We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingos Hotel
Ranked #194 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

10 of us stay from 6 - 10 jan 2012.
1.Very good location all main place are walking distance.
2.The hotel manager Mr.Bona and all other staff are very friendly.
3.The room are ok.Anyway why u need to stay at room if go vacation just sleep few hour.
4.u can have nice drink outside the hotel they have 2 set table.

If want to have food pls go any shop where the price is display.if u just sit at the restoran and oder food without ask price 1st than dont get shock when the bil is came.

I am sure Flamingos Hotel is nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajkanth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    33
    11
    23
See reviews for
2
19
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The 2 most positive points at the Flamingos are 1st the people working there and 2nd the location. The employees, from the front desk to the bar going through the cleaning ladies, all people are so nice, friendly, smiling and helpful that I would go there only for them ! Great people !!! The location ... if you go there for a good night life (good bars and discotheques), the Flamingos definitively has a good spot. You can reach many good places in less than 5 minutes walking distance. If you want to go to the seaside, it will take you less than 10 minutes and 2$ by tuktuk. Just in front of the hotel, you also have a very nice spa where you can get good professional massages. Now, who says good night life also says some noise so if you have a room giving on the street, it can be a bit difficult to fall asleep ...
The rooms ... well, the rooms could be renewed. You can find better rooms for the same price but not with the same people, of course ! The price is still fair, the rooms are clean and they all have aircon, a TV and a safe and you also get a free pick up from the airport if you request it which is a very good service.

I like this place and will definitively return !

Room Tip: Ask for a room not giving on the street which can be noisy due to nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcTisserand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Basic, worned rooms with poor value (standard room 25USD). Rooms at the back of the building are less noisy.
Free WIFI + Free Airport pick-up

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DEMOSTHENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Basic but good rooms, value for money I guess.
Location is between the river and central market, it's possible to walk to both.
Near some nightlife (Heart of darkness disco and some bars)
Free airport pickup is included, as well as a basic breakfast.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I have stayed here on a number of occasions. The staff is tops, the food Ok. My room is quet. The surroundings are the pits - full of bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Hi, to break the myth about the former reviews read below, I am a 32 year old guy, apparently attractive and happily married, who stays at Flamingo's, and loves it... I travel on a monthly basis to Phnom Penh for the United Nations, and am familiar with the hotel circuit there. After reading some of the whining comments below, I put together a short list of "is / isn't" about the hotel:
What the hotel is:
Yes, this hotel is guest friendly; yes, it is a little noisy; yes, it is full of older single men who mind their own business; yes, it is located walking distance to most places you would want to go to; yes, it is clean, safe and the staff is friendly (tip the guys a couple of $ and they'll take care of you), and yes, you will not be bothered by annoying "know-it all backpackers".
What this hotel is not:
No, the hotel is not a brothel; no, it is not ideal for single traveling women; no, comfort is not their main concern; no, the food is no Michelin restaurant; no, you will not make "buddies" with the other hotel residents, and no, the staff will not be honest if you're a whining arrsehole... In short, it is not ideal for people not accustomed to the way things work in Cambodia.

To people below complaining about the noise pollution below as well as the expected European standards, I say this: this is CAMBODIA, not the USA... If you don't like it, don't come... And the hotel is $20 a night, so don't expect to stay at the Ritz and eat gastronomic food! I hope this helped...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank EazyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Mr. Bona, the hotel's manager, was consistent as always, booking the free airport pick-up and holding a room in the high floor city view location requested. An ANZ ATM is still in the lobby, if out of cash several others very close to the hotel. The shaded patio tables and chairs out front are very comfortable. Bedding and pillows are quite comfortable. Must be a new chef in the kitchen as the complimentary breakfasts are better than last time. Crappy white breakfast toast, and suspicious city water are still used to make the coffee; why not some real bread and a real multi-stage water filter? Don't forget to tip the breakfast ladies, especially the breakfast bar manager> she's always cheerful and attentive in service. Major thumbs up to housekeeping, don't forget to give them a few dollars as they work very hard! As a long stay vacationer, housekeeping learned my habits and would make-up the room while I was downstairs having breakfast, checking AM emails on the 2 free computers. Note: the internet grinds to a standstill all over town about dinner time and all of Saturday evenings. Safety boxes are not functioning in all rooms and I was issued the backup key to open and close my safety box; not being able to use a code to do this, and having to keep track of the key kind of defeats the purpose. Security and personal safety in the hotel was very good, but please invest in some new safety boxes. New QG disco next door opened and then closed. New Pontoon disco across the street now open and blasts serious bass thumps that prevents deep sleep until 4AM. The Heart of Darkness club, highly recommended, and the fascinating WalkAbout Hotel bar, are just around the corner. Next time I will request a room that is "low and inside" to get away from the hip hop noise from Pontoon. In short, give up the high floor view for the more peaceful half, first, or second floor rooms. As concluding my last review over 2 yrs ago, I could live at Flamingos month on end no problem. Perfect location and great staff.

Room Tip: Low floor away from QG disco request when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Circuit Hotel
Circuit Hotel
#189 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#163 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#122 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#190 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#191 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Hotel

Property: Flamingos Hotel
Address: 172 #30 Street | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming hotel, in the best location in town, in the Famous street #172, Near by Central market, indepedance Monument, River Side, Bars, Restaurant ,nightclubs and bars This Pleassant Hotel, in THE HEART OF THE CITY, Secure, with Exclusive packages included gym/sauna/fitness an up coming Sushi bar on the Private Roof Top. Our staff will help you, in any case, bus tickets, travel plan etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingos Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing