We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for one or two nights”
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #210 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“good hotel for one or two nights”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is ten blocks away from the action. Is ok, but it has many stairs and no elevator. Poor breakfast. The rooms is nice but the towels were crap. Staff just ok, some of them are nice, some are not. One guy from the front desk arranged a tuk tuk to take us to the bus that was going to SIEM REAP, but he never appeared, it was not a problem, though, we got another one on the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antochiarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hm_diamondhotel, General Manager at Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing Diamond Hotel as your accommodation in Phnom Penh. We are very glad to see your comment in order to make our improvement. As your comment, we would like to inform you that we currently have 2 elevators but seem a bit small as 320Kg old version and our new 800kg is in process of installation as we already informed in our information.

For breakfast currently seem to be limited since our main kitchen is in upgrading. For towel, we will improve on it as some were bit old and used when full occupancy and extra towel were requested. We are not sure about your communication over your trip to Siem Reap but there are many choices of transport around the hotel.

Once again, we do hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future at Diamond Hotel.

With best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    59
    19
    18
See reviews for
16
39
33
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very good location right by central market.
Very nice room, but very poor breakfast.
There was building work going on whilst we were there (fitting a new lift) which didnt affect us.

However a warning to those with small children, we were on the 7th floor and the lift shaft was left open and not barried off or no signs put up to warn of this. There was literally nothing stopping someone from falling 7 floors! Its scary just thinking about it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hm_diamondhotel, General Manager at Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you so much for your kind support to Diamond Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind comment with tripadviser so that our management will seek for immediate improvement. As per your comment regarding to the breakfast we would like to inform you that during your stay here in April 2013, our food is limited due to we are at the beginning stage of upgrading our restaurant and kitchen, so for next trip hopefully you will enjoy our breakfast.

For the lift shaft, we already took an action to put the barrier and sign after there is an alert from our guest since the worker moved it out without telling us. However, our new lift will be ready in this coming June 2013.

With this improvement, our management strongly believe that you will give us a chance to serve you in the near future with our upgrading facilities.

With best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is just a short ride in a tuk tuk from the river and main attractions. If you want to be away from the hustle of the river this was really nice. The staff is very accommodating and the included breakfast is adequate to start your day. The rooms are very large as is the bathroom. The elevator is quite small but we managed just fine with our group and others in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvhclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Diamond hotel.
Staff were helpful and rooms were huge and well appointed.
Great breakfast included.
Elevator is small but they were building a new larger one when we were there.
Tuk Tuk to the river area was only a couple of $.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice but dated hotel, used by a lot of our groups.

The location is a bit far out from town. Although it's on a main street, the only nearby attraction is the central market. Anything else - the palace, riverfront, temples etc - is a tuk tuk ride away, though it's only a dollar per person.

Our room overlooked the street and had a massive billboard light shining in when we tried to sleep. The curtain didn't fit the window so we had to pin it shut with our bags. We also had very noisy aircon that kept us awake and the safety deposit box isn't bolted down so you could carry it out of the room!

Good points:
- Breakfast was a decent buffet in the hotel lobby.
- Staff were nice and friendly.
- Rooms are very spacious.

Bad points:
- The lifts are tiny and only fit two people, so be prepared to get tired of queueing and use the stairs every day. They are currently upgrading the hotel with a new lift so hopefully it will improve soon.
- Wifi only worked in reception

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It was ok with an average breakfast, free wifi and quite large rooms. The hotel is dated and elevator is very small and slow. There are renovations in progress to address these issues. You may wish to find something closer to the attractions and restaurants on the river as this is about a 20 minute walk from that area. It is located on a busy street in a commercial area with few amenities for tourists nearby. It is very close to the central market.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a hotel for group tourist ok... if for honeymoon, romance and business trip..I think please skip it. I feel a good service only but the room that I stayed was named luxury type... I think just a big size only. Interior and bathroom are quite lower than I expected

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutep L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#103 of 269 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#199 of 269 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#60 of 269 in Phnom Penh
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asia Palace Hotel
Asia Palace Hotel
#183 of 269 in Phnom Penh
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
#114 of 269 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 269 in Phnom Penh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Property: Diamond Hotel
Address: 172-184 Monivong Blvd, Sangkat Phsar Thmey Ii, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAMOND HOTEL is a 3 stars hotel which centrally located on Monivong Blvd., And in the heart of Phnom Penh city , Kingdom of Cambodia. Only few minutes by a walk-you able to reach to Central market, restaurant, bank, conference center and the shopping center in Phnom Penh. Diamond hotel has comprise of 80 comfortable guest rooms with wooden decoration style. Tourists and business travelers will enjoy our services and facilities in traditional Cambodian hospitality at DIAMOND HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing