We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lush Oasis in the Heart of Phnom Penh”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Lush Oasis in the Heart of Phnom Penh”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were so thrilled with our choice to stay at the Kabiki as it offered a wonderful respite from the heat and chaos of PP. I was travelling with my wife and 2 young daughters so we needed a place that had enough to keep everyone happy & the Kabiki certainly delivered! They have beautiful, secure grounds with plenty of trees and a medium sized pool that sits next to the restaurant. We had a complimentary breakfast, free wifi and they even had some little kittens there that kept our girls entertained for hours!!
Room sizes are generous, air conditioned and comfortable. The Kabiki is an authentic historic building so the rooms are a refreshing departure from the generic hotel room. We stayed for 7 nights in late September and experienced 2 types of rooms. The detached bungalow was first and was good however the bunk bed was seriously uncomfortable (yes...I ended up in the bunk bed as my daughters decided the king size bed was for them). Also, the staff had neglected to put pillow cases on the bunk bed pillows.
When we moved though to the room next to reception (due to someone else booking the bungalow for the last 4 nights) there was a nicer feel to this room & a proper single bed / king size bed (guess which one I got to sleep in). So if you have 2 small kids then this room is fine as the king bed will fit adult + 2 children just fine. If more than 2 kids then the bungalow is a better choice.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Also, the Kabiki is extremely secure as you cannot even drive down the street it is on without security clearance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    276
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
329
261
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Pro's: clean, quiet, secure, good staff. Lucie at front desk speaks English well and helped me arrange bus tickets.

Cons: Room #2 had a slight musty odor that would go away after you we left the a/c on. Meh.
Bathroom needs updating soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dormagen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Kabiki with 2 small children. Arrived late night and the hotel staff came to help with our baggages immediately. We had the family room at the back of the hotel and it was more than spacious! The staff are very friendly, pool clean and inviting when we needed to cool off.

Breakfast is not ample but enough to fill one up. Coffee is great and their pancakes are delicious.

The hotel area is covered with trees & plants and it feels as if you're in a green oasis - actually we were:)

Can't recommend this place enough for those travelling with children!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel reception - v. quiet and there are a few family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwithkids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went to Phnom Pehn for 7 nights to re-do our thai visas. The whole trip was a huge unknown, where to stay, what to eat, is it safe, what to do and see. This place made everything better! It is in a central part of the city down a road that has a guarded gate in front of it. I know that PP is generally "safe", but with kids in an unknown large city it just made me feel better. (The gate is due to the fact that the prime minister lives on the same street.)

The pool, food, rooms, and staff were all excellent! The staff was very professional but not stuffy and loved to talk, smile, and give good advice. My kids felt really at home here... and the staff let's them feel that way.

We live in SEA, so even being used to the crazyness and dirtiness of a city... PP can be overwhelming. The kabiki was like coming home to a tropical paradise in the middle of it all!

The only thing that could be improved: the rooms could use a fresh coat of paint and caulking in the bathrooms... They were clean but needed some TLC.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

mmmmm- possibly wouldn't stay here at the same time we did, as my son has the loudest voice of any human being on the planet, and i could hear him bellowing from the swimming pool all the way along the path to our bungalow a the other end of the resort- the bunk rooms were great for kids - i'm not sure about the prices, because we paid about $50 everywhere else in cambodia (as opposed to $75 here) for probably the same sort of accommodation and breakfast - i think the staff are actually quite shy, because initially no one said much to us but when we returned two weeks later they seemed genuinely happy to see us (god knows why, as my son proceeded to do a massive bomb in the pool before charging off the to the toilet clutching his backside with a bad case of the runs after eating a dodgy hotdog on the beach at snooky) - the best thing is that it is up a quiet street (the quietness being somewhat offset by my son's bellowing), and you can therefore walk around the back roads without being mowed down by any number of deranged loonies. incidentally if you have children phnom penh has lots of playgrounds where the locals congregate in their hundreds when it cools down - there is one right nearby kabiki i think near the royal palace - i would much rather stay in phnom penh than siem reap if you are on a family holiday, mainly because you can fade into the background relatively and enjoy life, in as much as a tourist can, as a local might do

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddoLegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom, Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I had a marvelous stay in Kabiki. They gave us the best room - arranged romantically with flowers designed as heart shape on our bed. It was tastefully decorated!

The room is clean and very spacious, bedsheets and towels are fresh, adequate hot water from the shower and proper conditioning.

We came late in the evening so we didn't get the chance to look around. But, we got surprised in the morning. There is a swimming pool nearby the restaurant where we ate our breakfast. ( which we loved most ) It's all green outside which really enhances the already tranquil setting.

The breakfast served was great. The food was absolutely delicious. The staff are friendly and helpful.

We spent two romantic evenings in this relaxing and peaceful hotel. We truly have a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you're travelling with kids, you can't go past this little piece of paradise in the heart of Phnom Penh. Stunning gardens surround this lovely boutique hotel, which offers a peaceful escape from the bustling streets just moments away. It's particularly great for parents of younger children with a shallow pool alongside the deeper pool. The staff were ever helpful, WiFi was great and there are a few backup computers for guests to use as well. Lovely breakfast - got to love the organic muesli and chestnut bread! And if you feel like a real treat, book the Jaguar XJ6 for airport transfers ($15US one way).

Room Tip: Bunk beds available in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing