We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation, an oasis of quiet and relaxation in the centre of Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, an oasis of quiet and relaxation in the centre of Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent accommodation in the centre of Phnom Penh near the Royal Place. This is clearly not a budget option. But if you can afford it, Pavilion is value for money. It is very attractively designed and is quiet and relaxed. This ambience is achieved by excellent, helpful staff and a no children policy. The official reason for the no children policy is that the pools are not supervised. There is a sister establishment which does accept children.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeWells90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    597
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
207
1,329
195
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Homer, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is a piece of heaven with calm, clean rooms, great food, spa benefits AND the best staff you will find anywhere. They will do everything in their power to assure you have a great stay. We stayed 3 separate times and had a great experience each time.

Room Tip: They were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welllington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived early and were lucky to be allowed to check in. The receptionist made us feel so welcomed. Room’s balcony is facing the pool and the restaurant. Pool area is perfect for relaxation and unwind. Free 25 min massage. Breakfast is all good, with fruits, bread, bacon and eggs, juice, tea/coffee. We enjoyed staying in this lovely boutique hotel, all the staff are very helpful and polite.

We can't fault this place. Just a tiny inconvenience when the ground staff is watering the plants, we couldn't use our shower due to the low pressure. Otherwise, as others have said, it's a truly an oasis in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TickingBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Everything was perfect about this place. The room, spacious and beautifully decorated with a view over the pool, the linen, the soap in the bathroom, the lighting. The hotel is full of carefully assorted items, pieces of art and furniture.The staff are as helpful as possible, gentle, descreet and friendly. The pool is a dream, especially after the dusk when it is lit by little lamps. You can grab a hotel towel and after a swim, lazily plunge into chairs and setees present around the pool, have a drink at the pool bar. The breakfast is scrumptious, with delicious bread, eggs, yoghurt with musli and loads of fruit.
The Pavillion is within the walking distance from the Royal Palace and the river bank.

Having said that, I admit, given the prices in Cambodia it is a pretty expensive place (55$ to 80$). Nevertheless, if you are about to splurge on a hotel, let it be there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonaidealna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I only managed to get a room because of a cancellation, which was great for us! The hotel pick up from the bus station and check in was seamless- we went from bus station to our room in 10 minutes flat! Rooms are clean and quiet. Pool is lovely, staff speak english very well and are so helpful. We had no problem with hot water (some other reviews had mentioned issues). we had the pool room which was lovely for a couple!! we also stayed at TWO of the owners other properties if that is any indication of how much we liked the hotel! BYO toiletries though- they provide soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki-cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had booked the Pavilion for our first six nights ever in Cambodia, after reading recommendations and reviews of this hotel and we have not been disappointed, on the contrary. The welcome and friendliness after a tiresome 13-hours flight from Europe were marvellous... at 10:00 am, our rooms were ready so that we could recover a bit. I never had this level of experience of truly being expected in a hotel. We found the pool, the garden, the rooms, the service and the overall atmosphere really exceptional. We never had even such a friendly housekeeping lady ever before in our (quite long!) life.

After strolling and tuktuk-ing all over Phnom Penh, it was always very pleasant to come back to this oasis of calm.

Breakfast was very good and served by very friendly staff, the bar serves good Khmer dishes, nice pastry and splendid fruit shakes. The passionfruit juice is a must try!

The reception was very efficient in arranging tours and bus tickets. There are often several tuktuks waiting outside the gate, getting around is simple and convenient. The hotel is conveniently located near the Royal Palace, 240th street (shops and restaurants) and even Sisowath Quay is not too far to walk.

Due to the nearly-full booking, we had to change rooms after our first night and got one of these lovely garden rooms.

In short, we did regret that our six days/nights were over, even if we were heading to the temples of Angkor, which of course was also a very special experience.

The only trouble with recommending a hotel like this is that in the future the hotel may be fully booked long in advance and that we'll not be able to stay there again...

Room Tip: We particularly enjoyed the separate rooms in the garden. Private terrace or pool is not too importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Arrived in Phnom Penh after a long flight via Bangkok. The hotel was a haven of peace and tranquility. My room was what one could call a courtyard room, and was extremely comfortable. The location was very good and the hotel arranged my excursions by taxi at an agreed price. The staff were very helpful as I had a problem with my air ticket but they sorted it out for me. Hotel is in a great area with shops, restaurants and bars nearby. Loved the hotel building which was low level and looked as though at some time in the past it had been a colonial mansion.
The room rate included a 40 minute massge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stratrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing