We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sunday afternoon out”
Review of FCC Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FCC Phnom Penh
Ranked #95 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When living in Phnom Penh (2008, 2011), this was our a must place for Sunday 5pm happy hour time. The routine hasn't been broken for years. The restaurant is a bit pricy for the city, but a perfect place to spend couple of hours with a good drink, very nice view and just as nice service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed 1 night on 5 of September 2012, booked through www.booking.com, in Double Delux (Ta Phrom) room. Paid 70 USD / 55 EUR incl breakfast. It would be a good deal for new rooms of that caliber, but for the condition roms are they should charge half (minding market in Phnom Penh now).

Hotel is a 4 store building (3,5) on the river waterfront, but only second floor is occupied by rooms. First floor has a very very small reception, tucked behind the stairs, the rest is occupied by businesses not connected to hotel (like cafe and smth else). Third & fourth floors are restaurant and bar respectively.
Overall it feels that restaurant and bar are the main business and rooms are just complimentary. Difference between "delux" and "ordinary" rooms is the view to the river, that comes with a terrace. Here are plusses & minuses from my perspective:

Plusses:
- rooms are spacious and used to be nicely designed
- rooms are like shown on the picture (www.booking.com), but...not so new and clean in reality
- terrace with a fan
- bathrobe & slippers
- staff is attentive
- cooked breakfast is of good quality (but you have to pre-order it, no buffet)
- location is perfect = 1 block to National Museum, Royal Palace...

Minuses:
- rooms scream for renovation. Even a single layer of paint would help. Everything you see needs to be freshen-up: lights, mirrors, walls, tabletops, etc...
- there if a feeling that room is not clean, may be because it is run down
- no hairdryer
- rooms with river view = rooms with street view. Quite noisy all night. Windows do not block a fraction of that noise.
- no breakfast buffet. You have to order in the evening for certain time, or you can order in the morning but have to wait 20 - 30 min. (when it comes, it is good).
- we had big fat cockroach in our bathroom. yeah, i know, Southeast Asia, but still...

Overall it felt that hotel management did an effort, but towards superficial things (putting branded slippers & city guide) not towards essentials, like painting the walls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgaktv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a fantastic meal here when in phnom penh after reading about the FCC in the lonely planet! It's location right by the river is superb a great spot for people watching and enjoying the sunset! The food was great just what we wanted and great value or money. The drinks we also excellent, we spent one evening here enjoying cocktails at happy hour and loved the setting so much returned the next night for food! Somewhere everybody should go even of just for a drink!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rayray94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent four nights at the FCC, accomodation is not exactly 5 star but reasonable price, clean with good service and certainly worth staying at. The restaurant overlooks the river and offers great food and service, while the eggs benedict for breakfast (included in the tarriff) is worth staying for.

Room Tip: I god the Directors Suite and it was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was disappointing. No hot water for 2 days, someone actually tried to enter the apartment in the middle of the night as it is not part of the main FCC complex. There were 5 of us, so my daughter needed a matress, nothing like a spring poking out of the matress for her to roll on! The people were nice enough, despite my frustrations, however the worst part was a lady who sat on the pavement out front every night with her naked son stroking him begging for money. The tuk tuk drivers are quite aggressive and the laundry is extremely expensive. We went around the corner and got it done for a much cheaper price. I think the place needs a huge upgrade to meet the same standards found in other hotels in Asia. Happy hour is great, prices are good and atmosphere was nice. We were fortunate to be travelling with friends and family and tried to get out amongst Phnom Penh as much as possible.

Room Tip: Dont take the apartment! Try the other suites with views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was booked for the last night of a 3 week trip through Cambodia and we wanted to try something a bit different and special.

The positives of the room: Large, bed was very comfortable, the view over the river and watching the world go by was excellent (we had the room on the corner at the front), sitting on the balcony was fun. Negatives: The noise! whilst I totally expected the noise from the street (which could have been reduced if the windows/doors fitted and closed properly) the noise from furniture being dragged around in the bar upstairs was terrible and excruciating. It went on until late and started again at the crack of dawn. The door to the balcony was nearly impossible to open and close. The whole room is tired with large scratches on all the furniture. The bathroom was nice but the water from the rain shower spread to the area around the bath and trailed onto the floor, making everything in its path wet, as its obviously always wet the area is becoming black with mould ( efforts to scrub and keep clean are obvious but they are losing the battle!)

We had drinks then dinner in the first bar upstairs (you have to be quick to get a table) which was enjoyable and good quality. Initially service was apathetic from the bar staff but once seated a lovely older waitress looked after us very well. Breakfast was top quality but the waitress muddled our order with someone elses, it wasnt the mistake that mattered it was the fact she rushed back and grabbed the plates back and took them to whoever had ordered them...just as well we hadnt added salt and peper or started eating!

Reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

I wouldnt recommend or return to the FCC until they refurbish and do something about the noise issues. It really isnt worth what they charge. If you want to stay for the experience like we did make it a short stay as there are far better value for money hotels in PP.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgetteCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Checked into the front room overlooking the main street in PP was kept awake all night by the constant traffic and noise, Bed linen was all torn and at $105 a night definately not worth it
we moved to a back room a lot quiter but I cannot recommend accomodation at the FCC but the 2 bars are great fun and good value
the food is presented beautifully and enjoyed 2 evenings watching the world go by below
The staff who attended to our complaints were very apologetic and understanding and we appreciated their concern in dealing with us as no management was to be seen
By all means drop into the FCC have a drink or 2 upstairs and eat some great food but there are fair less expensive and better places to stay in PP

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances book the front room overlooking the River It is very noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VillaTaksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#216 of 277 in Phnom Penh
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#108 of 277 in Phnom Penh
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#86 of 277 in Phnom Penh
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Omana Hotel
Omana Hotel
#45 of 277 in Phnom Penh
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Phnom Penh

Address: 363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $61 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FCC Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers sweeping views of the Mekong River and all the comforts demanded of today's modern traveler.Renovated from a French colonial-era villa, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms overlooking the Mekong River to the east and the National Museum to the west. Each boutique hotel room is meticulously outfitted with high-speed Internet access and the latest modern conveniences.The FCC restaurant and bar are just upstairs, room service is at your door, and the intriguing cityscapes that define Phnom Penh are just outside.stepping outCentrally located, shopping and nightlife venues along the riverfront are plentiful. The Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and National Museum are all in walking distance from the hotel.In addition to the attractions, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel also offers easy access to several nearby sister companies, including Cafe Fresco, a coffee shop and deli located downstairs at the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your FCC Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Fcc Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Fcc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing