We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great experience and educational

Turned out that it was only my husband and myself for cooking class. First you get offered a cup of... read more

Reviewed February 24, 2019
GlenyssAustralia
,
Gold Coast, Australia
via mobile
Morning cookery class .

Great experience started with a free drink and then we chose our 3 course menu . There were three... read more

Reviewed December 5, 2018
zorrothecat
,
London
via mobile
Read all 101 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phnom Penh
from $15.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
91
5
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
91
5
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recipe book fish amok cooking class local market banana flower salad cambodian dishes market tour cooking instructions fantastic cooking fantastic morning chicken curry sticky rice whilst in phnom penh se asia tuk tuk nara teacher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 101 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2018

Nara spoke good Engish. The 4 other people in the class were delightful. The visit to the market was raw and awakening to all five senses. The cooking was fun and the food was good. What would have made the time a 5 star experience would have been a printed recipe book, or at least, notes and instructional printouts to enable me to practice the cooking at home. Unfortunately, these were not forthcoming despite promises to the contrary. The cooking was a good experience; but the school part of it was missing.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank itWAShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Truly wonderful experience. You visit the local market, select your ingredients and then cook some amazing dishes. This is a must do whilst in Phnom Penh. Chef Nara is a fantastic teacher. Fresh ingredients made these dishes superb.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We (a group of 4 friends) had a private cooking class with Chef Nara. He had been ill and could barely speak, but he still delivered a fantastic food experience for us. We visited the local market to buy fresh ingredients for our cooking class. Then back to the high tech kitchen with stainless steel benches to cook our Khmer feast: Fish Amok (dish of the day for us and definitely replicable at home); beef salad, banana blossom salad with pork, chicken curry and 2 desserts: egg custard pumpkin (amazing! And looks beautiful too!) and sago pudding with banana. Great introduction to Cambodian style dishes.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 737Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

Loved our cooking class. Small group of 6 people and Chef Nara. First we took a tour to the local market to buy fresh produce - amazing. Back to the cafe to prepare - we made two types of salad, fish amok and a pumpkin dessert. All were exceptionally tasty and hands on to prepare. Chef Nara is clever and happy - thoroughly enjoyed - even by my reluctant husband.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Tarryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

Took a class that included a market tour and had a great time! The food was delicious and Nara is eager to accommodate based on your preferences. It was a fantastic way to eat well and get a taste of Cambodian culture.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank travel4242017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews