We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Cara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cara
Ranked #127 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and we arrived really early the morning of check in and we were allowed to check in at 2pm which was amazing after a bus trip from Ho Chi Minh. The room was small and the first day there was some kind of construction going on right next to the hotel which was so loud. But we didnt hear anything the next few days and the hotel was really nice and i would definitely recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ong1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here now for the second time and I will sure come back in the future. The rooms are clean modern, good beds, nice big flatscreen, modern bathroom and a very friendly staff. The location is superb. Easy to walk to the river where all the restaurants are.
So what else do you want?The only thingi is, that they were doing a renovation of their restaurant. but .... the agreement is that it starts at 10 am and stops at 4 pm and gave me a 40 % discount as compensation.

Room Tip: If you like it really quiet take a room opposite of the streetside
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I choose this hotel as it is located near the French Embassy (i usually went to the Embassy). It is nice, clean and affordable price. Room just simple, nothing special. The shower is too narrow which is not convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TvanDy14jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I found this hotel to be very comfortable, not as central as some but only a quick tuk tuk ride away. The room I stayed in was a deluxe room with balcony - everything felt fresh, modern bedding and furniture. The only thing that really let the room down was the bathroom was quite small. I loved that they have oil burners in the hallways. The attached restaurant, Fusion Sushi, blew me away the flavours were just delicious. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good location. Modern and clean rooms. Flat sceen TV. Very friendly staff - try the pork knuckly soup for breakfast - it's to die for. Very good value for money. Nothing at all I could complain about. Simple modern and clean hotel. Felt very happy there ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had only 2 nights and one full day at this hotel.

The Hotel was quite well located, only a short tuk tuk ride from the riverside bars - and easy to find due to it's proximity to the river.

Breakfast was acceptable and the rooms were clean and air conditioner worked well. Our group had 4 rooms in total, and 3 of them were quiet. Ours was across from the nightclub, and the noise was really too loud for a good nights sleep. Thankfully, our exhaustion from the flight on the first night, and having a lot to drink on the second night, ensured that we were able to sleep anyway.

Would I stay here again? If for a very short stay - yes, but not across from the nightclub as you couldn't hear the noise in the other rooms that our group stayed in. For a longer stay, I would look for somewhere with a pool - especially in April!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the nightclub.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachykeen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The service and hospitality are professional. The evening is a bit noisy but it does not prevent us from sleeping. The place is well located and the service tuck tuck is really cheap. The beds are comfortable and well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#99 of 272 in Phnom Penh
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sangkum Hotel
The Sangkum Hotel
#44 of 272 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#103 of 272 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#107 of 272 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 272 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#128 of 272 in Phnom Penh
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cara

Address: No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cara features 48 newly refurbished of uniquely designed rooms with meticulously crafted furniture made from local Ratanakkiri wood and pine wood offering private balconies overlooking the bustling urban metropolis, family suite and modern amenities to fit all your needs. Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of Phnom Penh, just a few minutes from the riverside nightlife and eclectic cuisine of Sisowath Quay, the historic Central Market, modern shopping centers, and the elegant Royal Palace. Hotel Cara is the perfect accommodation, whether you are exploring Cambodia’s rich culture or seeking a safe haven for business.Friendliness is not just in our name, it’s our philosophy. Welcome to Hotel Cara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Phnom Penh
Cara Motel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing