We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family oasis in a divine garden setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect family oasis in a divine garden setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our family of five is loving our stay at Kabiki. Far from the generic western style hotels, this place offers a tranquil repose from the wonderful but crazy city beyond the gates. The pool is sublime and a perfect antidote when returning from the heat and noise. It is situated a little way from the rooms which ensures the kids can do the usual Kid-splash- yell- laugh thing while the rooms remain calm and peaceful. The familyroom ( with bunks) are quite spacious and clean. Like many places in Asia, the shower drain is a bit funky but I believe that is more to do with the outside drainage than the hotel itself. Breakfast is generous and delicious, especially the mini- baguettes and fruit salad.
The location is great; on a blocked off street and accessible either on foot ( get amongst it people) or tuk tuk to most attractions. If you have kids and you are looking for somewhere to stay, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    273
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
329
259
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

It is difficult to question value for money when for less than $75 you get a quiet location with swimming pool with poolside bar and restaurant in lush gardens. Our superior double had 2 big beds and big bathroom though no wardrobe. Breakfast is good although other meals can be slow as there is one part time chef. Good for kids. Bar servings are generous and good value.

Location is good, close to the palace and good restaurants and the sister hotels Pavilion (nice but no kids allowed) and Plantation ( more modern and expensive but not as relaxing as the Kabiki). As some important politicos live on the street you have to walk 50m to/from the main road for taxis and tuk tuk. The nearby palace and national museum are interesting, the Killing Fields and/ or Genocide Museum are a must, but avoid the Russian Market if you have kids. For the 1 or 2 days that Pnomh Penh deserves as a tourist, the Kabiki is fine for a family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Kabiki is a very nicely situated in a quiet area of PP, however within walking distance of the palace, the national museum and even the 'bar street' next to the river.

The garden of the kabiki is beautiful and the swimmingpool is very nice, especially after returning from a morning of sightseeing when it was very nice to have a swim.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good, even though there was not a lot of variety.

The only drawback of the hotel are the rooms. Maybe the family rooms on the ground floor were bigger (after reading the other reviews) but our room (at the back of the main building) was fairly small and smelled a bit awkward. In addition, the room was clean, but you could see that the main maintenance was not that good. (p.e. the door did not close properly, the ridges of the shower cabine started to show yellow/brown-ness, furniture on the balcony was completely worn, waterpressure was very poor). The bed was good however.

Because the rooms were not what we had expected based on the price (for hotels in S/E Asia) and the earlier reviews that I have read I wouldn't want to stay here again. It was our honeymoon and the room did not add that much to the romance :) just a bit dissapointed

However for people who find quietness in a busy city, a good swimmingpool and a nice garden more important than the Kabiki would be a good pick for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabiki_Owner, General Manager at The Kabiki, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Tassiliw,
I am truly sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us at the Kabiki. You were on your honeymoon and due to an over site on the part of one of our team we did not prepare the flower arrangement in your room as we usually do for every honeymoon couple and for this I can only assure that I and the whole team are deeply sorry and would be grateful to have the chance to make this up to you with a complimentary stay at the Kabiki should you return to us in Phnom Penh.
Thank you for your constructive comments. Please allow me to elaborate on of the issues you raised:
We take great care to ensure that all our rooms are spotless and we thank you for acknowledging this. The damp scent which you found discomforting can occur at times during the rainy season and is only be solved with a lot of aeration over a few days, and even then during brief times one can still smell the humidity in the air. We do have incense burners for each room and had we know of this issue during your stay we would have immediately brought incense for you. We take care to ensure that the air quality with the rooms is of a good standard at all times.
Humidity also expands wood and in a few cases during the rainy season some doors need to be trimmed to stop them catching on the floor as a result of damp alteration. When I checked the door for your room it had re-contracted sufficiently for this not be a problem.
I checked very carefully the ridges of the shower cabin for any sign of yellowing and have to say that I could not find any traces. However I would be grateful if you could email me the specific details where any yellowing or browning occurs.
For the balcony furniture we are in the process of ordering impermeable covers to ensure that at no time is there any damp staining or moistness on the cushions.
Our standard room that you booked is 20sqm (excluding the balcony). We also have 35 and 40 sqm – again had we known that the room size was an issue we would have been more than happy to have provided you with an complimentary upgrade in instances where a larger room was available.
I sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about the staff, our breakfast the pool, garden and location. We wish you a a very happy honeymoon and safe return home and.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent one night in these hotel that is in a very good location in a walking distance to the royal palace the market and the river.
the rooms are big, with all the facilities, good internet conection and a confortable bed. The staff is really helpfull in everything you need. Good breakfast. The hotel is more like a little beach resort with few rooms with its own terrace. It's full of vegetation that make the hotel a little oasis in the heart of the hot and polluted Phnom Penh.
I would hardly recomend it. It was everything excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gslps81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed here over the weekend for two nights. the hotel location is perfect 5 mins in a tuc tuc form the river front, rooms are really nice, and the staff couldnt do more to help,the gardens are great really nice chilled out place,"but" i would advise if you are looking for a romantic break maybe look into The Kabiki sister hotels Plantation or Pavillion as Kabiki seems to be more family friendly,lots of children running around and playing in the pool. but saying that it doesnt take to much away from a great hotel and and a great weekend had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The kabiki hotel provides its top service quick response to any request attentive & helpful staff it has a very good standard room and has great tropical garden, child friendly, and large pool,fantastic rest from frantic Phnom Penh we will be back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechlamoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoy our stay here, I was a little unsure of what to expect due the mixed reviews for this hotel however we were pleasantly surprised and happy with our chose.
As we were a group of 6 we booked 4 rooms 2 of the rooms were in the main building these rooms were larger in size however didn’t have the lovely private garden area in which to sit. We have two adjoining rooms in the garden which was great as this gave our teenage son his own room without him being away from us. The area in which to sit was well used by us of an evening with the citronella candle burning of an evening. The pool is fantastic clean and inviting with plenty of sitting if you just with to relax poolside as we did with a drink in the evening. The pool is away a little from the rooms so you don’t get woken up by the noise from this area and food is fresh and well prepared with breakfast being the highlight. As the street is blocked off it is safe, family friendly and quiet all day which gave us peace of mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalmationdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 22, Street 264, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#26 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing