complained that the pool was green - that's what you get with green pool tiles. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Awesome staff, very friendly and happy to help. The room itself was fantastic and set in a wonderfully peaceful and calming setting in the middle of a busy city - if your passing through cambodia the Kabiki is by far a must.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuey1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kabiki and enjoyed our time but don't feel quiet the same level of enthusiasm as previous reviewers. The rooms are simple, very dark with very basic bathrooms. The pool area is nice but my husband ended up with a raging ear infection, which necessitated antibiotics , steroid & anaesthetic drops. On checkout - the lady became quite rude insisting the room had not been paid for despite the fact that we were using a local Vietnamese agent who had handled all the bookings & payments. There is not much choice for families in PP but we would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is tucked away down a very quiet street, home to some government residences, so security at both ends making it very safe (Not that we found the city to be dangerous in any way).
Location is good as still within walking distance (15-20 mins) of Royal Palace, Sisowath Quay, etc
It only has 18 rooms yet enough staff to offer good service. The breakfasts were excellent and included in the price. The pool is an added bonus and was a welcome relief in the afternoon after travelling around during the day.
The rooms are clean and spacious and we also had our own balcony.
Hotel is relatively pricey by Asian standards but it does have many plus points and I would say it's worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

For the asked price, this is a really bad value.
Our room was small, dark, and the decoration was simple and really not nice.
The staff was really lazy and spend sometimes 2 hours as slepping on a table in the restaurant.
We was travelling with 2 children and us driver was not allow to go inside the street, so we have to walk with all your bagagge to the hotel.
The frozen food served at the restaurant was the most horrible that we eat in 2 weeks in Cambodia.
I will not recommand this place to somebody

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germaninaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Unfortunately our preferred hotel, The Pavilion, was fully booked so The Kabiki was 2nd choice. Still a lovely hotel if not a little too family friendly for us. We stayed in room 7 for one night. Very dark and riddled with mozzies. Moved upstairs to 17, much better. Safe location and being run by the same people as The Pavilion very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs behind reception are very dark with mozzies rooms upstairs much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupandspooncafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 277 in Phnom Penh
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing