We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk from central market, great breakfast, not so clean hotel”
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #201 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
sunshine coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walk from central market, great breakfast, not so clean hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2009

The hotel is just across the street from the Central market (which i have to say has more choice than the Russian Markets), the restaurant served beautiful breakfast every morning. The rooms were nice but getting to them the corridoor carpets were stained, the lifts would only fit max 3 people. The staff were very friendly.

It was an ok hotel, i wouldn't reccommend it to others, usually if more than 2 Tuk Tuk drivers do not know where they are going (one took us in the complete opposite direction for 15 minutes) then there is something wrong with it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodielovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    58
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
38
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

This was a mediocre hotel in the most hectic part of town. We couldn't even cross the road because of the busy traffic. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful but the hotel itself was very old and not very well maintained. The only nice thing about the room was the handy slippers they provided. Breakfast was slightly below average. Luckily we stayed for only a night.

  • Liked — The complimentary slippers in the room
  • Disliked — The location and the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirix42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

WE went to this hotel due to the other hotel we had booked was booked out on arrival...not funny. We we given a welcome drink on arival in a nicely airconditioned lobby instantly feeling more relaxed than we had been. The recption staff were very friendly and polite giving us a discount of 30% the same as an on line booking so that was nice. The room was quite large and every thing was explained to us , how to work the tv and air con etc , first hotel to do this on our trip. We stayed 2 nights and we exited cambodia with a good feeling well done The Diamond Hotel.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank garyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We found this hotel in a guide book and it looked nice from the outside. The room rate we were quoted was $35 for a standard twim room and this was what was in their leaflet on reception also. The next morning we went to pay the bill and they tried to charge us $45. When we questioned this they said it was because we had stayed in a superior room even though we asked for a standard. Then they tried to justify the extra cost because we had breakfast even though the leaflet clearly stated all prices include breakfast. After 30 mins of arguing our case and having to deal with 3 different people they finally relented and we paid the originally agreed $35. The room we styae din was clean and airy but the toiletries were half used and I didnt think the room justified the $45 it was apprently worth. The Asia Hotel across the road was half the price and provided more amenities in the room price too!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#101 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Palace Hotel
Asia Palace Hotel
#182 of 267 in Phnom Penh
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#196 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#63 of 267 in Phnom Penh
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
#122 of 267 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#128 of 267 in Phnom Penh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Property: Diamond Hotel
Address: 172-184 Monivong Blvd, Sangkat Phsar Thmey Ii, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAMOND HOTEL is a 3 stars hotel which centrally located on Monivong Blvd., And in the heart of Phnom Penh city , Kingdom of Cambodia. Only few minutes by a walk-you able to reach to Central market, restaurant, bank, conference center and the shopping center in Phnom Penh. Diamond hotel has comprise of 80 comfortable guest rooms with wooden decoration style. Tourists and business travelers will enjoy our services and facilities in traditional Cambodian hospitality at DIAMOND HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing