We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best managed serviced apartments in Cambodia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Ranked #30 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best managed serviced apartments in Cambodia.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Located in the heart of Phnom Penh, this is a well managed hospitality facility with a great view of the Tonle Sap river and city centre to match. The food offred here is also fabulous. I just had a sumptuous dinner at one of its function rooms last night which was prepared by it local chefs - obviously well trained. The Chinese-styled stewed pork leg dish was outstanding and so was the seafood fried rice with a rich assortment of eggs, prawns - big & small, squid. it is located about 10 minutes walk from the Sisowath Quay riverside with its many food joins, massage and the Royal palace. To its southern flank, also a quick ten minutes walk is Nagaworld, a modern "Angkor Wat" complex dedicated to the earthly and human realm of entertainment - food & drinks and of course gambling and all the social vices that comes with it like in Vegas. The Nagaworld Casino is without a doubt - Cambodia's finest and sophisticated. as a serviced apartment , one has the choice of staying in a single room or a 2 / 3 bedroom unit which makes for great family outings to Phnom Penh. The maid gets to come along to help with the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingwton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    218
    66
    15
    13
See reviews for
99
134
41
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i was at this hotel several times, usually i book the studio with the view over the river. room are very confortable, with balcony, clean and very large. breakfats is superb !!!!! the pool is nice and have besides a large hyidromassage with hot water facing the river. very quiet are, not fare from attractions. good selections of wines that i like to enjoy in the pool with friends. there is also a pool bar and the restaurant served food at the pool area. . in front the hotel lot of gentle and trustable tuk tuk that i used to rent for all night (since 8pm to 4 am) for 15-20 dollars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambrini_alessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at the Himawari in October 2012. It is a good choice as the location is great, not far from the bar district of the town and right on the river.

Rooms were fairly big with their own kitchenette and a good sized bathroom. Mine had a balcony overlooking the Cambodiana Hotel next door, this is not the best view, you really want a room overlooking the river. Try to avoid a room facing the road as the motos and tuk tuks can be fairly noisy.

Service was reasonably good apart from one guy on the night desk who did not understand what was being requested. Everyone else was great, efficient and polite.

Did have one thing go wrong with my room when the A/C backed up and poured water onto my floor. Fortunately I had not left any bags under it. Its one thing to watch out for.

Cambodia is not a straightforward travel destination and you have to be prepared to take the rough with the smooth, but it is worth every moment. Staying at the Himawari sure made it easier.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for a 5 day work trip. The location cannot be beat. Walk across the street and you are on street 240 with restaurants, cafes and shopping boutiques. Rooms are spacious and bright with kitchenette. The pool is large and great for swimming laps. Be sure to ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if you want peace and quiet. I am a single female traveler and asked to change rooms after they put me on the 1st floor next to a walkway where someone could enter my room through the terrace. The staff were accommodating but only moved me up one level. Still it was a better room with a nicer view and better layout (before I had a view of the chain link fence of the tennis court). Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside, second floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claraloiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Himawari in Phnom Penh (PP) in early August 2012. It is a very clean, professional, and well-run hotel with a large pool area, fitness centre, and tennis court. We had a large 1 bedroom apartment and apart from being near the tennis court, we had no complaints. The staff were very helpful and efficient, room service was delicious and good value, and I would definitely recommend the buffet breakfast to get your morning started. Pool and spa were fantastic to relax around with plenty of sun lounges and shade.

The location at Sisowath Quay is probably the best in PP as being by the river gives you a bit of a break from the city chaos. You can also walk to restaurants, bars, money exchange, travel agents (in case you need to bus it to Sihanoukville, Siem Reap, Vietnam etc), and shops along the riverside and visit the Royal Palace and National Museum (10-15 minute walk from hotel). You will also find it very easy to pick up a tuk tuk driver for the day if you walk along Sisowath Quay......they all seem to have the same price (approx $15 USD) for a day tour of both the Killing Fields and Genocide Museum (S-21 Prison).

While PP is not one of the most beautiful or exciting cities in Asia, the Himawari was a great option for a short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room overlooking the tennis court as they start playing early some mornings and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 days and were impressed straight away. Although I'd booked and paid for an exec 2-bedroom apartment, we were immediately upgraded to a 3-bed for no apparent reason. Not complaining at all! The apartment was great - large bedrooms each with an ensuite, great pool view and a view of Mekong River etc. The kitchen had everything you could need or want and we had a washing machine (much used as we were at the end of a 2 week holiday). Security was over-the-top though, probably something to do with the ASEAN conference. Loved the guards with AK47s outside the gate and the full body and bag screening every time we came back from touring around - not! Great location - just a 5 minute walk to the restaurant strip on the river front and other touristy areas. Beware the tuk tuk drivers - they don't take "no" for an answer. Very, very annoying from the moment you step outside the hotel gates.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Shane_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed for 1 week in a 2 rooms apartment facing the street. On and off there were strange loud noise that came from a small store room right beside my apartment. The noise was terrible because it's 24 hours non-stop. Complaint to the staff, they said I'm too sensitive for noise. Each night, local young men race their motorbike on the street until 12am. The noise was really disturbing. Then, 5am the street would be noisy again with all the motorbike noise. Really can't have a good sleep at all whether day or night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlovedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#14 of 269 in Phnom Penh
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himawari Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel Apartments

Property: Himawari Hotel Apartments
Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#19 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Himawari Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the idyllic setting of Tonle Sap River, banks of the Chaktomok River, be immersed by the essence of serenity at Himawari Hotel Apartments; a five-star establishment. Enjoy splendid views of Mekong Delta in a tranquil resort haven. Be pampered in the Himawari Suites and Apartments where you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of home. Take pleasure in our hospitality as we lavish upon you within the alluring sanctuary. The close proximity to most Embassies and Ministries makes a perfect choice for the discerning business travellers. Leisurely, our location pairs scenic beauty of the Royal Palace and the National Museum, rendering the cultural jewels of Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himawari Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himawari Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing