We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Phnom Penh”
Review of FCC Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FCC Phnom Penh
Ranked #107 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here twice on my travels throughout Cambodia and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location, room, food and staff were great. A huge thankyou to Dareth at reception who went out of her way to look after me as a single female traveller. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to phnom penh.
* yes it can get a little noisy at night but not everyone is fortunate enough to have a roof over their heads and thus some do sleep on the streets around the hotel. The staff really do their best to minimize the noise for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misselektric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm sure there are better hotels in Phnom Penh but few will have the same colonial ambience as this place. If you want a decent room somewhere central with a bit of history, this is it. If you're looking for swimming pools and spas, this isn't for you.

It's in a great location, next to the river, near loads of bars and restaurants (a bit noisy but not too bad), with tuk-tuks always on the corner outside to speed you off to your destination. Our room was nice enough: it had a large balcony and a very stylish bathroom (SE Asian style), though the main part of the room was perhaps a little tired. Internet worked well.

It's probably overpriced but you're paying for the location and the FCC aura. And the breakfast... oh, the inclusive breakfasts at the FCC restaurant are lovely. A choice of Western or Cambodian, both were delicious.

[And even if you don't stay here, be sure to visit the restaurant for food or cocktails, ideally in the early evening.]

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When living in Phnom Penh (2008, 2011), this was our a must place for Sunday 5pm happy hour time. The routine hasn't been broken for years. The restaurant is a bit pricy for the city, but a perfect place to spend couple of hours with a good drink, very nice view and just as nice service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed 1 night on 5 of September 2012, booked through www.booking.com, in Double Delux (Ta Phrom) room. Paid 70 USD / 55 EUR incl breakfast. It would be a good deal for new rooms of that caliber, but for the condition roms are they should charge half (minding market in Phnom Penh now).

Hotel is a 4 store building (3,5) on the river waterfront, but only second floor is occupied by rooms. First floor has a very very small reception, tucked behind the stairs, the rest is occupied by businesses not connected to hotel (like cafe and smth else). Third & fourth floors are restaurant and bar respectively.
Overall it feels that restaurant and bar are the main business and rooms are just complimentary. Difference between "delux" and "ordinary" rooms is the view to the river, that comes with a terrace. Here are plusses & minuses from my perspective:

Plusses:
- rooms are spacious and used to be nicely designed
- rooms are like shown on the picture (www.booking.com), but...not so new and clean in reality
- terrace with a fan
- bathrobe & slippers
- staff is attentive
- cooked breakfast is of good quality (but you have to pre-order it, no buffet)
- location is perfect = 1 block to National Museum, Royal Palace...

Minuses:
- rooms scream for renovation. Even a single layer of paint would help. Everything you see needs to be freshen-up: lights, mirrors, walls, tabletops, etc...
- there if a feeling that room is not clean, may be because it is run down
- no hairdryer
- rooms with river view = rooms with street view. Quite noisy all night. Windows do not block a fraction of that noise.
- no breakfast buffet. You have to order in the evening for certain time, or you can order in the morning but have to wait 20 - 30 min. (when it comes, it is good).
- we had big fat cockroach in our bathroom. yeah, i know, Southeast Asia, but still...

Overall it felt that hotel management did an effort, but towards superficial things (putting branded slippers & city guide) not towards essentials, like painting the walls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgaktv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a fantastic meal here when in phnom penh after reading about the FCC in the lonely planet! It's location right by the river is superb a great spot for people watching and enjoying the sunset! The food was great just what we wanted and great value or money. The drinks we also excellent, we spent one evening here enjoying cocktails at happy hour and loved the setting so much returned the next night for food! Somewhere everybody should go even of just for a drink!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rayray94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent four nights at the FCC, accomodation is not exactly 5 star but reasonable price, clean with good service and certainly worth staying at. The restaurant overlooks the river and offers great food and service, while the eggs benedict for breakfast (included in the tarriff) is worth staying for.

Room Tip: I god the Directors Suite and it was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was disappointing. No hot water for 2 days, someone actually tried to enter the apartment in the middle of the night as it is not part of the main FCC complex. There were 5 of us, so my daughter needed a matress, nothing like a spring poking out of the matress for her to roll on! The people were nice enough, despite my frustrations, however the worst part was a lady who sat on the pavement out front every night with her naked son stroking him begging for money. The tuk tuk drivers are quite aggressive and the laundry is extremely expensive. We went around the corner and got it done for a much cheaper price. I think the place needs a huge upgrade to meet the same standards found in other hotels in Asia. Happy hour is great, prices are good and atmosphere was nice. We were fortunate to be travelling with friends and family and tried to get out amongst Phnom Penh as much as possible.

Room Tip: Dont take the apartment! Try the other suites with views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,703 reviews
0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#221 of 281 in Phnom Penh
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#39 of 281 in Phnom Penh
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#113 of 281 in Phnom Penh
237 reviews
1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 281 in Phnom Penh
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Phnom Penh

Address: 363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $56 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FCC Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers sweeping views of the Mekong River and all the comforts demanded of today's modern traveler.Renovated from a French colonial-era villa, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms overlooking the Mekong River to the east and the National Museum to the west. Each boutique hotel room is meticulously outfitted with high-speed Internet access and the latest modern conveniences.The FCC restaurant and bar are just upstairs, room service is at your door, and the intriguing cityscapes that define Phnom Penh are just outside.stepping outCentrally located, shopping and nightlife venues along the riverfront are plentiful. The Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and National Museum are all in walking distance from the hotel.In addition to the attractions, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel also offers easy access to several nearby sister companies, including Cafe Fresco, a coffee shop and deli located downstairs at the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your FCC Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Fcc Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Fcc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing