We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRAP - it's a hovel - another GECKOS special”
Review of Mito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mito Hotel
Ranked #61 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CRAP - it's a hovel - another GECKOS special”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Checked in after a long trip down from Siem Rep and checked out after 15 mins. The first room had a turd floatng in the toilet, the wall in the bathroom, had bugs crawling out, tehre was no window. They then gave us another room that was just as bad. Thank god for a mate who worked at the Inter Con.

On wotif you can get a room for $40 a night and Gecko's have a contract so they would be getting it for about $20 a night. It reminded me of a motel that you pay by the housr. The staff are rude, they packed 16 bags onto one trolleya nd when we tried to take ours from the top they woulnd't let us, as the room boy wanted his tip.

Met others who did the Gecko trip and checked out also. WOUL DNOT RECCOMMEND.

The remaining people on our tour wh stayed said it was worse than what we thought, the breakfast included was - fries or friend rice...........

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rnr2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    38
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
37
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I originally booked 2 nights in this hotel, I only stayed one night. The room was so small I found it hard to believe is was a superior double. But that wasn't really my issue with the place. It just looked so dingy, although the room looked clean the bathroom was a mess. I am Asian and I was really grossed out by the lack of cleanliness that I perceived in the bathroom. The staff was a bit indifferent, but not terribly rude, and the location is not the best.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndtwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed during a group tour. This hotel has defintely seen better days and is in dire need of some refurbishment. Watchout if you book a "double" room that you are not put in one without windows, no matter what floor you are on these feel like a dungeon and are claustrophobic. Fortunately when we complained they moved us to a room with windows, but why stick us in there in the first place when "proper" rooms are available ?
Staff seemed lackadaisical and not terribly bothered about their guests. Included breakfast was OK, didn't try any other meals.
Location is OK for access to the Central Market but too much of a hike to the riverside, palace etc. Remember to bargain hard with the tuktuk drivers outside the hotel, you will need to use them a lot from here.
At the end of the tour we moved out of this hotel for our last cuple of days in PP so I know there are much much better hotels available in PP for similar cost

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black river
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The room was a little smaller than expected and were tiny and one of the rooms did not have a window.Stayed at the hotel for a total of 2 nights,there were strange noises coming from another guest in the corridor of the hotel,we didn't know what it was. The reception are not very impressed with there behaviour.The breakfast was very simple and only had some options. Never Again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel is a very good place to stay. Very clean and comforable room; clean building; good restaurant on first floor and 'the Corner' downstairs where both Western and local food is avalable at fair prices; reception is always eager to help. Laundry is done cheap and fast. Good masage center to look after feet and body. Four internet stations. Modest breakfast; but enough as a starter and served with a smile. Supermarket at walking distance. Tuktuks in front of hotel. Most sites are within a two dollar tuktukrange. If I come back to Phnom I will certainly book this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reiziger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2010. First things first, the location really isn't great if you are a tourist. I have no problem walking everywhere and it's only 10-15 minutes to the riverside where all the life is in Phnom Penh. However, at night (which is pretty early here) there are hardly any roads with street lighting and it's difficult to get back at such a time. Yeah sure, you could take a tuk-tuk but the reason we chose it was because it was walking distance, which at night it isn't really. Location is average in that respect.

The restaurant is probably the only other thing I could say something nice about here. The food was pretty good and was reasonably priced. Breakfast was OK for a freebie.

The rest though, oh dear. We stayed in a superior room, although what is meant by this I will never know. They gave us a room originally right next to the restoration work that was going on. Not a problem, the sign in the lobby said they started at 09:30 and on the floor it said 9am. We were planning to be up by then so it wasn't a problem. So, you're all excited to know, what time did they start?!

Answer: 7:55am. We were not impressed especially with our early start the day before! The fact they put us next to the work as well was even worse, the builders might as well have been using the drills in our room it was that loud. The passageway to the lifts and stairs had been taken up by scaffolding and it was a very very small gap, essentially cut off from the rest of the hotel.

My partner went downstairs to complain and they did seem at least co-operative giving us another room on the 4th floor on the other side of the building. It was quiet but, the room was a twin room. Not what we'd ordered. It did have a window though, something our other room didn't have.

Not happy, so she went and complained again saying that we'd paid for a superior double. This time they gave us one on the same floor as we were on (3rd) but on the other side. It was half the size of the room we were originally in, had no bath and the window had disappeared again. This was rapidly turning into a joke. I got involved this time and we both went downstairs. They weren't very sympathetic on the desk at all, and explained to me that all the rooms we've seen our superiors, despite them being completely different from each other! The 4th room of our trip there was essentially the same as our first one, on the 2nd floor. Someone came up with us to check it was OK this time (how kind of them). Why on earth they couldn't do this in the first place, I will never know. We had great fun moving to the room, having to push our bags through the tiny gap left by the construction site.

Conspiracy perhaps? Our breakfast slips given to us on check in originally had the room we were finally given on them which had been scribbled out and we'd had the construction site room given to us on check in instead. Maybe they saw how young we were and thought they could offload a crap room to us.

I'm not going to just moan about that either, oh no. The internet connection is absolutely awful too, just to top it off.

Nevermind, I'm here, I've survived the incident and I'm writing to tell you all never to use this hotel, ever.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tclstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel is in good location with lots of parking. I was greeted with friendly staffs at the reception and the bellboys were most eager to help me with my bags. I think the price was suitable for my needs and the rooms were furnished quite well. the best about the Mittapheap Hotel was that they provide free breakfast which i liked and fast internet. The restaurant staffs were very friendly even if they didnt speak much English. I really enjoyed the happy hour there too. This hotel is good and reasonable and i recommend to any of my friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keno0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 270 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
2.1 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#51 of 270 in Phnom Penh
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#57 of 270 in Phnom Penh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#71 of 270 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#66 of 270 in Phnom Penh
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#48 of 270 in Phnom Penh
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mito Hotel

Property: Mito Hotel
Address: No. 11, St.174 Oknha Ket Rd (Corner of Monivong Blvd) | Sangkat Boeung Rang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia (Formerly Mittapheap Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#35 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MITO Hotel is a 3 Stars, newly renovated business hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Blessed with premier central location, bustling city center, diverse international clientele of business men, entrepreneurs, adventurers, MITO Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 4 Floors, and 80 rooms, our accommodation type ranges from Superior, Deluxe, Deluxe Star, VIP, and Family Suite. Each type having its own designated style, décor, and amenities simple enough to make guests feel like home. Our Deluxe Star rooms are the new additions to our previous room types, adding more comforts, more personality and elements of art and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing