We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, excellent service, ideal location ”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 4 times over a month and each time it was fantastic. The reception team are so professional and genuinely kind and helpful.

The rooms were all divine (I booked early to get deluxe rooms - this place gets full very often so you need to book ahead!).

The pool is blissful and location perfect for exploring the city.

The food wasn't amazing there was the only thing that wasn't perfect! Breakfast was fine - you can eat out at lots of nearby places for lunch and dinner.

I loved this place and will definitely book again. I also recommend all my yoga clients to stay here too.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mambomazuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 2,562 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent one night at the Pavilion and wished that we had more time to enjoy the pool. We had a twin room $75/ night with two double beds, in the old colonial house. The staff was very attentive and welcoming drink with small jelly cake was tasty. Though we didn't have a chance to stay for breakfast because we had to catch an early morning flight, we did grab a croissant each on the way out and they were delicious. The free internet in the room was extremely handy, especially if you need to make last minute travel arrangements. Do not miss this hotel if you are in Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: Twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adirano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Love this Hotel, from the first time we stayed 3 years ago and it just seems to get better with each new visit. Came this time for 3 days and ended up staying 12 thanks to some great support (and a room move or 2) from the reception staff. In fact all the staff are great. Added a spa and a little gym since last visit both are great.

If you can book in, stay here, if not stay at one of their other hotels they are all great but we have a soft spot for the original...The Pavilion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best stay in our 12 day travel across Cambodia and Vietnam. A beautifully greeny comfy property right in the midst of the city. The staff was forthcoming and helpful with regards to going about the city. The excellent service is perfectly complemented with a great pool setting and a fabulous restaurant. We chose to spend more time in the day beds that line around the pool, a perfect way to relax and unwind.

Only a walk away from the river, National Museum and the Royal Palace, The Pavilion offers the perfect stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Varun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Probably a bit of a repetition, but this place is a gorgeous oasis from a crazy (but fabulous) city. We loved our junior suite with a large balcony to sit on, and the pool and garden area is so pretty and well looked after.

Lots of great touches like fruit in the room, robes, free massage, and indicative tuk tuk rates ready for bartering your journey.

The real asset of this place is the fantastic staff. So friendly, so welcoming, and they really couldn't do enough for us and that's bar, reception and cleaning staff, all were great.

Only tiny gripe was that after such a lovely welcome on our arrival with a cooling towel and drink while the lovely Nary showed us the local map, we then found on check out that we were charged for the drinks. It didn't exactly break the bank or anything, but it felt a bit cheeky. Although I guess that should be weighed up against things like a complimentary massage....

Anyway, loved this little spot of tranquillity!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lushious83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. I have checked about the drinks that were charged to your bill and our system showed two lemon juices ordered at 15:13 from room 15, but it seems you only checked-in at 16:20. Did you order some drinks before checking in? If not I guess we charged you instead of the previous guests :( I am verry sorry about this mistake.....

Next time the lemon juice is on me!

Cheers,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Unable to fault the staff. Very welcoming and accommodate any requests.
Food: Breakfast outstanding with fresh passion fruit juice, bread, pastries, pineapple jam and big selection of food from a menu.
Lunches we ate there was Khumer food: Grilled chicken with mango sauce US$6.50; Khumer chicken curry (same price) both delicious. Lok Lac delicious. Happy to eat a late lunch to escape heat of the day in lovely tropical garden setting.
We were forced to book a Private Pool Room only because the other rooms we wanted were not available. However this room was wonderful and I'm glad we had it. Compared to other parts of Asia it is cheap and well worth it. Room internet access was excellent and they supply the computer and connection.
The only downside was the free massage where the staff seemed very uninterested.
It's an hotel that's been developed from old French mansions and the rooms and grounds were kept very clean and neat. The staff were attentive and we felt very welcome and comfortable. We are very happy to recommend this hotel for its staff, service, room, food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pick a pool view or private pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_from_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Pavilion is a great value for money. When you walk through the tiny gate, you are greeted with the most beautiful tropical garden, swimming pool and immaculate French colonial building. We liked the general atmosphere of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and eager to help and the service could not be faulted. The bar is offering variety number of cocktails and fresh food. The complementary massage is relaxing enjoyable. We feel lucky to have found the Pavilion in Phnom Penh. It is definitely recommended as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $85 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing