We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in Phnom Penh”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Phnom Penh is a very busy, noisy city and the new Anise Villa Boutique Hotel on street 400 provides a moment of calm and relaxation. Happy hour cocktails can be enjoyed in the walled garden and pool area. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff superlative. Always friendly, helpful with our faltering attempts to speak Khmer, and there is a wide range of breakfasts included with the price of the room. As the hotel is not in the main tourist area it is more quiet and conducive to a good night's sleep, We would thoroughly recommend anyone passing through Phnom Penh to stay at the new Anise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I spent six weeks working in Phnom Penh. Anise Villa is lovely and I can and did recommend it to others who have since stayed there. The staff made me feel welcome and did their best to fill both my business and personal needs and requests. My room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The excellent breakfasts and the five pieces of laundry daily which were included were greatly appreciated.

The hotel was a bit out of the city - the positive side of that was a quiet environment. The downside was that every time I wanted to eat elsewhere during the six weeks, it was a $3 tuk-tuk ride each way downtown. This I hadn't expected since my correspondence with the hotel prior to my arrival promised a free shuttle to and from their sister hotel near Independence Monument, much more centrally located. Since my original reservation at the downtown location would have required me to change rooms midway through my stay, I was offered the Villa as an alternative with this perk which was denied. On the positive side, when my reservation was changed, I was upgraded to a mini-suite, a room with a kitchenette. The room wasn't yet completely outfitted when I arrived. During my stay, they added a gas cooktop (but no pots), a full length mirror, a chair for the patio and then a patio table -- both of the latter disappearing near the end of my stay and seen on the patio outside a second floor room. I was able to laugh at the quirkiness, and fully enjoyed my home away from home, but someone accustomed to a well-established hotel with full business services might be less pleased.

Room Tip: This hotel is a walk up so if your room is on the third floor, you'll have daily exercise. I tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Anise Villa at the beginning of a two year stint as volunteers in Phnom Penh. The facilities were great - clean, spacious, good food and very friendly staff. We were learning how to speak Khmer and the staff were fantastic, helping us and putting up with our many and varied attempts while encouraging us all the way. We had a short trip away and have come back to a very warm and welcoming reception. We would definitely recommend Anise Villa to anyone visiting Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights here split between two rooms, both were really nice with all of the comforts you would expect in a Western hotel. My friend stayed in a third room which was really cool with mats and pillows on either side of a huge platform king size bed frame built into the architecture, perfect for watching one of the dvds available in the lobby on the in room DVD player!

The complimentary breakfast was really good and made more enjoyable by the poolside dining area surrounded by a lovely garden and overhanging flowers and trees. The menu has an amazing mango crumble dessert with kampot pepper that is unique and delicious.

The staff was friendly and very helpful! I really have no complaints except they were fully booked on what would have been my fourth night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved our stay at Anise Villa. Although the tuk-tuk driver had some problems finding the way, when we arrived Anise Villa we didn't regret it for one second. Warm and welcoming staff who provided us whith everything we needed, nice and big rooms, a beautiful pool area and a great spa. It was the perfect place to stay after sightseeing in busy Phnom Penh. The breakfast included was also great and a drink by the pool in the evening is highly recomended. There is no elevator in the building, but the staff help you carrying all our luggage, so that was no problem. It's located in a quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle in the streets. The spa offes great value for money. Free drycleaning of 5 items a day topped it off:)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Missmorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed with our family (2 parents, 2 kids) at the Anise Villa Hotel for 3 nights. As we first wanted to stay in the 204 or the Kabiki hotel but booked too late we chose this hotel based on the few but very good ratings/comments. And: we were not disappointed. The hotel is brand new and everything is very tidy. The rooms as well as the bath rooms are spacious and feature everything you need. A/C is working very well. The four of us had a twin bed room which is fine for a family of four.

When we were at the hotel we spent most of the time at the pool/bar area. It is designed in a modern way and is also absolutely tidy. The pool is very refreshing! Here, you can also take your breakfast, which was included in our rate. You can choose from baguette/toast with honey and jam (which was better than in most of the places before), fresh fruits with muesli, bacon and eggs, etc. Everything was very good, again.

Besides the good room etc. we really enjoyed the good service and friendlyness of the staff. They organized our Vietnam visa within 24h and helped us with everything else we needed (directions for the tuk-tuk, restaurant bookings).

Regarding the location: it is a little bit off the main tourist areas (10-15 min drive with tuk-tuk) but it is close to the Boeung Keng Kang area – one of the upcoming and interesting quarters with good restaurants and some shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent last weekend at the brand new Anise Villa. I found it on TA but actually had my Tuk Tuk driver take me for a look before booking. I was delighted with the third room they showed me -rm 301 on the top floor with a big terrace and sliding glass wall for $75 a night. Very clean and excellent AC and quiet at night.

The staff were all nice but maybe a bit inexperienced in hotel services as they lacked basic knowledge in travelers ordinary questions - referring me to seek the advise of my Tuk Tuk driver instead. But they will learn.
Overall I did not need much help anyway and my room was a good value. They provide free laundry and did a nice job.
There is a good restaurant on the way to the riverside called Friends, that trains former street kids to be in this industry. I met and visited with several people while sipping a glass of wine and waiting on a table. Don't leave if you see a wait - it was fast and fun to chat with other travelers.
I went to a great great beautiful restaurant right on the waterfront but can't recall the name. It is quite large and beautifully lighted inside and out with comfy lounge seating outside where we dined. Hope you can figure out which and enjoy.
Hope this helps,
Jana

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 281 in Phnom Penh
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 281 in Phnom Penh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,255 reviews
1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#21 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $50 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing