We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis in the centre of Phnom Penh "The secret garden"”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #18 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in the centre of Phnom Penh "The secret garden"”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Kabiki is in a boomed road guarded by soldiers as it sits between the governor's residence and the presidents official residence
It has the most wonderful peaceful swimming pool and garden in Phnom Penh
The rooms are well equipped for the price range and the restaurant is excellent and the staff super helpful, they ll book bus tickets, trips or pretty much anything you ask them.
A real oasis in a fairly chaotic city ...... Cool place !!!!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all have gardens and the 1st floor rooms all have balconies looking into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    279
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
336
267
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Kabiki was a fantastic hotel. Felt like an oasis. Romantic if you wanted it I be, but there were families with kids and groups of all sorts- not only couples. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. Breakfast was simple, as they couldn't serve eggs while we were there due to a broken stove. I didn't mind so much, though it would have been nice to have another option other than muesli and yogurt. Food service seemed a bit slow, but I think that is customary for the area. Upon arrival we were greeted instantly and they even accommodated us to have an early lunch since we had missed breakfast with the early flight. The restaurant seemed to have pretty slow service, but that seems to be the norm everywhere. (I come from NYC, so anything is bound to feel slow to me.) The only thing I'll warn of is that there aren't any clocks to be found throughout the hotel -- we mistakenly were off by an hour our whole time there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LClaire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For us, this was the perfect place to stay in a city after several days on the road (and river) and arriving quite exhausted, we immediately felt relaxed, and before doing anything ate lunch by the beautiful pool (and yes, it's in the shade a lot but you can move sunbeds should you want to sunabthe). Our room, upstairs, was large and airy with both AC and a fan and a lovely bathroom and a balcony, which was completely private. The little touch of having a fragrant oil burning, was the sort of thing other, more expensive hotels should take note of - delightful! The bed was very comfortable and large (but with the ubiquitous hard pillows, I was resigned to by then).
To be woken by birdsong each morning was wonderful. The rest of the city could have been having a riot and we wouldn't have heard - perfect.
The staff were freindly and very efficient. We had a really good lunch and breakfasts were good too. The fact we could walk to most things we wanted to do and felt safe in this area were all bonus points. I honestly don't think I could find fault, even if I wanted to....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Travelling as afamily with two teenags under 16 we had trouble finding a hotel where we could stay. I booked the Kabiki after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Down a dusty road, off the main drag, you walk through the gates into a tropical haven. The gardens are beautiful, and the welcoming cold towel and cold juice were just the thing. We were shown to our rooms, and were very pleased. We stayed in room 5 which had a very large king size bed with mosquito netting. Simple bathroom but very clean. Great airconditioning and ceiling fan. Our 2 teenagers were in room 8, which had 2 very large single beds ( could have even been 2 double beds) and 1 set of bunks. Each room has its own courtyard with a table and chairs. The pool area is divine. Pool lounges everywhere and day beds scattered around the garden. Really should have stayed longer here. Breakfast was simple but very nice. Fresh passionfruit juice, toast, and eggs if you wanted them. Will definitely be recommending this place to friends, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in 5 & 8 were set out along the garden path rather than in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieP9877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

After considering many options in the 240 area, we decided to give the Kabiki a try, and it was a pleasent surprise! All the other rooms with bathtub were occupied at the time and only available room was room with two double size twin beds. I think all the superior rooms are located in the main building and other rooms behind.

The room was big with huge mirror and big bathroom with both bathtub and shower (separately). We had enough warm water always. The room had nice candle with burning jasmine oil the air. A nice touch! The bed was the most comfortable I had after this almost 7 week trip (and some hotels tell you they have the most comfortable and big bed, what a lie!!).

This particul room had fridge, which was not working as it shoud (keeping things cold, and I do give them a minus for not replecing this broken fridge, BUT they do give you ice from the restaurant when asking).

The staff in Kabiki is super happy and always smiley and positive towards guests. I haven't seen happier staff in other places so far (we been P.P., Siam Ream, Kep, Phu Quoq Vietnam). Yes, I would come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A bit too hard matresses for my sawr back (hence the 'average' on Sleep Quality), but my boyfriend slept like a baby. The Kabiki is - literally - a wonderful oasis, lush and peaceful. We stayed there for three days primo Nov. '12 and loved every minute. So much in fact that we came back and stayed for another two nights three weeks later, on our way back home.
The staff is the most friendly, helpful and serviceminded you'll ever find. Breakfast is very generous and the pool and garden is simply lovely.
Going to Phnom Pehn? Go to The Kabiki, you'll love it too! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LineKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We loved this oasis of leafy quiet in the madness that is Phnom Penh. It is located a couple of blocks from the Royal Palace in a private road. Entering the gardens, of about an acre or so, you immediately feel relaxed and relieved as you soak in its tranquility. The lovely gardens provide trees to shade the pool environs, helping to make it a haven. The pool is larger than you'd anticipate, meaning you can enjoy either exercising or simply relaxing in it. The food was OK though nothing to shout about. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more helpful or cheerful. Nothing was too much effort, even after we had checked out and were stuck in a gridlock on the way to the airport, they phoned check in to keep us informed of the situation there. All in all, a peaceful delight - I can't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teitei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing