We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but a Tired Hotel”
Review of Khmeroyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khmeroyal Hotel
Ranked #141 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Just back, great location in Sisowath Quay. Walked to restaurants and Royal Palace, hired tuk-tuk from hotel to go to Killing Fields and Tuol Sleng Museum ($12 for 4 hours). When we wanted a rest from walking around all day, it was a great location for a 1-2 hour rest and off again! Rooms "tired", 1 double and one singe bed in room, not visably dirty however when I noticed blood stains on the bedspread, they took it away. Casino in lobby.
Paid $55/night for riverside room. Name has changed to Khmerroyal Hotel (web: www.khmeroyalhotel@yahoo.com, [--]or khmeroyalhotel.com)

Mo and Jim
Boston,Ma. USA

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Khmeroyal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2007

We had a great time here and they accommodated us well. Our Cambodian friends negotiated the price - Americans will pay more, as with most things in Cambodia - negotiation is possible. We paid 35.00/night for a group. It is in an ideal location - the river is across the street, it is walking distance to many sites, and the tuk-tuk drivers can take you anywhere you want to go. Internet is slow and expensive - go down the street. There is a "Massage by the Blind" around the corner - don't miss that! It is safest if you plan to be in before 10:00 pm. We liked the breakfasts - and they will do eggs to please :) The best thing here was the restaurant is on the roof-top - so you eat every morning watching the boats in the river, seeing the sun rise, and the folks doing thai-chi across the street. Sip your tea, relax, and enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lorihw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Great location- restaurants, bars, royal palace just minutes away on foot.
The hotel is clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms have Tv, en suite, two double beds etc. Decor is tired and breakfast not great.
But its location makes up for any deficiencies.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Booking -- 3 nights in March 2007
Didn't have any reservation. Bargained with a staff manager at the desk. Got a riverside room for USD40 a night instead of 60USD.
Breakfast was included.

Location -- The hotel is very well located on the living area of Sisowtah quay.
Restaurants and Bars are right outside including the famous FCC at 50 meters.
5 min-walk to the royal palace, the national museum and the souvenir shops.

Room -- Average, but clean room on first floor.
Nice view on Sisowath Quay and the river.
The room is clean but has no charm. Although clean everything is old and used: I asked my bed to be re-made because the bed sheet was torn.

The king size bed is comfortable.
No in-room safe, only the safe at the lobby.

The bathroom is clean but towels are also very used.

The Air con lacks of power: 20 mins before the room is at good temperature. The Air con must be set to minimum temperature (16°C) all the way.
Several power-shortages occured during my stay, the air con doesn't restart automatically, really annoying while sleeping.

Breakfast -- Breaskfast is taken on the top floor of the hotel. A few choice of meals and the taste is below average.
I only ate there the first morning. Gone elsewhere the following mornings.

Staff -- The staff is friendly and helpful.

Summary -- I was told the hotel was only about 5 year-old but it looked much older to me. Very used but clean.
For a basic rate of USD60 a night I think you pay more for the excellent location of the hotel than the hotel itself.
Even for the rate I bargained (USD40) I'm wandering if it does worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank bardamu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Jean Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chernyakevgeniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#110 of 272 in Phnom Penh
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#197 of 272 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#177 of 272 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#107 of 272 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#130 of 272 in Phnom Penh
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 272 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmeroyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmeroyal Hotel

Address: 383 Sisowath Quay, Sangkat Chey Chumnah, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $15 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khmeroyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmeroyal Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar Open-aired lunch and dining on the Basac & Mekong riverKhmeroyal VIP. upstair with AC. the best views on riverside, just step out a few minutes to King Palace, national museim & silver pagoda.The Khmeroyal menu introduces generous flourishes of traditional real Khmer flavors. While the menu is still built on Khmeroyal main-stays such as Angkor & Cambodia national draft beer with free salt-chili roasted peanut, deli-fresh sandwhiches, buger and khmer-made pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.Open Bar on river serves all kinds of can cold drinks and beer, Kifo drinks menu and beers & wines in 24 hours, with comfortable chairs to sit and relax, look to Basac & Mekong river and a lot of tourists walking on riverside.Open Daily 6a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Khmeroyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing