We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant left a lot to be desired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The restaurant left a lot to be desired.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had an evening meal when we stayed as part of a Riviera holiday. We ordered a bottle of white wine. It came with 1/3 missing. We asked for a full bottle but they did not have any. Another table ordered white wine @ 33 Us dollars a bottle. When it was poured out it was water!! Water into wine but not wine into water!! They did not have any more white wine. My friend's pork dish tasted good but was so tough he could not eat it. Rooms comfortable but if you overlooked the refuse collection area be prepared for service trucks very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Not overlooking refuse collection area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your kind and honest feedback!

We will take your feedback seriously and will ensure that such incidience will not repeat itself. We have conducted a thorough investigation and have followed up on the matter with our staff as well.

Nonetheless we hope that you have a great time with us overall.

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    211
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
89
129
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Visited the hotel for just one night on our tour of Indochina.
We were upgraded to a VIP suite with three en suite bedrooms, dining room, lounge, kitchen, laundry room and two fabulous balconies overlooking the Mekong River with its great sunrise. Easy to get lost in there!
Nice range of toiletries, slippers, bathrobes etc.. and good free WiFi.
Excellent breakfast and great microbrewery with Jade and Gem beer which is to be recommended.
Lovely hotel and would have loved to have stayed longer as so much to do in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room as watching sunrise from the balcony was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It such a big bonus to have received a fantastic rating from you despite your short stint with us! You really make our day and we will convey your kind compliment to our team.

Please visit Himawari and Phnom Penh again soon to spend longer time with us and to cover other wonderful attractions of our charming city that you have missed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Himawari in the nearest future!

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the Himawari Hotel Apartments in Phnom Penh for two nights in March 2014. This is a large and lovely hotel on the banks of the Mekong River. Unfortunately our room, Room 216 did not have a river view. Saying that, it was a lovely view of the gardens of a neighbouring hotel with frangipani trees and lots of twittering birds. We had a huge room with a kitchenette with sink, fridge-freezer, toaster, kettle and electric hot plates, tea/coffee making facilities with complimentary mineral water which was replenished daily. The cupboards had crockery, cutlery and pots and pans. The room had a dining area, a desk area, air con (which was a bit on the noisy side) and a lovely little balcony. There was also an iron and ironing board, room safe, hospitality umbrella, dressing gown and complimentary slippers, clock with docking station for an ipod.
The bathroom had a shower over the bath, hairdryer, line across the bath for drying out swimwear, complimentary toiletries and towelling flannels.
Wi-fi in the rooms was free. The TV had both CNN and BBC World News
There was a nice pool with saltwater and a pool bar. Staff here were lovely. This hotel has English 3-pin style sockets – very convenient.
Breakfast offered a reasonable selection of hot and cold buffet.
We used their laundry service which was quick and inexpensive.
There is also a Microbrewery in this hotel which was interesting and fun to try out the range of beers on offer.
There was also a gym and a spa.
This is a bit of an unusual hotel. I do wonder if it is also used for time-share accommodation. However, it was very comfortable and I would consider staying here again if I were in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Anna,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed description about Himawari and what we have to offer. We're really pleased that you have had a very comfortable stay with us.

Himawari is a hotel apartment with 51 suites that are run like a hotel rooms and the rest are serviced apartments of 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedrooms suites. You have checked into our 1 bedroom suite.

We would like to clarify that we’re not part of the Time Share programme at the moment and our pool is a regular (non-salt) water pool.

We hope that you had a great stay in Phnom Penh and thank you so much for choosing Himawari. We look forward to welcoming you back to Himawari again soon!

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the service is great! The food at the Oyster restaurant was delicious especially on the week ends as they served fresh sea foods, sashimi salmon, fresh oysters, etc..
I loved the Apsara Gold beer from their Microbrewery, enjoyed in the garden by the river side with nice salty snacks. I had a great time!

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room which gives on the river and the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Tommy,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your wonderful experience at Himawri! We're really delighted to received it.

Our brand new spa is going to be open very soon and we hope you could give it a try.

We look forward to receiving you at Himawari again soon!

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

An excellently located hotel with good walks close-by along the river. This hotel is a series of apartments. The rooms are very large with kitchen facilities and are very comfortable and clean. However there is nothing cosy about them and they do feel a bit utilitarian. The shower leaked but otherwise was good.

Breakfast was a bit sparse and there was not enough tables to cope with a sudden rush of people.

There was nothing major to complain about - it just less luxurious than I would have liked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comment to the Trip Advisor Community.

You’re indeed right that Himawari is not a fanciful hotel but a simple and comfortable accommodation that guests could call a home away from home with a great river view and the best location. Himawari perches on the confluences of four major rivers and in the heart of Phnom Penh near to many attractions.

Thank you for pointing out about the shower and also the breakfast crowd. We will definitely look into these areas and make all the necessary improvements.

We hope you had a great time in Phnom Penh and look forward to seeing you again soon at Himawari.

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Living and working in Phnom Penh, we often make use of the facilities at the Himawari (gym and pool) at weekends. Beyond the occasional excitable child, the Himawari has fit our needs for Sunday poolside relaxation. However on our latest visit (9 March 2014), poolside had become the stomping ground to a dozen or so young maids each overseeing a small Khmer child. These guests are non-paying and although we commend the Himawari for encouraging locals to learn to swim, we have major concerns regarding sanitation having seen two children openly urinate poolside (one into water of the filtration system) under the supervision of their laughing maids. Expressing our concerns to hotel management we were equally dismayed when dismissed with the statement "you do not understand our culture".

There is no clear supervision of the pool area and we have also witnessed nappy changing on the tables designed for al fresco dining.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomha110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your frank feedback and would take your comments seriously and will investigate into the matters.

Himawari pool is indeed very popular among families with young children as the kids really enjoy our baby pool and the parents enjoy our million-dollar river view.

We will do our very best to improve to ensure the most satisfying experience of all our guests.

We hope to see you around at Himawari again soon!

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff and accommodations at Himawari Hotel was very inviting and comfortable. Four of us stayed in Suite and had more than enough space. The rooms were cleaned daily and had a variety buffet breakfast every morning with fresh foods. We also ate dinner there and the menu has a great selection to fit any taste. The Himawari is located in the perfect location for sight seeing or shopping. I recommend staying there to all who travel to Cambodia. You will be more than pleased.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himawari M, Manager at Himawari Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Deanna,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that our guests are satisfied with our service.

We look forward to receiving your team and you again soon at Himawari!

Warmest regards,

Himawari Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#50 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.9 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#31 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himawari Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel Apartments

Property: Himawari Hotel Apartments
Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Himawari Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the idyllic setting of Tonle Sap River, banks of the Chaktomok River, be immersed by the essence of serenity at Himawari Hotel Apartments; a five-star establishment. Enjoy splendid views of Mekong Delta in a tranquil resort haven. Be pampered in the Himawari Suites and Apartments where you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of home. Take pleasure in our hospitality as we lavish upon you within the alluring sanctuary. The close proximity to most Embassies and Ministries makes a perfect choice for the discerning business travellers. Leisurely, our location pairs scenic beauty of the Royal Palace and the National Museum, rendering the cultural jewels of Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himawari Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himawari Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing