We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style on the river in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of FCC Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FCC Phnom Penh
Ranked #88 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Style on the river in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

This place has seriously stylish rooms at very reasonable prices (we payed US$62 per night including breakfast). Service was accommodating and courteous.

The restaurant/bar on the roof overlooking the river has a great atmosphere and many more travellers/business people come to eat here than stay in the hotel. It's a nice place to have a few drinks and chill out without being full of backpackers. (Probably because its out of their price range).

They serve really good pizza by Australian, not Cambodian standards (and yes, Australians make good pizza!) and fantastic Illy coffee. The breakfast included was enormous and all top quality.

My only quarm was that two of the seven rooms are accessed by a seperate entrance, so on the 10m walk to the stairs to the restaurant we would get accosted by tuk tuk drivers. But that's all part of being in Phnom Penh.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — lack of pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoB1Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    147
    102
    39
    12
See reviews for
48
156
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed for two nights in April 2007 at the FCC Phnom Penh. The location is really great -- just steps away from the river and the Royal Palace and Museum. Also, in the middle of the lively cafe culture of this part of town. The down side is that the rooms are not very well insulated and the traffic and other sounds from the street were quiet loud at night.

The rooms were really beautiful -- large, tastefully decorated, and clean. The bathrooms were also very nicely redone, spacious and clean -- the showers were great and we had lots of hot water. We had rooms overlooking the street and the river with nice balconies -- big balconies for lounging about.

The down side: the service was not very good and restaurant staff not very friendly. The towels in the bathroom were not clean and the rooms were filled with mosquitoes. We recommend that you avoid eating here. We found the food very pricey and quite awful. The dishes were not clean -- and we had to send back drinking glasses that had lipstick stains on them (ugh!). The breakfast (which cost us $10) was pathetic -- the bread was stale and hard, the yoghurt sour, and no fruit was offered -- the juice arrived in dirty glasses. Needless to say - we ate at a different place for breakfast the next day.

The receptionist was very sweet and arranged to have an extra mattress put in our room at no extra cost -- and also made sure we had a transfer to the airport.

We would probably stay here again - the location and rooms were nice) -- but we would not eat there ---

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SumanaNewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

Loved my brief stay at the FCC. Nice location overlooking the banks of the river in the heart of the restaurant and bar district and close to the Museum and Royal Palace. Streets are busy, busy, busy and you can rise above it all and retire to the seclusion of your fan cooled balcony or to the bustling bar and restaurant above. Great staff will rush you a cool g&t or a beer as you peruse the eclectic menu. Great wood fired pizzas for those who need that homely fix or a fine selection of other fare including some great Cambodian staples. Phnom Penh was busy that weekend so I had to move rooms which turn out to be an unexpected pleasure. The Bayon was a large, cool elegant room with a balcony for watching the street scene below. I loved it and didn't want to move, but Kbal Spean was in fact possibly nicer and with a corner balcony, 2 streets for the price of one! This is a small hotel with great character, great bed, great board and great fun. My new home in Phnom Penh.

  • Liked — They get everything right
  • Disliked — only 7 rooms so always busy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed at the FCC in early February and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There are 7 rooms overall (as opposed to 3 as has been written in other reviews before), they are very tastefully furnished and the double glazing keeps out the street noise - so nothing to worry there! The air con is fully adjustable. We stayed in the Mebon room so had no balcony, but would definitely consider booking a room with balcony next time - it is just lovely to sit and look out over the river in the evening and watch what's going on in the streets below. The bar and restaurant serve good food and drinks, with the advantage that due to its location on the top floors of the building you do not get hassled by hawkers (even though all you need to say is "no thank you" and they usually move on). If you feel like a change of scenerey, there are plenty of other restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the Royal Palace and the National Museum, and the staff will be more than happy to book drivers and bus & boat tickets for you. If we come back we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The location and atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiannauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

It's a wonderful hotel.
there are only 3 rooms and the one we stayed in was enormous, beautiful, fashion and cosy. the bathroom was lovely.
the restaurant is amazing... the food, the view and the service.
I only regret not satying longer... next time i'll stay here!

  • Liked — the room and the restaurant
  • Disliked — the water of the shower wasn't hot enough
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idependent_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

Great location right on the river, with an atmospheric bar with a very colonial air. Whilst it is somewhat ironic to stay in such comfort whilst kids are begging on the street (and doing quite well out of it by all accounts) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room with clean and classic design, great shower and nice balcony to watch all the action below!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank lushous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#99 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#90 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#61 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Phnom Penh

Property: FCC Phnom Penh
Address: 363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FCC Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers sweeping views of the Mekong River and all the comforts demanded of today's modern traveler.Renovated from a French colonial-era villa, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms overlooking the Mekong River to the east and the National Museum to the west. Each boutique hotel room is meticulously outfitted with high-speed Internet access and the latest modern conveniences.The FCC restaurant and bar are just upstairs, room service is at your door, and the intriguing cityscapes that define Phnom Penh are just outside.stepping outCentrally located, shopping and nightlife venues along the riverfront are plentiful. The Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and National Museum are all in walking distance from the hotel.In addition to the attractions, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel also offers easy access to several nearby sister companies, including Cafe Fresco, a coffee shop and deli located downstairs at the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your FCC Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Fcc Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Fcc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing