We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money - lovely Boutique Hotel - clean, friendly staff, well located”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money - lovely Boutique Hotel - clean, friendly staff, well located”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Many pluses for this Hotel - listed in order of best features - friendly & warm staff - receptionist was very nice, breakfast is very nice & eating area @ top floor is nice with a mix of open area, again every staff that you come across is nice, warm, smiling & helpful and never act as if you are money paying guest who they would be getting rid off in a few nights, rooms are nice & comfortable and I liked the use of white all around making the place feel very fresh, clean & open - including the balcony with greens & hanging cane chair, it is nice that they have included a pool even though the property is small - so guests can take a dip and it adds to a nice view from front rooms balcony. Almost definite that I will stay here if / when I come again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Balcony facing the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    623
    117
    41
    19
See reviews for
226
1,401
206
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Highly recommend The Pavilion. The staff were warm & welcoming, the atmosphere, a peaceful haven. Beautiful food & drinks had by the gorgeous pool.The complimentary massage was a lovely addition & appreciated so much. I one day hope to return to Cambodia & endeavour to return to The Pavilion. I won't forget your smiling faces :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenleagraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lovely, small boutique hotel, wonderful and helpful staff, lush, green surrounds, close to everything. A great place to stay for your first visit to Phnom Penh. We spent 16 days in Cambodia and this was indeed the most atmospheric and lovely hotel we stayed at. Highly recommend thi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I visited Cambodia for 16 days and The Pavilion proved to be the most authentic and atmospheric of all the places we stayed. A beautiful, classy boutique hotel that is very well maintained and stylish in decor. All your needs are taken care of and the staff our extremely professional, friendly and helpful.

The pool setting is picture postcard, ideally positioned for lazing in the sun or drying yourself down for a cooling drink next to the bar. The pool area is nice and peaceful even though situated directly next to the bar and guests and staff are discreet and at hand to cater to your food and drink needs.

The building is very beautiful and our room came with it's own entrance and courtyard. The accommodation was very comfortable and bathroom facilities equal to London hotels.

Hotel evening dining - be sure to try the fish brochettes, very delicious! In fact the menu, although at first glance it appears quite limited, it is actually very tasty and provides the traditional Khmer dishes that you would wish to try.

Finally one last point regarding the staff. My bag was misplaced by Malaysia Airlines in Phnom Penh and even though I had later left the Pavilion they continued their quest to help me locate the bag and arranged for it to be sent to me at the southern end of Cambodia. Big thanks to Grace and the team, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_wanderlust10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First of 5 hotels on 2 week trip through Cambodia and Laos.

Overall: Beautiful lush grounds ARE the promised urban oasis in a noisy, hectic and dusty but nevertheless interesting city. Around the corner from 242 Street with it's boutiques and good restaurants and walking, or short tuk-tuk to central attractions.

Stayed in a pool room 14.....there are 4 (11, 12, 31 and 14) lower level of a 2 story villa with 8 accommodations. Two face forward so to keep privacy curtains must be drawn, back two with windows out to patio on two side likely let in more light. Sun hit part of my pool for a couple of hours, don't expect to tan in a lounger (where the sun never hits) here or at main pool (where all lounging areas are shaded daybeds)... you can lie on the wide border of main pool for some direct sun or sit on the border or stairs. Clean on arrival, the falling bamboo leaves into the pool are constant and while the tall foliage could use some trimming, some ground cover or filler plants along border are needed. Staff was busy pruning grounds and major pruning/ rehab of pool unit 31 next door, though. High wall and wooden slats between levels made it virtually completely private.

Quiet,,,, except when 5 young 20 something party girls came home at midnight howling and laughing and slamming doors with no consideration, disrupting my sleep but promptly quieted by a yelling foreigner in another pool room (just as I was about to call front desk).

Good WiFi. In room older computer fast Internet too.

Cambodian art photos in bathroom but artsy photos of Afghanistan in bedroom slightly odd. Bathroom large, very clean, basic porcelain tiles could use a couple of extra towel hooks (we had wet pool towels too with no place to hang).

Breakfast poolside lovely with served coffee, juice, fruit, pastries and a cooked to order item off the list served cheerfully by attentive restaurant staff. Lunch nice and reasonable.

Pluses:
Very good value.
Super pleasant, attentive staff.
Security at entrance and sign forbidding sex guests.
Very clean. Simple large bathroom.
Fruit basket, drinking water, reasonable mini bar, tea/ coffee in room.
Attentive to issues with A/C and TV. Complimentary cocktail/ drink when they were working on the A/C nice gesture.

Minuses:
One too many minor flaws to give it a 5......
Small safe will not fit a laptop or iPad but leaving it at front desk when I went out was effortless.
After 27 hours traveling the arranged vintage Jaguar pickup was not standing there but materialized within 10 minutes.
A/C went bad first night, fixed promptly but died next night and was replaced. Then TV went out, promptly replaced.
Consistent HOT shower water but no hot water in sink!
"Fast feedback" card in room: management and front desk very caring.
Please clean the tops of those 2 poolside umbrellas !

Tips:
The picture suggests it...my mistake, but the Mekong sunset cruise is NOT private. Grab the 2 front seats if you can otherwise you share the back with up to about 10 stangers (like the above mentioned party girls or some being shuttled to/from "the Bungalows") but still worthwhile and pleasant enough and may be nicer, but pricier, than the big boats I saw.

Considering construction along route and huge amount of dust I was glad to take advantage of their $30 air conditioned SUV taxi to get to Killing Fields and S 21 by hotel. A open tuk tuk would have been horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first experience in Cambodia. We stepped off of the busy, dirty streets of Phnom Penh and we felt as if we entered another world. This hotel is a lovely little place surrounded by gardens. The pool is beautiful and it is next to the spa, restaurant, and the bar. The staff were gentile and very helpful. The hotel is walking distance to the palace and the museum.
Our room was clean. We chose an upstairs room which we loved, but good to know, no elevators here.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wow, I loved this place. Very serene and peaceful, with a beautiful pool (two of them actually, but I spent my time around the main pool). The pool has private boxes you can lounge in, and the staff will bring food and drink right to those boxes... which have steps leading directly into the pool. Paradise.

The breakfast buffet was very good. Their lunch and dinner menu is not very large and could stand to use more Cambodian dishes (or any, really), but it was suitable for a few meals and room service is very prompt.

The room was neat and clean. Housekeeping was very thorough every day, even mopping the floors and the bathroom. Of the bathroom, it's an open plan (except for the toilet), which means the sink is in the bedroom. It's an interesting arrangement.

The wall hangings could stand to be replaced. They're faded and are showing their age. Otherwise, the room was lovely and the resort is beautiful. I highly recommend it. I would come here again if I have reason to return to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing