We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

What a fantastic hotel! My husband and I stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. We had room 20 - a private spa room and it was just perfect. We could not have asked for a better room and it exceeded our expectations. The rate (US$90/night) was so reasonable for what we got, especially as we stayed over New Years Eve. From the minute we entered the grounds of the hotel, we didn't want to leave. The staff were extra freindly without being too obtrusive, the grounds were just stunning even with it being in the centre of the city, and the rooms were equipped with everything you could want. Breakfast was great too - I loved the passionfruit juice!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a little bit of peace and quiet in Phnom Penh, while still being walking distance to everything.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    623
    116
    41
    19
See reviews for
225
1,399
206
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We spent four days here. It was an oasis in a city of heat and traffic. We loved everything about it - we were lucky enough to get a room on the balcony over looking the swimming pool.... the decor was best described as Asian meets hippy chic. Big bedroom,beautiful wooden floors and original tiles on the landings, modern bathroom. The garden and pool area was fabulous although the reservation of day beds seems a little silly given that half the day the people who reserve them are not there most of the time. Breakfast was excellent, staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

When we arrived at this hotel in the middle of noisy Phnom Penh, we pushed open the door into the wall surrounding the hotel and gasped. The inside is a tropical paradise, lush palms, secret garden rooms, a cute bar and a wonderful pool. It attracts birds and butterflies from all over sadly de-vegetated Phnom Penh. Our room (which another guest described as "small") we thought was gorgeous. It was a cute little garden room with coloured filmy drapes, its own courtyard and a four poster bed with a mosquito net. Evidently the other rooms were even nicer (ours was the cheapest but we loved it anyway). The hotel is a gorgeous french villa and had four internet computers, there was always one free. Whoever designed the layout, furnishings and garden deserves a medal. Its wonderful. The only snag is that the hotel pool must have a membership for non-guests and one hot day it was crowded despite a sign on the gate telling members to go elsewhere that day as it was full. I suspect people were just coming on in anyway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We spent one night at the Pavillion splashing out on a private pool room for $90. Also spent two nights at the Pavillion's sister hotel BlueLime, and would say that the latter is much better value for money unless you're wanting to get a private pool - the rooms and decor are very similar, breakfast is identical and the general pool is much nicer at BlueLime. Staff were friendly enough, but seemed to work with a "speak only when spoken to" type policy, which I suppose is what some people may want when staying in high end accommodation. Free wireless internet was very quick. Overall, very nice but better value for money is out there, unless you're after one of the private pool rooms!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_kate87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, January 24, 2010
Indeed the Private Pool rooms are at 90 USD. But besides the pool, those rooms offer 42 inch LCD TVs, private terrace and garden, 1Mb / s wi-fi etc. Located less than 100m from the Royal Palace, the historical center of Phnom Penh, we are in the most exclusive area...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Over the last year, I have regularly read the Tripadvisor reviews on this hotel (some very accurate and some, it seems to me, and has to be said, vastly inaccurate) - and have also been impressed with the constant management responses - a rare thing these days. With this in mind, my wife and I had been looking forward to our visit, the second leg of a three leg tour of Cambodia.

Right from the start we were welcomed by the staff - and our room, with its own pool - a welcome sight after the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh. This room could be described as in the Greek "Cycladic" style - quite basic, but very comfortable. Nice bed - and no problems with the hot water - having carried out the instructions as given to us on check in by the staff. Staff a little too noisy in the early morning though (dragging furniture, and generally having loud conversations).

Our pool was just the right size to cool down in - and this was cleaned daily while we were there.

Wifi in the room - again follow the instructions of a previous reviewer when logging on.

Breakfast was very good - choice of eggs, the staff made me toast everyday, coffee, passion fruit juice and an enormous plate of fruit......enough to keep you well fed. Bar for lunch was very nice - they make a great quiche – all served with a smile.

Pool is lovely - set in amongst the tropical plants. We felt that there were too many people (at the weekend) - non guests - using the main pool. This has been mentioned time and time again on reviews - I do appreciate that the Hotel needs to make money on quiet periods - but when guests travel 5000 miles to stay, perhaps there should be more of an air of exclusivity. Granted the sun beds are for guests only - and there is now never a shortage of these - but it would still be nice to feel like an exclusive guest – and this will not happen until non guests are not permitted.

Location absolutely perfect - for the sea front and sea front restaurants (take a tuctuc, 3 dollars), Grand Palace and other buildings in easy reach. Try Romdeng (Street 174) for great Cambodian food and of course the Friends Restaurant. Tuctucs wait outside.

Recommend that you take a tour down the Mekong - this is great - and please ensure that you visit the Genocide Museum - you will get an idea of what the Cambodian people really went through, and maybe you will also appreciate anew the sunny disposition that normally greets you from everyone in Cambodia.

So - in summary. The Pavilion is No 1 for a number of reasons. The problems in previous reviews, with the exception of the non guests at the pool - seem not to be evident. What you are left with is a tranquil setting, perfect location, comfortable hotel in a special city. Stay here - and book a pool room if you can.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cessna152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Stayed for three nights and absolutely fell in love with this place.

I didn't see the other rooms, but we somehow managed to get the middle room, directly above reception overlooking the pool. The rooms was huge, beautiful wooden floors and modern bathroom.

Phnom Penh is an amazing city, however you cant help but feel dirty (sweat and dust) after a morning of sight seeing. So as soon as you step back through the door to the peaceful, cool garden and pool (with very comfortable day beds) it is such a relief.

Breakfast options were rather limited, but if you like fresh breads, eggs, fruit, etc. you'll be more than satisfied...

Great location... Would definitely recommend and return to this place next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I stayed two nights at the Pavilion with my mum after being recommended by my friends (one of who previously lived in Phnom Penh). It has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed at!

We stayed in the older part of the Pavilion (i.e. the former residence of Sihanouk's mother) instead of the newer building next door. The rooms were spacious with lovely four poster beds and canopies. The bathroom was both clean and quite modern. The building had so much character, including the ornate original floor tiles. The only thing they could improve on would be the water pressure from the showerhead.

The best part about staying at the Pavilion was lounging by the poolside under the palm and coconut trees with a cocktail and taking a dip in the pool every now and then to cool off from the hot afternoon sun. We also thought that the staff were all lovely. We found that Sotharoth and Michelle were especially helpful, even giving us suggestions with our itinerary and letting us know what would be open on New Year's day.

Breakfast consisted of passionfruit juice, tea and coffee, a variety of breads with butter, eggs and a fruit platter by the pool. We also ate at the bar one night but for dinner I think it's better to try a not-for-profit restaurant such as Friends or Romdeng which had amazing dishes.

If you do decide to stay at the Pavilion I'd suggest (1) booking early since they were completely booked out while we were there and they had to turn many people away who arrived on their doorstep and (2) going through the hotel and booking transport to and from the airport (have a look at their website). We had a great driver who took us to buy our bus tickets to Siem Reap which was very convenient and meant we could reserve the bus seats we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
the 252
the 252
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing