We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put something back”
Review of Khmeroyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khmeroyal Hotel
Ranked #147 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Put something back”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Into the maintenance of the hotel. The place needs a clean up. The carpets haven't been changed since? We got a room with a view of the stairway, I thought well it will be quiet, wrong. People talking and working close to the stairs, machines working at hours like right now 4.30am. Yes the location is excellent, you do have to walk a bit to find a good restaurant that produces real Cambodian food. Luckily my Cambodian friends know the places. The staff are excellent!

Room Tip: I was tempted by a room with a view which is nice, but maybe noisy but chose to stay put in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    35
    22
    16
See reviews for
10
37
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed at in a while where the experience failed to meet (or exceed) my expectations.

On the plus side, the hotel has a fabulous location opposite the river and adjacent to the Grand Palace, the staff were friendly and helpful.

On the negative, the hotel is old and in need of a significant renovation, the rooms were very noisy (fridge and AC) and poorly lit. It didn't help that both rooms we were shown either looked in to the central walkway or the rear stairwell so for privacy, the curtains needed to be closed at all times preventing any natural light. Some things in the room were broken.

I would place the rating for this hotel at 2 star (at best) but it is inexpensive and if someone is looking for a cheap hotel room in a great location then this could be for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GuruB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review or our hotel, Our hotel is a original Khmer hotel with the real look and feel of a traditional Khmer hotel but with modern amenities. during your stay we was currently renovating all the rooms and had 95% finished starting with the larger rooms with new Ac and new fridges. By the time this is posted all rooms should be finished.
You asked to see the lowest cost rooms we had available and yes the view is not as is in our larger rooms with the better views for only a few dollars more.
As for the lighting we will look into this and make any corrections needed. If you did require more light we would have been more then happy to provide you a additional floor or table light.
As for your statement. "Some things in the room were broken" Can you please E mail us and explain what was broken as we have not been able to find what you was referring to so we may make any necessary repairs needed.
Thank you for your stay with us and you next stay we will offer you a free upgrade to our deluxe rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is located on the river near the Palace and the Museum. Great places to eat all within walking distance. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the beer is cold. The hotel is in need of an upgrade but overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: If you dont like your room ask the staff to show you another and they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just talked to some of the staff, they try everything to make you feel very good about this place.
You ask a question they'll bend over backwards to help you.
I can highly recommend the Khmeroyal Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Doing my on line search for hotels I see Lonely Planets staff recommended this hotel as a hotel to stay at in Phnom Penh.
They are correct in recommending this hotel. The place is next to the river and the closest to the Royal Palace next door.
The staff was friendly with good English. The food very good. You can dine indoor in the air-con restaurant or the out door sidewalk cafe. I prefer the out door seating. Even if it rains you can eat out side in the fresh air and not get wet. The pizza is the best in Cambodia.

My room was nice with the river view the price was much less then expected for a river view large room. There is a elevator .
On warm sunny days you can swim with the locals in the river.

We arranged for the hotel driver and car to tour the city it was priced very reasonable the driver was nice and with good English.

If your staying in Phnom Penh I can honestly recommend to eat and stay here. Even if you just come for the food its the best place to stay on the river for the value.

Room Tip: Nice view top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your good and honest review, We are glade you enjoyed your stay and happy to welcome you back for you next visit to Cambodia.

Best Regards,
Staff and Management
Khmeroyal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Kmeroyal hotel is a very clean hotel with all the amenities at hand and every staff member is very friendly and always ready to assist in every way. I have stayed in many hotels in Cambodia and this would have to be the best. The management listen to the patrons and are always trying to improve and update to make your stay very enjoyable. The food that comes out of the kitchen is of high standards. I will be back thanks Khmeroyal. It has been along time since I stayed at the Neak Pean hotel in Siem Reap but last time I stayed there it was always clean and the staff very good and friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waynoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Your very welcome, We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Management & Staff
Khmer Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

the rooms were clean. the food is very good. Khmer food and western food.. The strawberry smoothies are the best in town. But the staff is what really put this hotel over the top excellent! Yes I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#112 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#134 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#153 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#54 of 267 in Phnom Penh
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#198 of 267 in Phnom Penh
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmeroyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmeroyal Hotel

Property: Khmeroyal Hotel
Address: 383 Sisowath Quay, Sangkat Chey Chumnah, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khmeroyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmeroyal Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar Open-aired lunch and dining on the Basac & Mekong riverKhmeroyal VIP. upstair with AC. the best views on riverside, just step out a few minutes to King Palace, national museim & silver pagoda.The Khmeroyal menu introduces generous flourishes of traditional real Khmer flavors. While the menu is still built on Khmeroyal main-stays such as Angkor & Cambodia national draft beer with free salt-chili roasted peanut, deli-fresh sandwhiches, buger and khmer-made pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.Open Bar on river serves all kinds of can cold drinks and beer, Kifo drinks menu and beers & wines in 24 hours, with comfortable chairs to sit and relax, look to Basac & Mekong river and a lot of tourists walking on riverside.Open Daily 6a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Khmeroyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing