We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel OK, a little noisey, alright for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mito Hotel
Ranked #62 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, a little noisey, alright for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Reception staff seemed a little disinterested. Their english could have been better. Amenities in the room were sufficient except no wifi only cable broadband. Location not in prime hotel district although easily accessible to tourist attractions. Were advised by taxi driver not to venture into back lane at night. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PZ_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    38
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
37
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

All in all, not a bad hotel. for the price you're paying, it's fairly good reasonable. Yes it could do with an upgrade (as could the rest of Cambodia) but it's still not bad.

Close enough to everything, a short tuk-tuk to the central markets & the mall, not far from most of the local sightseeing.

We got a few triple rooms, and the beds aren't too bad. The rollaways are not comfortable, but at least it's a bed!

The hotels were clean, rooms made up everyday.
A complimentary bottle of water every day per person.

Any situations were fixed pretty much straight away. We only had one bug situation - two weeks into our stay & that was taken care of straight away, with no repeat problem.

We did have our own pet gecko while we were there!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellAye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

I was quite disappointed with this place as it was recommended by my travel agent. The breakfast was really a let-down. Location was so-so, room was below average but the staff at reception was helpful.

  • Disliked — Very slow but free internet connection.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

Over the last four years I have been staying at the constantly renovating Mittapheap and had mixed experiences but my most recent was the worst and I will not be returning. The constant construction noise has been an annoying issue for the last four years and one wonders when it will ever be ended; we protested strongly when at 4.30 pm our rooms were reverberating with the sounds of drills and were told that no more rooms were available but that they would tell the builders to stop. This noise then continued for another hour, and we could not bear to be in the rooms. God help anyone during the day who is trying to rest.
On a stay there a week earlier, my friend's room had such a terrible smell coming from the bathroom drains that she had to change rooms and wafts of it were noticeable in other rooms too.
They charged her $2 US dollars because she honestly reported the accidental smashing of a cup...
Not all rooms have safes, and many are quite dank, with increasing smells in the corridors and at times permeating reception too. The Internet service is incredibly slow, and the telephones in the rooms do not connect to local calls, despite that being stated in the phone directory by the bed.
The airconditioning units have a roaring ominprescence throughout the night, making sleeping difficult if you are on the side of the hotel where most are clustered.
So it's bye bye Mittapheap, and I will try the nearby New York Hotel next time.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — The degenerating service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

We booked a deluxe double for $27 a night, through Mittapheap Tours. Due to bitter experience throughout Asia, we triple checked via telephone and email that this booking was confirmed - a deluxe double with internet in the room.

On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room (407).....a small, dank, standard twin with no internet!!??!!

On enquiring at reception we were informed that the hotel only has 1 deluxe double and it was already occupied (their brochure and other members of staff say they have 5 deluxe rooms!?!).

A representative from Mittapheap Tours appeared but seemed unconcerned by the problem and suggested that we take the room and 'just push the beds together'.

When we pointed out that it quite clearly was not a deluxe room, again the representative and reception staff shrugged their shoulders, laughed and said 'deluxe room taken.'

They did not offer to find us another hotel or reduce the rate. My boyfriend went around the corner and checked the rooms and rates at the New York Hotel - bigger, cleaner, newer rooms with internet for $27 - we checked in there instead.

To add insult to injury the Mittapheap Tours rep tried to make us pay for a Tuk Tuk for our luggage to be transferred and then followed us to the New York Hotel to try and get her commission. We paid the hotel direct and told her to go away.

DO NOT USE MITTAPHEAP TOURS/HOTEL BUT IF YOU HAVE TO, THEN DO NOT TRUST THEM WHEN THEY SEND YOU A BOOKING CONFIRMATION.

Appalling attitude - would not recommend the hotel and definitely would NEVER return.

  • Liked — leaving!
  • Disliked — Arriving! - Terrible staff attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VTAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

Stayed in a few expensive places in Phnom Penh,..,. but for the price its A1.

$22 dollars if u book at there travel agent - Mittapheap travel on the corner...

Nice modern rooms, nice view from the rooms overlooking reception but u can get a little noise from the Buddhist temple at 4am next door - nothing some ear plugs can't solve. Or, if this a problem then stay at back of the hotel.

U also get a free breakfast and also free internet!

recommended

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank JulianL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.1 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#39 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#97 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#52 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#78 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mito Hotel

Property: Mito Hotel
Address: No. 11, St.174 Oknha Ket Rd (Corner of Monivong Blvd) | Sangkat Boeung Rang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia (Formerly Mittapheap Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#32 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MITO Hotel is a 3 Stars, newly renovated business hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Blessed with premier central location, bustling city center, diverse international clientele of business men, entrepreneurs, adventurers, MITO Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 4 Floors, and 80 rooms, our accommodation type ranges from Superior, Deluxe, Deluxe Star, VIP, and Family Suite. Each type having its own designated style, décor, and amenities simple enough to make guests feel like home. Our Deluxe Star rooms are the new additions to our previous room types, adding more comforts, more personality and elements of art and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing