We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Ranked #71 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hostel lacks character if any. Rooms were nice and basic and quite clean too. Great for one or two nights, but after that you get bored. No common areas, only the restaurant. Staff seemed pretty fed up at times. Had some minor trouble with the cleaning service, also the laundry service returned clothes with big white stains on them (washing powder?).

We stayed at Okay Guesthouse for four nights, and everyday we planned on checking out, always deciding to stay for one more night. It really isn't that bad! Finally we got a grip and moved to a nicer and cheaper hotel with a nicer location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    102
    117
    49
    27
See reviews for
14
106
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A relatively okayplace to spend the night. Dont expect too much, as it offers a bare minimum for value. Not-so-welcoming receptionist, poor facilities, crowded locations, fairly pricey for its worth and a misleading, deceptive picture of the rooms (ideally) on its website.
Unless the guesthouse is only a place to sleep during the night, do try other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam-noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay at the Okay Guesthouse. I booked a double room with hot water and fan. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was late with clean fresh sheets and the water was lovely and hot. The bathroom was tiny but for just me it was adequate. The staff downstairs are more than happy to help you with any of your travel needs. I didn't eat in the restaurant but it was full almost every night. If you're after something lighter for breakfast (as all that Okay offer is a variation of bacon and eggs) then wander across the road. They have a large breakfast menu for very reasonable prices. I would definitely stay in Okay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothingbutadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived in Phnom Penh late in the night so we didn't want to walk around looking for another guesthouse.
As the name suggests, this guesthouse is OKAY, really cheap and good for one night. The rooms are basic - towels, tv and best of all, free wifi in the room. We took a fan room and it was fine. The hallways though, are narrow, winding and confusing.
What annoyed me most was the moment we got off the Tuk Tuk, the staff started questioning us about our activities for the next day. It was midnight and after travelling for an entire day, I was in no mood to think about sightseeing!
The guesthouse is located in a rather scummy area - a tiny street with piles of garbage and sewage. Not the best thing to be greeted by the moment you step out of the guesthouse. About 10 mins walk to the riverside, that is after you dodge the 10 Tuk Tuks waiting outside.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Slightly odd vibe to the place and a bit disorganised. Rooms were almost clean but there was what looked like a blood stain on my pillow and the toilet bin bag looked like it had been reused. Room wasn't cleaned any day even though we put on the "please clean my room" hanger on the door.
Breakfast lunch and dinner is available there with some dishes better than others. Noodles, for example, are 2-minute noodles. Seemed to be lots of staff that were just standing around not doing anything.
Some positives:
- they do show movies every night in their restaurant
- good location for the silver pagoda and royal palace but a short (5-10 minute walk) to the main restaurant/bar area of PP.
- can organise bus tickets and tuk-tuk tours but this is no different from any other guesthouse
- they can organise pickup from bus company offices, airport and boat terminal
- our room was large with a very big bed

Not bad and you'll have a reasonable stay, but be aware that you could find better.

Room Tip: No lift, so upper floors is a bit of a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Ths guesthouse was simply 'okay'. The rooms were basic but clean with hot water, tv and fridge. Staff were not very friendly but the food was fantastic. We ate there a few times at night and really enjoyed everything we ordered, especially the home made french fries and the sweet and sour chicken was the best I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_n_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent 2 weeks here with a group and during the first 10 days we were in the old side. It was ok for the price but when we got to stay in the renovated side on our last night we saw what we'd been missing! The food was great and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very welcoming and a good place to meet other travellers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the right side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotripsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#9 of 327 in Phnom Penh
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#21 of 327 in Phnom Penh
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#17 of 327 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number 9 Hotel
Number 9 Hotel
#34 of 327 in Phnom Penh
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#31 of 327 in Phnom Penh
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
RS II Guesthouse
#119 of 243 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh

Property: Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Address: #3BE0 R#258, Sangkat Chaktomuk | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing