We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #24 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The good
Clean
Nice location- near lots of business such as boutique and cafe and massage places
Very good restaurant
With a safe
Staff nice

The bad
Has steep stairs if assigned to the annex bldg
No pool
Not all helpers/ service personnel can speak English. Desk receptionist fluent
No buffet breakfast but loved the noodles
Recommendation:
Ask for a room in the main bldg

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    160
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
143
80
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel in Phnom Penh. Good value for money, clean, friendly staff and a great restaurant with a huge range of food, I was even greeted on arrival with a nice fruit drink! The terrace is lovely to have dinner on with really sweet waiters and the rooms are well equipped and stylish with tv and complimentary wi-fi.
If you have trouble with stairs this might not be the place for you as there is no lift, but otherwise the place is very well kept and feels very open and airy despite being in the middle of the city. There is a really nice atmosphere here and there are always tuk tuks and moto's outside to take you wherever you need for next to nothing- I can't recommend the Anise Hotel enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieLouiseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arrive at the hotel late and was alloted a room on the 3rd floor with kitchnette. I manage to get up there but my husband having develop knee pain in siem reap could not climb up the steep stairs to the attic like room. I requested for a change and after much delay the hotel found a room on the first floor in the main building. The room overlook the restaurant and was noisy. The air con was also not functioning properly. I requested for a fan to supplement the poor ventilation. Suffered in the room for two nights. The hotel did not show compassion as they kept saying that the website clearly stated that they have no lift. I knew there is not lift but did not expect the staircase to be so steep like those of a ladder. Requested for refund through Expedia for downgrading but was rejected. So I paid more for a dreadful room for 2 nights. Customer satisfaction is definitely not a priority.

Room Tip: Read reviews and take it seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hweimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Anise was great value for money. The hotel is situated in a quiet side street off an upmarket shopping strip near the Independence monument. I prefer to be situated near central market for cheap shopping and food, however the sights of Phnom Penh are fairly spread out over the city, so a tuk tuk would be neccessary either way for sightseeing. The hotel is beautifully appointed with fresh lotus flowers placed around every day and lovely arts/eastern type features around the place. The restaurant has decent food for a reasonable price. Staff were courteous and helpful. Bonus is 5 free laundry items a day, which was great. Breakfast is made to order off a set Menu and was also good. Rooms cleaned every day. I personally prefer location near markets but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Anise if wanting to save a little money and stay somewhere really nice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheresimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place was great value for money. The service was 5 star. A couple of mosquitoes had invaded my room on the first night and the staff quickly sorted the problem for me. This hotel is in a great location with plenty of tuk tuks taking you wherever you need to go. It has everything you need with a great price tag. Better that somewhere else we stayed in PP which was twice the price! Would recommend paying a little extra for a room with enclosed shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loooove_de_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having been backpacking for 5 weeks, arriving at this hotel was like a dream.
It was beautiful, clean and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
Each room has a DVD player the only draw back was being on the top floor when there is no elevator.
Great location. Lots of tuk Tuks wait outside the hotel and the hotel will book you one.
Restaurants on the street as well which are nice.
Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Anise several times on annual trips to Cambodia. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, and the location is good, just off Sihanouk Blvd, close the the Independence Monument. The dining terrace is particularly delightful, with great breakfasts, and often a hammered dulcimer player to accompany evening dinners. There are numerous wonderful restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The rooms are nice, but vary in size from tiny to large. En suite bathrooms also vary--some are tiny with Asian-style showers that are not enclosed, hence the entire bathroom can get wet if one is not careful. Nonetheless, the Anise is popular with NGOs, and for good reason. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#50 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#23 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12302, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing