We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something odd”
Review of Flamingos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingos Hotel
Ranked #190 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed March 26, 2011

They describe this as brand new - it isn't. In fact is very run down. I stayed in a deluxe room - it had bars on the windows, no shower, a leaky bath and furniture that were about to fall apart. The door was incredibly flimsy so you do not get any feeling of security in the room.

More after staying in the hotel I found my credit card had been cloned as this hotel was the only place I used it ...So if you do stay there stick to cash.

Also the hotel seems to be a favourite of older single guys who can often be found with younger local girls so unless this is your thing the atmosphere may not be to your liking.

On the plus side it is just around the corner from the Heart of Darkness which is a lot of fun, and the Palace etc is only a 10 min walk

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Flamingos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

stayed here 2 nights,,got picked up at the airport for free with no problems,,booked a room with a bath $35,,the bathroom was very big compared to all other hotels i stayed in,,and plenty of hot water and lovely bath...tv channels were not great i thought but the room was clean and looked new and fresh,small rooms though..close to the nightspots which are back from the riverfront...massage across the street with a gym attached,ten yards up from the hotel at the junction sits shanghai bar and across the blackcat bar and another 15 yards away is the walkabout and 20 yards the other way is the most famous or the infamous heartofdarkness and a few other ones besides....never seen any woman standing about the hotel or even anyone drinking in it..the breakfast isnt too bad as you have a choice of about 6 things with tea or coffee...cant fault this hotel except sometimes the noise from the corner bars if your a very light sleeper...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

It was about my third time in this hotel, not much had changed over the years.

The rooms: pretty basic, but functional. good aircon, hot water works too. tv has only a few english channels, wifi access works ok.

rooftop bar is great for a couple of drinks looking over phnom penh.

the restaurant serves decent food but lacks charm and the breakfast is simple.

in front of the hotel are two tables with comfy chairs where you can eat and drink too or chat with the friendly owner.

the flamingo has its own ATM in the lobby, guarded by an armed security guy.

the location is great for the nightminded crowd, who can do a lot by just walking. no need for motos or tuktuks.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I felt inclined to write this as people seem to slate this hotel.

First off it is not a brothel! I did not see one prostitute in the lobby plying for business, the only girls that came into hotel were ones which were accompanied by men as a girlfriend would.

The rooms were a nothing special, and as for thefts, I had at least $500 which I left in my safe for 3 days with passport etc, and nothing was taken.

A tip I always do anyways is leave the do not disturb sign on the door for short stays with TV on, this would put off most intruders.

There is an abundance of Tuk Tuk drivers outside, which we paid $20 a day to take us to sights such as Killing Fields and S-21 Torture School, both worthy sights but I would never take a child under 18 to S-21 as extremely harrowing.

There is an excellent spa, sauna and steam room opposite hotel for $5 a session or $6 plus tip for a sports massage too, the gym wasn't great but the rest was and certainly value for money.

I would stay again in Flamingos in Phnom Penh for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The only positive thing to mention is I like the location with bars and places to eat. Otherwise rooms are not value for money. I left my broken necklace (suppose to be fixed) on the bed, but dissapeared when I returned to my room. The maids just mentioned that they did not see it. Definitely honesty is not there and management just took it easy. Complete lack of responsibility. I will still stay here sometimes but have to be extremely careful and alert but will definitely not reccomend to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

While it is located in a seedy area with lots of dodgy bars nearby, I liked Flamingos. Make no mistake, the hotel is pretty basic and shows it's age. Certainly no luxury here, just a decent room, kept reasonably clean. I have stayed in their standard and superior rooms, and there is probably not much difference between them.
Nice features are the decent breakfast included in the price and the rooftop bar which is a nice spot to relax in the early evening. There is free WIFI throughout and a business centre in the lobby for guests.
Not for couples, single women or families, but a nice reasonable hotel for backpackers and the non-fussy. But be warned, you will see some strange things around the hotel at night!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Picked up and reurned to airport by hotel staff at low cost.
Nice lobby/bar and attached pub with really friendly girl staff.
Rooms pretty basic but very reasonable price.
Suggest you breakfast at a bar round the corner.
Very friendly and helpful staff in hotel and next door (Black Cat)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#111 of 270 in Phnom Penh
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 270 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#28 of 270 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#54 of 270 in Phnom Penh
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 270 in Phnom Penh
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 270 in Phnom Penh
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Hotel

Address: 172 #30 Street | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming hotel, in the best location in town, in the Famous street #172, Near by Central market, indepedance Monument, River Side, Bars, Restaurant ,nightclubs and bars This Pleassant Hotel, in THE HEART OF THE CITY, Secure, with Exclusive packages included gym/sauna/fitness an up coming Sushi bar on the Private Roof Top. Our staff will help you, in any case, bus tickets, travel plan etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingos Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing