We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff and restaurant”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #25 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and restaurant”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good location near lots of restaurants and bars. Amazing staff that were really helpful and cheerful. Great restaurant with reasonable prices and excellent service. Good breakfast included in room rate.

Not a single complaint, except we never like when the shower head is over the toilet and not a proper shower. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    163
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
144
80
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the anise hotel for 4 nights. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, our room was lovely with a huge bed, ensuite bathroom and balcony area. Breakfast is included and was very nice and there is free wifi.

On early arrival we were welcomed given a free drink and checked in, and were taken to our room straight away. We were in a room on the third floor and there is no lift but that's a minor point.

I'd agree with other reviewers that the hotel is in a nice location and getting around Phnom Penh is easy with an abundance of tuktuk drivers available.

The reception and outside eating area are very nice and we liked that the hotel have placed plants and trees around this area to give some privacy. Despite being on a busy street this gives the feel of being more protected and private which we welcomed when we wanted to relax and enjoy breakfast or an early evening drink.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a great place to stay in. I chose this hotel because I received numerous recommendations for it, and I am not sorry I did it. During my stay I had a small studio, with a king size bed, desk, sitting area, TV, AC, small kitchen, a modern bathroom and a large balcony with views over Phnom Penh (terrific). The staff was always very friendly and helpful, the service and the food in the restaurant properly. Very nice is also the leafy restaurant terrace where you can have breakfast in peace or take an evening cocktail. The decor throughout is very tasteful, understated and not overloaded. In the house there is a Laundry service, where each guest can wash for free 5 pieces per day. Furthermore, you can get a relaxing massage on OM Khmer massage at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieGrA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

When we arrived we were upgraded to a superior room. This gave us an odd shaped sitting room which lead out onto a small balcony. The balcony was on the corner so it great for seeing what was going on in the streets below but not big enough to sit on. Our room was clean and a decent size and the bathroom was fine. The location is good and it was just $2 for a tuk tuk to the markets. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We loved the verandahs - a great place to sit and watch the world go by while having a few drinks or a meal. Breakfast was good, but unlike the other hotels we stayed in on this trip, it was not a buffet. Half price drinks during the three hour 'happy hour' and five items of clothing laundered for free each day is a bonus. Would happily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice and simple hotel with very nice staff friendly and helpful so it was like staying with family. I had a very long stay there due to business and it was comforting, going back to a place where I felt like home.
The rooms were spacious, cozy nicely decorated, but still simple and clean. they have a nice restaurant with a nicely combined menu of local and international food.
The breakfast however is not buffet but a choice of 7 set menus, which should probably change from time to time.
Location is great you have many restaurants, spas and stores and you are close to visit some tourist attractions without being in the middle of the crowded areas.
The hotel doesn't have a spa or a massage salon, but recommends a good one nearby that can also give you service in your room (I personally prefer to go to the actual place, I tried many and this was worth returning to)
They offer free laundry on a daily basis which is a great advantage, a service that I used a lot and always got my clothes the same day (even when they say is a next day service - good!)
They also have tickets for some shows and other attractions that I found out by chance, so if you need to go to national museum, ask them.
They can also recommend you reliable taxis or Tuk- Tuks.
In general is a good choice to stay in Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: THE 4th floor has a wonderful view if you can do the stairs on a daily basis is worth trying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lativa Riga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is simple and clean, although a bit cluttered with the unecessary plants in unecessary places. Anyway, I like their clean white bathroom and their fresh scented sheets. Their dining room could use a little more space, as I'm not sure if I overheard stories from the other guests, and so they probably would have eavesdropped on mine. It really feels awkward when that happens. On our second night, much to our dismay, we had to dine out around the city. The good thing is, the hotel is located near restaurants so it wasn't difficult to find a decent one, one with a privacy and all. Overall, the staff was great and the service was good and so is the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

On arrival at Anise Hotel I was advised my room had been changed to their ‘annexe’ building across the street which I suspect was partly because I was travelling solo (another story). I was directed to the annexe, and the room was on the top floor at the end of the longest set of stairs I’ve ever seen.

The staff ‘sold’ this late change of room to me on the basis it had a kitchenette that I didn’t need or want anyway, but the room itself was quite large and comfortable, with a nice bathroom (no bath-no problem), good hot water and a safe for valuables. Wrap around windows gave very good light during the day and heavy curtains kept the room dark at night.

The complimentary breakfast was quite good, especially the muesli and the restaurant itself enclosed by greenery was very pleasant. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is quite well away from Phnom Penhs’ main tourist area so it’s either a tuk-tuk ride or a long walk to the more popular markets and bar/restaurant area on the waterfront. There are quite a few restaurants within a short walk of Anise however if you do want to stay local.

The main drama I had with being in the ‘annexe’ was I had to cross the road every time I wanted to go to the restaurant, use the internet or speak to reception and each time I did cross the road I both got rained on and had to run the gauntlet of tuk-tuk drivers and people selling things.

The free laundry and coffee making facilities were very good, overall quite good value and there’s a small convenience store opposite the main hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor in the 'annexe' is very quiet, and if you don't mind climbing stairs or crossi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianP660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#46 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#39 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing