We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #9 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The place is an oasis in a very convenient, quiet neighborhood in the city. For $3 you can get just about anywhere by tuk-tuk. Great restaurants just up the street on Street 240 (Frizz, in particular was delightful). Puzzlingly uninterested reception staff - I agree with the comments of others - but housekeeping and the people manning the bar/restaurant couldn't have been nicer. Excellent breakfast and pretty decent food otherwise. I spent 2 nights in a 2-room suite and 2 nights in the jacuzzi room. Both were just great, good-sized, clean, and comfortable, and at $85/$75, I thought the value was quite good. The property is basically a beautiful garden with the hotel buildings tucked in nicely. Outstanding pool. Excellent internet connectivity.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    615
    112
    40
    19
See reviews for
217
1,369
203
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

First of all, somebody should tell them that shabby chic is out!! And shabby just does not do it for us.If this hotel is number one in Pnom Pehn, then god help the rest. Arrived after staying in two wonderful places in Siem Reap and were instantly shocked and disappointed. The grounds were packed out with expats lounging around the pool and restaurant, and after a six hour bus trip we could not even get a seat anywhere to have a late lunch or even a drink. The girl at reception was a very unwelcoming and casual take it or leave it style, and we wish we had left right then and there, like we saw a couple of other guests do during our stay. We were put in a shabby run down room that we could not even move around in properly. The bathroom was tiny, with very shabby tilework, (sharp edges everywhere) and a big gap at the main wooden doorway that let in numerous mosquitos at night. The pool was around the side of the room, and it too had a run down, uncared for atmosphere. We actually laughed when we saw what they presented as breakfast, and my husband was waiting on the rest of it to come out, but no, all we were served was 2 mugs of GREEN tea with milk in, as per our request for tea instead of coffee. We really think the owner needs to take a trip to refresh himself on how a proper B & B or small hotel should be run. (e.g. Sojurn or HanumanAlaya in Siem Reap) or some of the wonderful small places in Ubud Bali.
Overrated and Overpriced, and the sheer uncaring arrogance of the french owner /Manager? to the guests was unbelievable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwikatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
The month of September has been a nightmare in terms of reception staff (maternity leave, departures...) and we are in the process of restaffing and retraining. I hope that will help.

As for the maintenance, we have now recruited a third technician full time to conduct the usual maintenance.

October should be an easier month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed two nights wasn"t sure about it at first,as we usually stay 5/6 star.Rooms need an update.It was nice and quiet and I started to enjoy the stay.We had our own pool.Make sure you get in early. breakfast was basic but very nice.Staff were very friendly.Also get the tuktuk driver to take you to buy a big bag of rice and visit the LightHouse Orphanage,a part of your holiday you will never forget !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karfre_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

As you enter the courtyard you are faced with a plush garden and the pool in front of the elegant old villa. The Pavilion has a feel unmatched by any of the other hotels in Phnom Penh I have stayed in. My room was comfortable and the staff were helpful enough. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at the Pavilion for 3 nights in September. Although the building is slightly dated in parts (the second room we had was a distinct improvment on the first), it is a good base for exploring Phnom Penh. Unfortunately - as is starting to be a theme in these reviews - the staff are just not helpful. It was a holiday when we were there and they gave us wrong information about what was open and what wasn't - it appears the person on the front desk was just guessing. We asked about laundry - they couldn't help us. We asked about any tour agents they could recommend - again, they couldn't help us. At breakfast some days you were offered eggs, some days you had to ask for them or you didn't get them. It's a shame as the place has potential.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Pavilion is certainly a luxurious escape from the hustle of PP - the pool area is lovely and the rooms with private pools are gorgeous.
But most of the good memories are wiped away by the staff, particularly those on reception. You feel as though you are disturbing them from whatever important business they are doing (which quite often appeared to be surfing the net or playing on their phones). Nobody smiles here, and they are certainly less than interested in helping you sort out any arrangements.
This bad attitude seems to filter out: at the pool bar we were told (unpolitely) that we could not charge drinks or food to our room. When we protested, we were told that a) it was not possible b) they often forgot to pass the bill to reception and c) too many customers never paid their bill. Not really a nice way to be treated.
On three consecutive nights we returned to find the reception unmanned, and sometimes had lengthy waits to get our room keys. I have read below comments about staff being out to check rooms but this doesn't wash for a hotel that purportedly wants to be of a high standard.
All in all a perfect example of a lovely place blighted by a sniffy, haughty staff regime.
Save yourself the bother and go stay at the Blue Lime (the sister hotel) just down the road, which is staffed by people who really know how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundancekid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
I am well aware of the problem. Part of it is that there are too many e-mails coming in for that size of hotel: 120 per day requiring answers on average. That is even more than in a 250 room facility. The staff is exhausted with the e-mailing and has - I agree - too little patience for the guests, especially now that one is pregnant and stays at home. We are currently in the process of recruiting 2 more people for the reception. Hope it will help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way back from Siem Reap, our first time in PP we could not get in here. The hotel is behind beautiful white walls, with wooden doors and elephant statues outside. The courtyard was lovely with a beautiful pool with cabanas around and lots of chairs. We jumped straight in the pool after a long 6 hours on the bus from Siem Reap, just what we needed!
we had to book a more expensive room as that was all that was available but it was lovely. We opened the doors out of room thinking that it would lead onto a small balcony area but we had our own pool!!!!
the bathroom was lovely also. would definately recommend this as a haven to stay after the sight seeing around PP.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing