We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all-rounder guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Ranked #71 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great all-rounder guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after just arriving in Cambodia. It is a nice little place, centrally located and reasonable on price. The rooms are really nice and better than a lot we stayed in in Thailand for the same price. En-suite rooms with hot water, TV and fan or aircon. The restaurant food is really good and also reasonable. Free wifi is available.

We were able to walk to a lot of the attractions in town so it is in a good location. We took a tuk tuk to the Russian Market for $5 return as that was a bit too much of a walk.

There is also a tour desk and we were able to book our transport and accommodation in Siem Reap easily. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    101
    118
    49
    27
See reviews for
14
105
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is cheap, clean and tidy, convenient and the staff are great. When we told them we were heading to Siem Reap they booked our accomodation for us there and helped us sort out our transport. They also organise taxis and tuk tuks for you to anywhere at a set price. The food in their restaurant is great and we really enjoyed our stay. So much so that we stayed there again when we got back to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights. This hostel is just OK, nothing special. Although the staff is friendly, I do not know why, but something bothered me. The room we stayed in, was ok, but they didn't cleaned it or changed our towels. It is the only place that we had to pay in advance. It is good for a very short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaPokovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed 1 night in a single A/C ensuite room for $12. The room was small, barely larger than the small double bed but had a window, fan, working a/c and a TV. The bathroom was just big enough for the toilet, hot shower and basin. Sheets were clean, towels old and clean, the bathroom could have done with more cleaning. Overall shabby but acceptable for a short stay. Wifi worked ok in the room (#227). The restaurant is OK, the staff spoke enough English to get by and didn't try too hard to sell me stuff I didn't want and sold me a bus ticket which I did want. Location is a little bit out of the way - about a 20 minute walk to Street 136 for example but there are plenty of tuk-tuks hanging around outside if you don't want to walk that far.

There was construction work going on next door but the noise wasn't intrusive and there was no noise from nearby bars etc overnight.

You could get a nicer room in a more central part of town for about another $3 per night but Okay Guesthouse was good enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkjivefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

$6 for a single room, no aircon, attached bathroom. They will ask you how many nights you wish to stay and request you to pay for the rooms first.
Room is clean, but there are two issues. First, the room is tiny and the ceiling is very low, pple with height >170cm is gonna hit the ceiling. Second, the room will have a musty smell if you leave the room with no ventilator running.
Staff are helpful when you asked for something but not really friendly. They give me the feel that they are more concerned with earning your money. One of the staff there continously asked me for two days whenever he sees me if i want to have him drive me to the Killing fields and back for $13, then $10 and finally $6 when i told him i found out another girl from the same guesthouse had it for $6 from another staff at the guesthouse.
There are a few more guesthouses along the street here and i feel that they have a better atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is nearer to the common area in the guesthouse as the wifi disappears for me in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed in a double room for two nights. For six dollars it was well worth it. A/c.clean sheets. Towels. Wifi. Tv. Good location. Staff friendly. The bathrooms could do with an improvement but over all I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Me and my friend got robbed in the hotel room while we were sleeping, Iphone and Camera gone. We confronted the owners because we locked the door, they said we could trust them because they have cameras and an entrance guard. We left Pnomh Penh and now I randomy run into Matthew in Hue(Vietnam). He had the exact same story, lost his wallet and also confronted the owners.... same story. DON'T stay at this horrible guesthouse. They seem friendly but this is too much of a coincidence. Don't let these guys ruin your trip!
Cheers
Leo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#109 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#26 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#112 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#8 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Same Same Backpacker
Same Same Backpacker
#48 of 217 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh

Property: Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Address: #3BE0 R#258, Sangkat Chaktomuk | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing