We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Hotel, But a Bit Far From Town”
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #201 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Simple Hotel, But a Bit Far From Town”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice but dated hotel, used by a lot of our groups.

The location is a bit far out from town. Although it's on a main street, the only nearby attraction is the central market. Anything else - the palace, riverfront, temples etc - is a tuk tuk ride away, though it's only a dollar per person.

Our room overlooked the street and had a massive billboard light shining in when we tried to sleep. The curtain didn't fit the window so we had to pin it shut with our bags. We also had very noisy aircon that kept us awake and the safety deposit box isn't bolted down so you could carry it out of the room!

Good points:
- Breakfast was a decent buffet in the hotel lobby.
- Staff were nice and friendly.
- Rooms are very spacious.

Bad points:
- The lifts are tiny and only fit two people, so be prepared to get tired of queueing and use the stairs every day. They are currently upgrading the hotel with a new lift so hopefully it will improve soon.
- Wifi only worked in reception

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    58
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
38
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It was ok with an average breakfast, free wifi and quite large rooms. The hotel is dated and elevator is very small and slow. There are renovations in progress to address these issues. You may wish to find something closer to the attractions and restaurants on the river as this is about a 20 minute walk from that area. It is located on a busy street in a commercial area with few amenities for tourists nearby. It is very close to the central market.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a hotel for group tourist ok... if for honeymoon, romance and business trip..I think please skip it. I feel a good service only but the room that I stayed was named luxury type... I think just a big size only. Interior and bathroom are quite lower than I expected

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutep L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was under construction when I travelled to Phnom Penh. The elevators were extremely small and slow, but I think they were constructing new ones, which will be good for other guests.

Rooms were spacious. Comfortable pillows. Beds were a little hard. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty decent. These guys had a chef making omelettes and eggs to your liking.

A little out of the way for most attractions in the city but its only a short tuk tuk away. Overall, it's a good place for budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamCoffeeKicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room for a budget hotel. Very close to Central Market and not that far from some major sites like the national museum, either on foot or by tuk tuk. Hotel is still under renovation and they were working in the hallway on my floor, but I noticed they'd thoughtfully stuffed towels under each door to keep the dust in the rooms down. G Adventures really does a nice job of finding clean, quiet and comfortable hotels that are right in the middle or close to the interesting parts of town. The staff are friendly, although when I mentioned that the room safe wasn't bolted down and that I wanted my passport kept in their hotel safe I got quite an argument from one of them about how this wasn't necessary as their CCTV would catch anyone carrying a safe down the hallway. (I ended up keeping my passport in a hidden compartment in my luggage for this hotel stay.) The free wi-fi was pretty weak in my room. I got a much stronger signal from the hotel across the street - I probably should have asked for their password! Good breakfast, although there was a large group of business types staying there and the kitchen kept running out of coffee/tea cups and took ages to get a batch washed and out again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAllijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights and from the moment I pulled up to the door, the porter was out like a flash, reception had all the deatils quickly and the porters talk my luggage to the room>This was done with smiles from all. When I wanted to tip it wasaccepted gratefully.
The room though old dtyle, was clean, quiet and comfortable.
The breakfast was great and the omeletted faultless.
I had dinner there and four of us had 5 share courses and drinks(no alchohol) but with our drinks $18 US. Nicely served, good quality and quantity. Not one complaint.
Ihad an expired KMER sim card and Cheang at reception went out and got me one, with a smile.

Room Tip: I jut booked a deluxe through Agoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This rooms are very large, so are the bathrooms. It is quiet hotel although situated on a major street. It is walking distance from the central market. It is possible to walk to the royal palace and the riverside but it might take a short half hour.
Overall cleanliness was good. There is a safe in the room but anyone can run away with it, it is not bolted down.
Breakfast was decent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperienceWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Palace Hotel
Asia Palace Hotel
#182 of 267 in Phnom Penh
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#196 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#63 of 267 in Phnom Penh
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
#122 of 267 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#129 of 267 in Phnom Penh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Property: Diamond Hotel
Address: 172-184 Monivong Blvd, Sangkat Phsar Thmey Ii, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAMOND HOTEL is a 3 stars hotel which centrally located on Monivong Blvd., And in the heart of Phnom Penh city , Kingdom of Cambodia. Only few minutes by a walk-you able to reach to Central market, restaurant, bank, conference center and the shopping center in Phnom Penh. Diamond hotel has comprise of 80 comfortable guest rooms with wooden decoration style. Tourists and business travelers will enjoy our services and facilities in traditional Cambodian hospitality at DIAMOND HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing