We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good hotel!”
Review of Phnom Penh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phnom Penh Hotel
Ranked #85 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel staff were very attentive. I had trouble locking my room door...the staff came to my help before i could even count to ten. There are not many activities outside the hotel but there is no problem getting a tuk tuk for a night out!
The breakfast is suprisingly good compared to the hotel I stayed in Siem Reap. A good variety. I wouldn't mind staying in this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneGoh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 403 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Popped over th Cambodia for a couple of days and stayed at the Phnom Penh Hotel. nice place...clean and great breakfast. pool was super clean and all the staff are friendly. the rooms were great and my room had a jacuzzi bath which was nice to relax in.
the breakfast was top notch with a wide veriety of western and traditional foods to choose from. i loved the noodle breakfast station...
quite a few resturants to choose from if your staying in. i tried some very original stuff and the chinese resturant in the hotel.
they are probably on the expensive side with regards to nights, but i was there for just a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReubenMosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Picked this hotel (and a superior room) based on TripAdvisor comments, and it turned out very disappointing. Besides being out of the way relative to the activity along the river, the beds were so hard that we even thought about sleeping on top of all our clothes in our bags and the bathroom towels to get a little relief. The hotel also reminded us of of a large hospital, with shiny floors, wide hallways, and complete silence (except late at night when the service elevator "clunked"). We were in a room on the backside of the building, and it took us a good five minutes to make it down to the lobby. Finally, we had to pay for internet wi-fi access, and it didn't even work that well. With all these negatives, one positive was the lobby bar happy hour menu and prices. They had fried calamari and chips that were great. So, suggest readers research their hotel options well before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: room away from the elevators toward the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had read the reviews about the cockroaches and were concerned enough to ask our tour company to change hotels. This request turned out to be complicated, so we decided to give it a try. I am pleased to say that we really enjoyed our stay here. First of all, the place was very clean--no bugs of any kind. Our room was lovely, albeit a bit dated. The shower was great--hot and plenty of pressure. The location was ideal, a short tuk tuk ride away from the river ($3), yet quiet. On our last day there, we didn't leave for the airport until 2, and they allowed us to stay in the room until then. We really appreciated that favor. There is a gorgeous pool with plenty of lounge chairs and towels. We spent at least an hour a day there. Also, there is a great coffee area in the lobby that really has wonderful coffee. Breakfast is plentiful with the freshest of everything, from all kinds of breads to fruits and an egg station.

The only reason not to give the hotel an excellent rating has to do with the wi-Fi. you have to purchase it--$10 for 150 minutes. That would have been fine except it didn't work really well, and you couldn't turn it off even when following the directions. It eventually turned off, but many minutes were lost.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel if Internet is not a huge deal for you. They also have a great massage place--$15 for an hour of neck and back massage. Very clean and professional.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vtred-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here only one night for business early Jan 2013. Rooms were large and seemingly clean. Solid nice wooden furniture, which included a rock hard fiber (coconut husk or similar) filled mattress. Once evening came though, the cockroaches came out to play. I killed 3 in the short time I was in the room before going to sleep that night. All lighting/TV/air con controls were connected to a 1980's style central control panel next to the bed. Several controls didn't work or were mislabelled.

The shower had a spaceship style shower cubicle/bath with flashy bells whistles and jets. All very over the top. Did have a nice hot shower eventually though after working it all out.

Breakfast was average in the restaurant in the lobby. Wide selection of international food that seemed fresh and well prepared. Coffee was cold and terrible.

Internet was difficult to connect to requiring several calls to the front desk to finally get connected to the wi-fi.

This place would have seen better days a long time ago but has not been maintained or upkept. Needs some serious pest control and refurbishment. Would not recommend to friends or other business travellers. There are much nicer, newer hotels available for the same price in Phnom Penh these days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank generalhummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A tired hotel. This hotel supports smoking and non smoking rooms. The stench of stale smoke was quite overwhelming when we left the lift and headed to our room. We had to ask for another room that was a non smoking room lucky there was one room left. The rooms are large and clean but was showing its age with the old 70's style bedside table with light, TV and radio controls. The TV was an old ~22" tube model with distorted sound. The beds on casters that roll away from the bedhead when you are sitting up watching TV and lastly an air conditioner that sounded like a jet engine. There are plenty of restaurants within the hotel which seem to be of good standard we had eaten at a couple of them during our stay. Unfortunately you have to buy internet which is frustrating and was the first we had struck on our 4 week holiday and what made it worse only one person could log on at any one time. There is a pool in the centre of the hotel on the first floor which was great when you wanted to escape from the hot afternoon sun and not too cold either. The hotel is quite a few blocks from the river, restaurants and markets a bit too far to walk in the heat of the day and just bearable at night. Not the most pleasant hotel we had stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank look4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 times, the 1st time is in Nov., 2012 for 5 night, the 2nd time is in Jan.,2013 for 5 nights as well. Both trips stayed on their exectutive floor. The last night of the 1st trip I stayed, the crockroach's legs were found on the towl as well as one running corckroach, afterwards I rang the hotel right way and he just said that he would send someone have a look, even no sorry. With the hope that the condition would be improved, I stayed there for the 2nd time as the company i am working for has contract with it, but nothing had been improved. From the 1st room they gave me, the crockroach was found on the desk, then i asked for the change, unfortunately another crockroach was found on the table beside bed, again they gave me another change with strong smell spraying, in the end i had to give up it wont help at all by changing the room. And for 2 days I didnt see any crockroach, but then i saw one again in the bathroom.
During my 2nd stay there, I sent 2 times of laundry.My cloth from the 1st laundry was stained, and they initially just want to deduct the laundry for that stained cloth, but afterwards they agreed to deduct the money for the whole 1st laundry, which took more than 1 hour to get it sort out by sending different people checking. And one item from the 2nd laundry was found missing, and after another long time of waiting by sending different people checking as well, the missing item was found.
Rather than that, the communication with this hotel is not efficient either.
I will have to trave to Phnom Penh often, but i will definitely not stay there any more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJiang78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#35 of 274 in Phnom Penh
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dara Airport Hotel
Dara Airport Hotel
#84 of 274 in Phnom Penh
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cambodiana
Hotel Cambodiana
#89 of 274 in Phnom Penh
410 reviews
8.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#73 of 274 in Phnom Penh
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#7 of 274 in Phnom Penh
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phnom Penh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phnom Penh Hotel

Address: 53 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Srah Chok, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $72 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phnom Penh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phnom Penh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing