We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Golden Bridge Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Bridge Hotel
Ranked #142 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here over the course of 2 weeks and was very happy. For $15 you get a large but basic room - ensuite, tv, fridge, wireless internet, ceiling fan and AC (doesnt work that great but it is working against some pretty full on heat).
Due to other reviews about noise from adjacent clubs I asked for a room at the back. It had windows but they faced onto a brick wall of the building behind - however it was quiet so it is a view and street noise or brick wall and quiet.
The daily laundry service is awesome! All done on the same day and only one thing was lost...but it ended up in my friends room so all was ok!

Room Tip: No lift...so be prepared for the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The staff at the Golden Bridge are very friendly, relaxed and helpful. My room for $15 was really a small apartment with sitting area, a big bed, desk, and a small kitchen with burners and cookware, fridge and a small table. Also included are cable TV, slowish but reliable wireless inte
rnet and AC.
Downsides: Noisy neighborhood at night, and the desk clerks really try a little too hard to sell tours and travel tickets. And no lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPhotinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Booked into the Golden Bridge Hotel based on the strength of the reviews on TripAdvisor. It turns out that there are actually two 'Golden Bridge Hotel / Guesthouse' on the same street about four doors down from each other. They are part of the same group, which is fine, except one of them - the one we stayed in - faces directly onto one of the loudest late night party bars in Phnom Penh - Banana Bar. Obviously fine if you're out partying, but I tend to think the primary function of a hotel is the pursuit of sleep. Yes I know this is Asia and it's noisy, but the usual street noise is completely different to the sound of westerners getting smashed to loud music until the small hours. Of course you only discover all this late in the evening on the first night, by which time it's too late to move.

The hotel itself..: we stayed in the Golden Bridge on the right of the two as you look at them (same street address as far as I can tell). Our room was fairly clean and spacious with a balcony. The decor and fittings are circa 1983 I reckon, and at 18 bucks a night, the noise issue notwithstanding, it's a bit overpriced. Generally the area is nice with some good restaurants and cafes etc nearby. The hotel offers a free laundry service and wifi.

I think you should only stay here if there's no other choice and you can insist on a room in the Golden Bridge furthest away from Banana Bar. Good luck!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are the noisy ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is a very well run family guest house. I found the room clean, comfortable, air-conditioned, hot water, plenty of towels and a kettle to make a cup of tea. It is very well priced at $15 (US). The staff ensured you were safe and arranged tuk tuks or taxi's when you wanted them. The hotel is very well situated near shops and restaurants. I would especially like to thanks Sarn for going to the markets with me and was able to take to the right places knowing what I wanted to buy. I would recommend this hotel to any traveller and would love to come back one day.

Anne B

Room Tip: Very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I live and work in a province in Cambodia and come to Phnom Penh once a month for meetings etc..I always stay at Golden Bridge gusthouse, its well situated (near river, markets, museems, gym and great restaurants, the staff are lovely, the rooms are clean and have fridge and kettle so you can have your own food if you wish, TV aircon...and its well priced (15USD). The best rooms are the one facing the street with balcony!
I recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel is very well located (close to the monument of Independance) and all restaurants and facilities for traveler. This is definitely a budget hotel, about 15 USD a night. Careful, there are rooms with no windows. Ask for a room with window and balcony . There are no lift and stairs are steep. There is no possibility to have breakfast at the hotel. But there are many restaurants nearby which can prepare something for about 5 USD.

Rooms are relatively large. There is a TV with many international channels. Fan and Aircon. Laundry is cleaned free of charge. Wifi is included in the price of the hotel. The main down part of the hotel is that it is not very clean, specially the bathroom.

Given the cost and location of this hotel, I would however definitely recommend it for budget traveler.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stumbled across the New Golden Bridge Guest House (alias Hotel) quite by chance when viewing guest houses in street 278, Phnom Penh. It was the best hotel and my simple but clean, air-conditioned room with balcony and en-suite bathroom at the top of the building were very good value for money at $15 per night, including free washing but excluding breakfast. I ate breakfast in one of the many street restaurants, the newly opened Chayyam, directly opposite provides a full breakfast for $4.5.

Many guest houses and hotels in the street have the name "Golden" in them; but the Golden Bridge Guest House has a very friendly and personal feel to it. The Director, Mrs Keo Fong, takes great pride in looking after the hotel. Her family and staff are very friendly; I felt just like at home.
Keo speaks English, Khmer, Mandarin and Cantonese.

The Golden Bridge offers free wifi access which didn't seem to extend to my room at the top, but outside on the balcony was fine. The lower rooms didn't have a problem. Rooms also have a television and room fan as well as a/c.

The friendly and safe street life is interesting too, there seem to be many children here and I found my 5 day stay very relaxing indeed. It is ideally located being a 5-minute moto taxi ride away from the Waterside area (the best way to get around Phnom Penh) and a 10 minute ride away from the Russian market. However, street 278 has a lot to offer with a good variety of cheap but good quality restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Decisive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#74 of 327 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bridge Hotel

Property: Golden Bridge Hotel
Address: 7CD Street 278, Phnom Penh 12302, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing