We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keeping up appearances on the terrace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #25 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Armidale
1 review
“Keeping up appearances on the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

It's up there with the best. The ambiance and professional, yet friendly, staff make staying at this hotel an entirely enjoyable experience. The terrace restaurant is a cool haven for hot and weary travellers. We established a wonderful relationship with all staff and found them to be not only friendly and courteous, but generous with their time - but not to the exclusion of doing a good job.
Well done Anise. You get my 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    160
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
143
79
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

There was no room in the main building, and I was put into a larger room in the "new wing". I wasn't expecting to be taken across the road and up a narrow staircase! However, the room was as clean and well-decorated and had the usual amenities including in-room safe, free, reliable internet, and 5 pieces of free laundry a day. The air conditioning didn't seem as efficient in the larger room, but was okay. The new wing is not quite as nice as the main building which I find to be brighter, and the front desk people are just down the stairs (instead of across the street). I have no complaints, though. I love the Anise hospitality, and this hotel will remain my first choice.

Room Tip: ask whether the room is in the old building or the new wing. Also be aware that there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great little hotel but located away from other tourist areas. Great service and facilities. Would have happily stayed here for the entire trip, but rooms were not available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandeepH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have many visits to Phnom Penh and this is my favourite hotel. The staff are efficient and well-trained and the rooms are clean and well-appointed. I don't hesitate to recommend it to all travellers to Phnom Penh. Rooms in the new wing also have a kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem reap
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have tried to book a couple of times a room in this hotel, and always the reply was that they were fully booked, which was always not the case :alternatively, I have checked into another hotel which is rather near to this one, and both the times, passing in front of it, I stopped to ask the receptionist if they had some vacant rooms. Well, you won't believe it, they always had rooms available !

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank NagaraVatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry278, Owner at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear sir,

Like any other hotel in the world, our policy is to fill our rooms. Because we are a small boutique hotel with only 18 rooms, it is very likely that at the time you tried to make a reservation, all of our rooms were already booked. However, as it does often happen in hotels, people cancel their reservation. Our lost. So when you came to the hotel, it is very possible we still have a room left because someone had canceled. And yes, it can happen more than once... unfortunately for us.

I hope this helps clear any suspicion you may have about our reservation policy and we hope to be able to welcome you to Anise Hotel on your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A great place to say with very friendly staff excellent food and good accommodation. Great for groups.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are as good as the superior. The only difference is the larger entrance hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anything23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Anise Hotel has become our second home in Phnom Penh, as we visit often for business trips. It is perfectly located, the staff is very attentive and friendly, the breakfast is delicious as is any other item on the menu. We also like the very tasty cambodian style of the interior design. Adrian and Elizabeth, Battambang

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#49 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#21 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Omana Hotel
Omana Hotel
#44 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12302, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing