We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but noisy”
Review of Omana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omana Hotel
Ranked #44 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location, but noisy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel location is quite good in walking distance to the palace and some wats. There are always tuk-tuks hanging around to cart you wherever you want to go, but it pays off to walk a couple of meters down to the next intersection to get a cheaper rate (especially for day tours to the kiliing fields) since the hotel rate is USD25 and the drivers in front know that.
The rooms are Ok, if a bit worn. You have a nice seating area with fans on every floor. The downside is that the walls are paper-thin and you can here everything around you. The problem, at least for me, was not so much the street noice (practically none later at night) but the other guests slamming doors watching TV, etc. I was woken up a couple of times at night by guests coming back from one party or another and they were not especially noisy or anything.
The pool is nice, if a bit small, but good for a dip after a hot and sweat day of sightseeing.
The breakfast is allright, even though the selection could be better. The café, where the breakfast is served is very small but we never had trouble finding seats or anything. Might be a different story when the hotel is fully booked, We had dinner brought up to the seating area on our floor once and found it very good.
The staff is very nice and helpfull.
What I didn't like to much were quite a few gentlemen staying there with their cambodian girlfriends. Not that they misbehaved or anything, it just leaves a bit of an aftertaste for me. Might have been true love, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tj-exploringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    162
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
78
134
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best aspect of hotel is Rotha on the front desk. Large number of families staying and was noisy. Misses the influence of last year's Aus manager Franco. Overpriced for what it is, and off the beaten track so have to Tuk everywhere. Not clean, even acquired some unwelcome bed mates

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earsfloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend. Very well situated in walking distance to the palace and museum. Rooms are decent for the price. We stayed in 304 and did get some street noise, but that's Asian cities for you! The spiral stairs could be a problem, but think they have ground floor rooms. Also if you are comfortable bargaining, you can rent a tuk tuk for the day much cheaper if you don't go through the reception. They offered US$25 for a trip to tuol sleng and the killing fields, which we eventually paid US$15 for. However, in the end that is the hotel's prerogative to mark up if they wish. In the end, good sized rooms, clean bathrooms and excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The entrance to the hotel was modest and I didn’t even realize that it was a hotel until I went inside. Once inside though, I noticed the relaxed feel of the place and the simplicity of the hotel design. The hotel staff was always helpful to all our needs and requests.

The hotel is conveniently located near a number of restaurants and stores but quite far from the tourist spots although it was fine since we hired a tuktuk to tour us around.

The room we’ve stayed in was right in front of the pool and dining area . Our room was glistening in cleanliness and all the facilities were working fine. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was good (buffet) even though we only had a few to choose from . A dip in the hotel’s pool was a great way to cool off after a day of strolling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thhis hotel came strongly recommended by a trusted and experienced friend in Bangkok. When I made the booking I specifically asked for a quiet room. But quiet is a relative term; all the rooms face the street, the walls are paper thin, and outside noises permeate. And the term "boutique" is inflated, not just by this hotel. but by many similar properties. the rooms are ok, but hardly designer-quality. Service is fine, but I suspect it would be similar in most hotels in Phnom Penh.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendofganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel Nine have very nice staff, they made our stay enjoyable even though we stayed there for only 2 nights. They even offered to prepare our take away breakfast even though the kitchen will open at 6 am, it was ready by 5:30.
The rooms are also nice. The only thing i didn't like is that you can hear the guests from above when they are walking on the stairs beside our room, other than that everything is good.
The small swimming pool is a nice way to relax after a whole day of touring the city.

Room Tip: Try higher room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean, Comfortable, Centrally located=A+++. I had no idea what lurked behind the walls of this boutique hotel upon arrival...What I discovered was style, good service and did I mention comfort? The patio and pool area has a definite "zen" quality, so much so I almost slept outside that first night. The room was minimally and tastefully decorated and the bathroom neoteric. Good breakfast, free wi-fi (always a plus) and good AC system-:)) I loved leaving my hand print on the wall, there weren't too many from the U.S.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSistah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 269 in Phnom Penh
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 269 in Phnom Penh
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
1.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 269 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omana Hotel

Property: Omana Hotel
Address: Street 9, Phnom Penh 4139, Cambodia (Formerly Hotel Nine)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#27 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omana Hotel is Western owned and operated. The building was originally constructed in 1994 to house UN officials to support the Cambodian electoral process. Since then it has been under various different renovations & management. In 2015 under new management the building was completely renovated and given its biggest facelift to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Omana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing