We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good value for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omana Hotel
Ranked #45 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, good value for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The service was good, the rooms were simple and clean. The breakfast was ok, nothing special but it was included in price. The rooms face the courtyard and the courtyard creates a relatively quiet space that allowed us to get away from the traffic and the noise.

We booked a driver who spoke in english through the front desk. it wound up being the almost same price to higher a driver for the day compared with hiring multiple tuk tuk drivers through out the day to get around to different parts of the city. It worked out really well, we wound up hiring the driver for multiple days to drive us to from Phnom Penh to Angkor Wat and back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highlyleveraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, General Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We are very glad that you were able to take in so much of Phnom Penh and experience more of the Cambodian Culture than most. It was a pleasure having you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    160
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
78
125
52
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The property offers a decent stay and location. Close most things and always seemed to have tuktuks out front, if I needed to travel in a hurry.

Furthermore, the property is just clean enough, not manicured or polished in anyway and lots of over filled ashtrays in common spaces. The daily room cleaning was minimal and the staff never once replenished soap, toiletries or drinking water water. The front desk did make sure to bill me for one bottle of "better grade" water.

At checkout they did not have enough change to return back to me, so they just kept the small money (1.50US)No big deal because I had a great time in Cambodia as usual.

It's a very basic hotel neither "luxe" nor "unpleasant." Just basic and mostly clean. Good for Phnom Penh but rather "ok" in international standards.

Anyways I slept here just fine...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olsonleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, General Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and have increased our floor checks intervals to be much more frequent. During your stay not once did you mention that you had any issue with the cleaning and restocking of your room. As for checking out and not having enough money to exchange and they just kept it, we have many options to exchange money to smaller amounts , our cafe and right outside our door a money exchange place. So when you said just said to keep as a tip since you couldn't wait to get it exchanged we were disappointed to read your review, we do encourage all of our guests that if they have any issues to let us know and we do our best to solve them. We hope you had an enjoyable time on the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a nice area. Yes, the street is noisy, but hey - this is Phnom Penh. I loved the athmosphere down on the street, amazing street food, laundry services (much cheaper than on the hotel) and some small stores. The hotel is in walking distance from riverside.

The rooms are ok, nice and clean, but the best thing is the terrace on 1st and 2nd floor. Spent much time there.

Pool area is ok, but the pool was way too cold.

Breakfast; bread, musli, fruit, some hot dishes and egg. I enjoyed it.

Service - good, but I was sold a boat ticket to HCMC and did not get what I paid for. I got to HCMC, but had to go by bus most of the way. That was not what I was promised, but I guess it's just a part of everyday Scambodia, and nothing the hotel staff could predict.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, definitely a good pick in the busy city. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were really impressed with this place, the service was great - staff had great English and were super helpful with advice on where to go/what to see and how to get there and what to pay tuck-tuck drivers etc.! The room was fine (floor a bit scuffed and we had issues with locking door) but had comfy bed, satellite tv as well as dvd player and was very clean! Great little extras including the pool, board games, books etc.! It's about 15 min walk from Grand Palace, and lots of tuck-tucks outside to take you wherever heart desires (ask hotel staff for advice on what to pay them!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure arriving into this little oasis. The staff always had a smile and were ready to help you out if you needed it. The highlight for us was the pool after sweating up a storm seeing the sights-which was always cool and refreshing accompanied by tasty snacks and fruity cocktails!
Really the only downside to this hotel for us was the smallish room with tiny single beds-this was the twin configuration so perhaps the other rooms are fine. Overall great little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moral80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is about average. We stayed for one night and they accomodated us (with extra charge) for an extra bed, but the accomodation was basic and floors not the cleanest. Pool was a welcome respite, but be warned it is very small, more just to dip into. Nice sitting area to chill by. Staff quite helpful and breakfast was worth it. But just be warned that it is on a hot smelly alley (though the rooms do not smell that bad), and the pictures make it look a bit nicer than it is.

NOTE for travellers with disabilities: the only way up to rooms (that I could tell) is by a very sharply winding staircase with awkwardly spaced steps.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool, so you'll be fine. Not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EaterBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a 2bedroom room. Great space and cheap. The pool area was lovely. yes small, but it served its purpose. Great happy hour cocktails by the pool and amazing Tapas, also cheap. The location was great and the breakfast was small but sufficient. Fresh eggs cooked as wanted.I have already recommended this place to friends. We also booked a taxi to Sihanoukville with the front desk which was the best way to get there, especially for 4 people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lezwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#46 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#32 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omana Hotel

Property: Omana Hotel
Address: Street 9, Phnom Penh 4139, Cambodia (Formerly Hotel Nine)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omana Hotel is Western owned and operated. The building was originally constructed in 1994 to house UN officials to support the Cambodian electoral process. Since then it has been under various different renovations & management. In 2015 under new management the building was completely renovated and given its biggest facelift to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Omana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing