We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic oasis”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

In the middle of traffic jam and dusty roads, this little oasis hides behind a tall wall giving you a true surprise as soon as you enter the gate. The pool is surrounded by a few canopy sun beds and a few breakfast tables, with the bar serving food and excellent $2 cocktails during happy hour. The atmosphere is simply fantastic here and the food and drinks were actually the best we had in Phnom Penh!!! Staff was very helpful and there's even free laundry service available on a day-to-day basis. Rooms were clean and very spacious. We will definitely return to Anice Villa if in Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 409 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was first time to Cambodia. We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room is very nice, spacious with many facilities. It also has a great pool and a nice bar and restaurant with good food. The menu is limited but the food is organic and good. We ate and had drinks next to the pool. Happy hour was great value for the money. The staff was very helpful and informative. They provided us a lot of information as well as some travel tips. Good hotel for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davidnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Phnom Penh can be a shock and Anise Villa was quiet, clean and conveniently located in the otherwise chaotic PP. Tuk tuks were always available and it was actually enjoyable to ride 10-15 mins to evening restaurants. We hired cars for the other tours and were really glad that we did. Hotel staff always asked us where we wanted to go and then translated to the drivers and we had no issues. The staff were all very attentive and efficient, room was clean and 5 free pieces of laundry per guest each day, are you kidding me?! That was awesome! Great value, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent service provided by the staff there. It a good place for people who wish to have a quiet place to relax after touring or a hetic day at work.All request are promply attended to by their friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at Anise Villa for nine nights in early March 2014. What an extremely friendly and comfortable place. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Everything I asked for was provided quickly. Room service was fast and efficient. I mentioned that wi-fi was weak in my room, and the next day they installed a new router right outside my room! It was my birthday while I was staying there, and I was rather missing my family. The staff baked a small cake, and came out smiling and sang me a song. So sweet. The pool is small, so don't expect something to exercise in - but it was perfect for relaxing and cooling off after a hot sticky day in the city. The massage service was excellent. The daily free laundry was a huge help. The room was modern, clean, comfortable. Overall, this is a great place to stay and outstanding value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaMonicaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent service and the staff were great people. Catered to our every need. It was my wife's birthday whilst there and after speaking with them they arranged for our bed to be covered in roses saying 'happy birthday' as well as 5 scoops of sorbet.. Her favourite! Was an easy time with little to worry about. The only issue was our shower flooding as the drain wasn't working but that was quickly seen to

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShanHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After read all the good review I was excepting there a much better hotel...
A bit disappointing...
service middle quality
pool to small
food a bit expensive
location nothing around this hotel you have to take a tuk tuk

Price ok with the start promotion
All in one not too bad but should be better option in the city to consider.... I will check a other option after coming back from siem reap

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FonzieB917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear FonzieB917

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have expected. We have always pride ourselves on the quality of our service and welcome constructive criticisms. We wish you could have been more specific so that we may correct any shortcomings you might have noticed in the service. Except for the bigger hotels, our pool size is pretty much on a par with most boutique hotels in Phnom Penh, if not larger. As for our menu, prices range from $3 to $8.

If you consider the services offered at the Anise Villa, such as laundry, wifi, fitness center, library of books and dvds all provided free of charge, and an in-house spa, our rates is much more competitive than most other boutique hotels in Phnom Penh.

This said, we appreciate your review and will do our best to provide our guests with many Happy Days and nights at the Anise Villa.

All the best,
Anise Villa Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 274 in Phnom Penh
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $47 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing