We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wonderful Pavilion Hotel, Phnom Penh”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I last stayed in this Wonderful Hotel, in Sept 2012, and wrote a full report then. Nothing has changed it is same as always for my April/May 2013 visit. Improvements are being completed here and there all the time, which all help to improve the comforts for the Guests. One thing I noticed is the increase in Bars and Bar/restaurants in this area, all near to the back of The Royal Palace, indicating a shift in Tourists moving more into this area as more Hotels become available. I have now stayed at the Pavilion 85 days over some years and will continue with the same accomodation.

Room Tip: Always arrive in Cambodia with lots of US one dollar notes as Tuk Tuk drivers with the ride in the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very beautiful patio with swimming pool, excellent breakfast, perfect location, and although our room was not in the main, historic building, it was a very pleasant one. The big draw for this hotel is the relax atmosphere and small scale luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just recently stayed here for 5 nights in the Pool room and enjoyed it!
Rooms a slightly rustic, dont expect the trappings like gown and slippers etc.
Cafes and Restaurants are only a short 5mins walk from Pavilion. When exiting Pavilion turn left and walk to the first intersection. Turn left and good places to eat are just right along here.
Want a tuks tuk? Note: just before exiting the main door of Pavilion onto the street, on the wall just to your left is a tuk tuk price list. These prices are just guides and haggle the price down.
Tuk tuk guys are right out the front so have fun with a smile.
Positives:
Great secluded room with private lazing pool.
Helpful & friendly staff.
Great breakfast.
French Heritage villa.
Negatives:
Pool maintenance wasn't properly kept. I was required to have pool staff clean it @ 6pm so I could have a swim. And I'm not talking leaves on the water. The PH levels were out due to a storm the previous night and the water had become mirky.
I commend the pool staff on there hard work for bringing back to a satisfactory level to swim in.
Even though it should have been done earlier in the day.
Ground floor pool rooms have guest rooms above. The desk chair in these room can make a horrendous noise below when dragged across the floor. I have mentioned this to management, hopefully they will rectify this.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 14. This is probably the furtherest away from the construction noise going on at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chase8Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I choose to stay with this hotel because The Pavilion have a private pool room. I found this hotel through Tripadvisor and the reviews given by visitors are not bad. So, I decided to call them and make a booking with them. Unfortunately, they only have one day room available for me. As a result, I stay for one night. When I reached the hotel, I was welcomed with drink and a beautiful lady approached to us. At first, we thought this hotel was awesome. Then, she brought me to the room. We got a shocked for the room we provided. The hotel is noisy with construction and renovation sound even during night time. Besides that, the room is very small if to compare with other hotels room. The rooms look old and dirty. There were stains on the floor that uncleanable. There were hairs on the floor. Right away, I gave a call to receptionist to change my room. When they transferred me to the second room, it will be much better at first but at night time when we are about to fall asleep, we found a cockroach nearby the toilet door. The swimming pool was small and was not suitable for swim lovers. Moreover , the garden and the pool were dirty. For the breakfast, we are quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdelineGAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry you were disappointed by the Pavilion. We have setup a room cleaning procedure that includes brings ownership of the room performance to the cleaner and the person that has done a room leaves her name card inside in order to make any adjustments possible. I am sorry your room was not as expected and we will review this with the cleaning team.

We are indeed extending the property and the removal of the old bathroom tiles were a bit noisy I must admit. I am very sorry about the discomfort created. The new rooms should be awesome though! Hope our guests will appreciate them.

Cheers;

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Firstly, I have to commend on how helpful the staff were. Last minute change of plans, we decided to go a day earlier so when I contacted the hotel there was no room available but they made all arrangements for us to stay at a nearby hotel for the night.
The hotel room was clean and beautifully arranged with flowers. We were very pleased with our room. We enjoyed the pool and the 25 minute complimentary massage.
I have to say I was very impressed with Miss Kongkea Long at the reception desk. She was so switched on and arranged everything for us within minutes. Including our sightseeing around Phnom Penh, the trip to Siem Reap and back, the hotel bookings in Siem Reap...all this with a list of prices we could choose from and such a professional and helpful attitude.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel as a family with two adult children. We found the hotel very pleasant and the staff friendly. The setting for breakfast by the pool was inviting and the breakfast enjoyable and plenty to eat. We chose a garden room and our kids had a twin room. Their's was much larger than ours, suprisingly. I was a bit disappointed in the garden room, as I expected to overlook a garden. It was in fact just a private outside courtyard with not a lot to view. Good if one is a smoker I imagine. There was also little hanging space for clothes as it was really just a pole hanging from a small shelf. The outside pool area is very inviting and calming. Overall, the hotel was very nice for a three or four night stay and the welcoming staff alone would attract me back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francolearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This charming home was King Norodom's mother bungalow and has been fitted with modern comforts while retaining the old world charm. Inexpensive, quiet and comfortable and located close to Street 240, full of NGO shops makes this an amazing find.
The pool is great, free 25 min massage was offered, too bad I didn't have time. But I enjoyed th swim, great poolside meals and drinks.
My room upstairs had 2 poster beds and an adequate bathroom and amenities like kettle, fridge and hairdryer, safe.
This is part of a wonderful group of hotels that you must find....

Room Tip: Some rooms have private patio but I prefer more light upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuForia_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $60 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing