We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 11:00 AM, 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Charming student dancers,artists and musicians

A friend and I visited this school of the arts as part of an architecture/arts tour when we asked... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
DebbiefromBC
,
British Columbia
Delightful dance experience

So glad we decided to visit here. The teachers explained the Cambodian dance traditions and the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
geogjo
Read all 75 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Phnom Penh
from $59.00
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
64
10
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional dance drawing class hand movements art school dance performance a lot of fun great fun national museum instruments donation classes performed recital practicing culture demonstration skills
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 75 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We were lucky to arrive early, 1/2 hour before the show to get seats in a good spot. The dancers were fantastic and so well trained.,Equally delightful were the musicians! There is a coffee shop on site and it is interesting to stroll around the University grounds to see the students working on their projects. Close by are clean toilets. bring water and a fan to the event (not air conditioned). This was best of traditional dancing we saw in all of Indochina!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank gotocarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

We visited in the morning and from the moment it began it was a brilliant experience. We were made to feel welcome and given a short description of the programme. The young people were of varying ages but I guess between 12 and 18 years.
They performed three dances confidently and it was magic. I absolutely loved the monkey dance but they were all good and their steps and mannerisms were amazing. At the end of the dances they explained the hand movements and some of the steps.

Before we left we were taken to see some young men who were learning musical instruments and given the opportunity to ‘practice’ ourselves if we wanted and we were also shown a group of young people who were learning/practicing art work.

Apart from being an excellent charity for the young people to develop their skills, it was so enjoyable I would happily return... If you want to add to your experiences of Cambodia then this is a brilliant place to do it.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

My hotel (vacation) booked me a seat at the performance. First night (dec 31) was fully booked . There were a series of dances from classical to folk with live musicians. How can they hold their hands and feet that way?

Costumes were lovely. Artists were skilled and personable, and entertaining. Very professional. Dances were varied and enjoyable. One hour plus half hour intro videos. Water ($1) and soft drinks available as you enter. No intermission.

The theatre is an open roof auditorium style with comfortable backed wood benches and pillows. I sat in section c on the right side, and visibility was fine. Electric fans along the sides helped with cooling.

The school was started to save ancient music and dance by a returning refugee, ( go early to see the video at 6:30). 90 percent of artists were killed in the war and historic arts were disappearing as the few survivors aged. The school is teaching young people these arts, funded by donation, performances and selling items such as jewelry molded from old bullets. Must see!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Somewhat difficult for our hotel Tuk Tuk driver to find but we were welcomed warmly and treated to four dances by the students just for us. Some of the dances came from nature and the hand movements were explained to us following the dances. Truly a delightful visit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank LAB308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

This school provides free education music, drawing and dance to local children. It gives the a good start in life. They are very talented and should be supported. An American foundation provides some sponsorship and the remainder comes from visitors. Do. Is it the gift shop.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank IanG762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews