We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Small Hotel Ideal for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Small Hotel Ideal for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I found options for family accommodation in Phnom Penh quite limited. The Kabiki is however ideal allowing for its location, size, pool and value for money.

First impressions were very good and while you have to navigate the security barrier at the end of the road staff were on hand to take the luggage and direct you to Reception. Lovely open welcoming Reception area with pleasant staff members to take you through all aspects of your stay. The room was excellent being spacious, well appointed and importantly very clean. The pool was a delight and perfect way to while away some time after doing the usual tourist visits.

Breakfast may have been limited if you are expecting the buffet style option at larger chain hotels but more than enough for our family as a start to the day. We also used the restaurant for lunch and pool service and thought the service was very good.

As others have mentioned the Kabiki's popularity has meant they are creating more rooms by building a second level. No real issue though as most of teh major building works look to have been completed and noise levels during our stay were very low.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine but if noise a potential issue ask for a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    273
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
329
259
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4, great family room with bunk beds, comfortable beds, lovely sized room with outside terrace area. Lovely breakfast. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, great english. Huge pool with a small pool for young kids in a lovely garden area. Very peaceful, relaxing and calm. Great location for restuarants and attractions in the city. They did have building work going on, however this did not spoil our experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelstongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I spent four nights end of december. Location is good, not far away from the royal palace.
But atmosphere seems like a barrack yard. Ground paved with concrete. Only the pool is lovely.
The room is very simple, the bathroom as well. WIFI function is bad because signal is weak.
For breakfast you get only butter, marmalade, joghurt with musli and egg. That's all. A little less for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was a great choice at a good location. The pool was nice, breakfast adequate, room spacious (albeit a bit outdated), and all at a good price. The staff was the best feature, very helpful and hospitable. I will come back to the Kabiki.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonbathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nice Hotel, helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are OK but nothing special, with your own safe.
The pool area with restaurant is very delightful and the breakfast included satisfying. Nice place to relax in after a hectic day. The garden surrounding the hotel is very lush and you can’t believe you are in the middle of a big city. The Prime Minister is living next doors, so the streets are gated and guarded. Just now the hotel is expanding so the work can be disturbing during daytime only. If I am coming back to Phnom Penh I will chose this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerrSvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Kabiki is set in a lush tropical garden - but right in the centre of the city. What a great combination. It makes it so quiet and relaxing.

And with a small number of rooms the staff get to know the guests personally and really try hard to make your experience of Phnom Penh as positive as possible.

I travel a lot but in my view The Kabiki has created a special atmosphere.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinFitzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Kabiki is by far the best hotel we have stayed in within Phnom Penh. On the first night of our arrival (having survived the flight from England with our 18-month old toddler), it had everything we wanted: peacefu, beautiful surroundings; friendly & attentive staff; a large, well-appointed room; a swimming pool!

The bungalows were big enough for our toddler to run around in and the bonus of an enclosed little courtyard out front was a welcome bonus. Overall - a great place to stay, especially if you have a young one or two!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vannman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 22, Street 264, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#26 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing