We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice and Quiet Place”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent service provided by the staff there. It a good place for people who wish to have a quiet place to relax after touring or a hetic day at work.All request are promply attended to by their friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 411 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at Anise Villa for nine nights in early March 2014. What an extremely friendly and comfortable place. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Everything I asked for was provided quickly. Room service was fast and efficient. I mentioned that wi-fi was weak in my room, and the next day they installed a new router right outside my room! It was my birthday while I was staying there, and I was rather missing my family. The staff baked a small cake, and came out smiling and sang me a song. So sweet. The pool is small, so don't expect something to exercise in - but it was perfect for relaxing and cooling off after a hot sticky day in the city. The massage service was excellent. The daily free laundry was a huge help. The room was modern, clean, comfortable. Overall, this is a great place to stay and outstanding value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaMonicaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent service and the staff were great people. Catered to our every need. It was my wife's birthday whilst there and after speaking with them they arranged for our bed to be covered in roses saying 'happy birthday' as well as 5 scoops of sorbet.. Her favourite! Was an easy time with little to worry about. The only issue was our shower flooding as the drain wasn't working but that was quickly seen to

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShanHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After read all the good review I was excepting there a much better hotel...
A bit disappointing...
service middle quality
pool to small
food a bit expensive
location nothing around this hotel you have to take a tuk tuk

Price ok with the start promotion
All in one not too bad but should be better option in the city to consider.... I will check a other option after coming back from siem reap

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FonzieB917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear FonzieB917

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have expected. We have always pride ourselves on the quality of our service and welcome constructive criticisms. We wish you could have been more specific so that we may correct any shortcomings you might have noticed in the service. Except for the bigger hotels, our pool size is pretty much on a par with most boutique hotels in Phnom Penh, if not larger. As for our menu, prices range from $3 to $8.

If you consider the services offered at the Anise Villa, such as laundry, wifi, fitness center, library of books and dvds all provided free of charge, and an in-house spa, our rates is much more competitive than most other boutique hotels in Phnom Penh.

This said, we appreciate your review and will do our best to provide our guests with many Happy Days and nights at the Anise Villa.

All the best,
Anise Villa Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Not thinking about laundry makes a huge difference to me when I travel. Anise Hotel and the new Anise Villa Boutique Hotel seem to be the only hotels offering five pieces of free laundry per guest a day. I had originally booked the Anise Hotel, but when I heard their new sister property had a pool, I asked to change my reservation to the new place. This was kindly and efficiently done. We liked Anise Villa so much that we extended our stay twice, and so tried out three rooms - 201, a suite with a living room, two patios and two TVs; 202, a standard room with a double bed and no patio; and 303, a studio with a double bed, a kitchenette stocked with dishes and cookware, and a small patio. Each room had a safe, a mini fridge, at least one desk area, excellent air-conditioning, and a shower with very nice water pressure and lots of hot water. A variety of breakfast sets were included in the room price; we liked the oatmeal, muesli, fried rice, and eggs with toast sets.

The Anise Villa Boutique Hotel has a beautiful pool adjacent to the dining area, with several pairs of lounges against the front wall of the hotel grounds. It also has a small library decorated with art; a computer is available there. The souvenir shop has a nice selection of items. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have an elevator, but there are rooms on the ground floor if this is a problem. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and have great pride in the hotel. The housekeeping staff starts early, so if you plan to sleep in, the "do not disturb" sign is a must.

While the hotel is a bit isolated, there is a small market around the corner to the left. We took the opportunity to try out nearby restaurants. Our favorite tuk-tuk driver outside the hotel, Vireak, did his best to find the all the places we sought over our two-week stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent location in a cul de sac with only local traffic - salubrious area with some diplomatic residences close by. Its very residential so you will need transport to visit tourist sites and riverside but the trade off is the tranquility

Newly opened and really friendly helpful staff - the GM Sophal is omni present and always ready to help and offer advice. Lots of nice touches like near the entry/departure gate is a sign board detailing recommended prices for tuk tuks to various locations - very helpful for those not familiar with tuk tuk prices or adverse to bargining

Rooms are fine -with good walk in showers

F&B is surprisingly good for a hotel of this size - passion fruit juice and Mama's dumplings are to die for .
there is in house massage which is excellent - understand the staff are from Mr and Miss Care massage which is also owned by the hotel

Despite the location which might deter first time visitors I would throughly recommend staying

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51intercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This new hotel is really nice but really too far from the city center.
You have nothing around this area. You can choose to walk in direction street 278 (around 15mn and dangerous at night around street 400) or take a tuk tuk to go to the river.
The service was fine but the room decoration is a mix between khmer and modern strange.
Was ok for the rates (special opening rates) but the future rates are much too much expensive!
I will prefer to go in a hotel with a better location for my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germaninaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Germaninaustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Anise Villa with us and we are glad that the quality of our facilities and service has met your expectations.

The Anise Villa is located in the city center near embassies and NGOs in one of the more upscale neighborhood in Phnom Penh, so security is actually less of an issue here. The Rambutan Resort, the Frangipani Hotel and the Governor’s House are all within a couple of blocks from us. As frequent visitors already know, Phnom Penh’s cityscape is changing day by day and there are a numbers of others restaurants, stores that have opened complementing the existing ones around our hotel.

As for the artwork at the Anise Villa, our private collection of modern Cambodian art includes a large number of work by Sopheap Pich who is considered to be Cambodia’s most prominent contemporary artist and whose work can be found at the New York Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim. Still, as the saying goes, art is a matter of taste…. I guess...

From all your reviews on Tripadvisor, we are sorry that you did not enjoy any of the places you stayed at or visited in Phnom Penh. While most visitors love Phnom Penh for its small size and its quaintness despite the rapid development that is going on now in the city, for others who are unused to the seemingly chaotic nature of Asian cities, it can sometimes be a difficult place to navigate. We hope you will give Phnom Penh another chance on another trip.

All the best,
Anise Villa Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#4 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $47 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing