We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in south east asia!”
Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #183 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in south east asia!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been travelling asia for 4-5 months now and this is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in! We payed 10usd for a room with a fan then room was on the 5th floor which is a lot of stairs, and we aren't lazy people but after a day of travelling to get there it wasn't pleasant! The room was average (and that's being polite) loads of little ants crawling around the place and all over our clothes! The staff were non existent the main women running it just cared about taking you money, when we checked out didn't even get a pleasant smile! Don't stay here if you want a hotel with polite staff and nice rooms. Ignore what lonely planet say about it!

The location was fine!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    35
    28
    44
See reviews for
9
52
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Run by a rude nasty woman, who charged us double the price for using aircon after we had already paid without telling us it was extra. Tried to over charge us for our Vietnam visas. Went to another guesthouse and paid nine dollars cheaper. Charged us for jam and butter without telling us it was extra. The room was filled with Mosquitos and there was a dirty towl left on the bed from the person before. Everything was filthy!!! Horrible horrible place!!!! Don't stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesTianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We haven't had many bad experiences during our 6-month trip in Asia but unfortunately we had our very worst at this place.
There were three of us occupying two different rooms. The room that my girlfriend and I had was on the top floor over-looking the street below. The smell of mould was so bad that both of our chests began hurting after less than an hour in the room. There were hairs and stains all over the bed and blood stains on our towels!
Our friend's room was a little cleaner but the door wouldn't shut and the lock was broken.
We left that night and headed to Fancy Guesthouse round the corner which was much better.
The young lad behind reception was kind enough to refund us and was fully aware of the problems. We advised them to close the room we had stayed in as it was detrimental to one's health. I seriously doubt they took our advise though.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Macindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Bit of a climb up the stairs to your room, you pay for AC but they do not give you the remote at first. They then forgot to turn the power on for the AC in reception.

There is a good gym across the road that has a great spa.

The tour that the hotel sells to the killing fields do not include a English speaker. Probably best just to rent a tuc tuc yourself for the day

Rooms were clean here but shower had to be fixed so water flowed quicker.

Hotel has a nice balcony area

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley1987travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Owned by a very pleasant family who was helpful. However, for 25$ a room we wanted more. It needed a dust clean. Perhaps more attention could be spent to cleaning each room and making it better for the guest. Otherwise, a fine budget hotel in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I paid the most for this room out of a number of places that I stayed in Phnom Penh, and it was easily the worst. My room was hot (air con didn't work), dirty, and windowless, the room had dirty linen with holes in it. I was woken in the night to coach roaches running across the bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was the worst experience in all of Cambodia(and Vietnam). We stayed in the Flat (a few buildings away from the main building). It looked like they hadn't cleaned the place in months. Dust everywhere, black feet after walking through the room on bare feet. Dirty toilet, huge cockroaches(alive and dead, sticking to the ground). Moreover, a lot of noise. Luckily we only had to stay here for 2 days.

DON'T GO HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora4386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#114 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#151 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capitol Guesthouse
Capitol Guesthouse
#107 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#116 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#196 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#194 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 154 # 91eo, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Royal Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close by to the riverfront area, Royal Guest House is the perfect place to experience Phnom Penh and its surroundings. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With the city's main attractions such as River Front, Night Market Market, Royal Palace, National Museum, Pub Streets within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.At Royal Guest House, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including shops, poolside bar, bicycle rental, family room, pets allowed.Experience high quality room facilities, including separate shower and tub, fan, satellite/cable TV, desk, television, to help you recharge after a long day. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Royal Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Guesthouse And Cafe Bar
Royal Guesthouse & Cafe Bar Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Cafe Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing