We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a wise option”
Review of Hotel Cara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cara
Ranked #126 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“overall a wise option”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked the Cara Hotel for 2 nights@$35/night from chanbrothers singapore based online agency and ill certainly use it again during my next travel to Phnom Penh.

It is close to the major attractions and has an excellent Catalan restaurant (Door's) with live music(evenings),great wine list&reasonable prices (set lunch@$10!).

Breakfast was also excellent at Door's restaurant.

The room; On the small side and not exactly deserving the title 'boutique' but has huge LG TV&lots of movie channels&DVD set(hundreds of movies to choose from). Beds are firm, clean&bathroom with rainforest shower.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    216
    105
    30
    9
See reviews for
11
66
106
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Expensive for what you get. Only one chair in the room and little space. The location is poor for tourists as most sights are a long hot walk or require a tuk tuk. Few restaurants in the neighborhood. Regretted this choice and cut short our stay. On the positive side, the restaurant serves an excellent and large breakfast and the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pam698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Granted, Hotel Cara was one of the priciest hotels we lived in throughout our trip in Indochina. However, considering the quality of the rooms we received, we'd say that it was well worth it.

Since we had a total of four in our party, we chose Hotel Cara because it was one of the few hotels in Phnom Penh with family rooms available at a more affordable price. The room, however, was pretty good; it was divided into a living room and a bedroom, where there was a queen size bed and a double-decker bunk bed. The room was fairly spacious, with plenty of room for us to chug our luggage bags. Contrary to some reports, though, we found the noise level issue to be non-existent, probably because our room was facing another direction.

The interior decor of the hotel was very chic. Obviously inspired by minimalism with hints of zen and Khmer touches here and there, it was really pleasant. Great place to unwind after a tiring day.

The service was what you'd expect from a business hotel. One of the receptionists was pretty friendly but we (rather inevitably) did not get the same level of warmth we received from our guesthouse in Siem Reap. Nonetheless, the receptionists were still helpful in giving pointers regarding transport and sights.

The location of the hotel was convenient, too. Located near Wat Phnom, most of the attractions were within a 10-minute tuktuk ride away. Walking is possible, though not recommended, due to safety concerns. A tuktuk ride from the National Museum at Sisowath Quay would cost around USD 1.

Doors, the adjacent bar/restaurant, was where we had breakfast. There are plenty of options for breakfast, catering to both Western and Asian palates. It is not till nighttime, however, when Doors comes alive. It has a lively and vibrant atmosphere at night, and is certainly one of the nicer places in Phnom Penh to grab a drink or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelvinHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed at Hotel Cara on many occasions. Usually we stay there after we've been out in the countryside doing mission work. The Hotel Cara is a great place to wind down are relax. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and well appointed. Westerners need to know that the standards they are used to is far different than what they may be used to back home.

I prefer rooms not facing the road as they are very quite. AC works great. Hotel Cara is not on the waterfront, but is very close. A very short Tuk Tuk ride to anywhere. Ask for the Tuk Tuk drive John. He runs the Tuk Tuks that serve the Hotel Cara. He is very honest. We pay him $15 for all day. Ya we could get cheeper else where. He has served us well over the years.

There is fee WiFi that works well throughout the hotel. They serve a great breakfast in the dinner. The Dragon fruit is great.

Every time we are in Phnom Penh we stay at Hotel Cara. We've stayed a many hotels, but none are as consistently good as Hotel Cara.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are very quite. The road get noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mddogmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had two single nights here during a tour. Room 209 was very pleasant. The main negative was the sound of loud music nearby until very late. The hotel staff are very helpful and the location is fine with a good restaurant (The Exchange) opposite. Easy tuk-tuk ride into town centre and a service station with shop opposite for essentials. Breakfast was a little hit and miss on the two days, although the coffee was not bad compared to many other hotels! Hotel is very clean and functional.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the street noise / music, room 209 is good, but you may prefer the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, België
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

During low season I have noticed that many hotels are refurbishing or renovation in Phnom Penh and so is Hotel Cara. Noise from morning to evening, as they probably work on the kitchen, breakfast is a collection for bad quality seven eleven stuff! Don' try this at home!

Sure this place should rather close during renovation not to receive those comments. Staff is friendly.

Too avoid during renovation period.

Room Tip: Wait until renovation finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristVanneste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and really loved the place. The hotel is very clean, the rooms bright and airy and the restaurant downstairs was fantastic. Excellent value and a great place to stay in this pretty busy city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#101 of 270 in Phnom Penh
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#51 of 270 in Phnom Penh
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#129 of 270 in Phnom Penh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#102 of 270 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#100 of 270 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#103 of 270 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cara

Property: Hotel Cara
Address: No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cara features 48 newly refurbished of uniquely designed rooms with meticulously crafted furniture made from local Ratanakkiri wood and pine wood offering private balconies overlooking the bustling urban metropolis, family suite and modern amenities to fit all your needs. Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of Phnom Penh, just a few minutes from the riverside nightlife and eclectic cuisine of Sisowath Quay, the historic Central Market, modern shopping centers, and the elegant Royal Palace. Hotel Cara is the perfect accommodation, whether you are exploring Cambodia’s rich culture or seeking a safe haven for business.Friendliness is not just in our name, it’s our philosophy. Welcome to Hotel Cara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Phnom Penh
Cara Motel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing