We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Omana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omana Hotel
Ranked #46 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in November. Lovely service, great cocktails and the pool is a lovely oasis. Like that all the balconies have chill out couches and day beds too. Breakfast was pretty good for the included price. This place has a really nice vibe.

Room Tip: We didn't see the bigger rooms as we had a standard. It was fine but looks out to the shared bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbobaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    161
    43
    15
    9
See reviews for
78
126
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staff were very helpful and the rooms were a decent size with good en suite shower, room safe and DVD player if you fancy a night in. Franco, the manager, was incredibly friendly and really made the place. They also support a really worthwhile charity (Sisha) and if you're travelling in Cambodia, it's nice to have the option to support a good cause on the way. The food was fine. A little bit of noise in the hotel room from the pool area downstairs and street below, but nothing a good pair of ear plugs couldn't deal with at nighttime (same as most hotels in the centre of busy cities). Happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great little spot for a cultural fix with loads of street food, vendors and emerging shops. TRUNKH around the corner is a real 'find'. Cool hotel, upper floor best for view and privacy. Only downside was a rather knobbly bed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookieandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of a month in Cambodia. The rooms were well kept and quiet, although more so higher up ... you can get a little noise from the stairs and pool area in the ground floor rooms. Franco and his staff were very helpful in making arrangements and offering advice, even helping me get out of town a day early when Obama's arrival closed the airport. It's a bit of a hike to the attractions and Riverside but a short inexpensive tuk tuk ride. But the immediate area is interesting, lots of local food vendors, and also some trendy cafes and restaurants (like Deco, recommended by Franco) five or ten minutes walk away. And there are also interesting streets like St. 240 with its boutiques and coffee shops between the hotel and downtown. The breakfast was great, even opening up early one morning to make sure I got fed prior to a biking trip. Lots of fresh fruit and eggs well prepared. The pool is small but refreshingly cool. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in Nov. As others have said rooms have all you need (inc a safe) and are modern, bed very comfy, bathrooms clean and A/C worked well. Wi fi in all rooms. Great suppers available for $5 - from a varied 'tapas' selection and i found one was enough for my supper. mini bar with cokes etc for $1.
laundry service - drop off by 10am and back by 7pm - trousers/shirts @ 90cents each.
Breakfast good with a choice of how you like your eggs cooked. Omlette delicious. Tuk tuks available all the time. Good location for tourist sights. Safe area to walk in.
Only negative - if you're a light sleeper like me then you might hear the dog barking on the street or noisy guests in the room next door but this is fixed with some earplugs!
All in all a bargain at £30+ a night and Franco who has been in the hotel business for many years has got the formula right here and i'm sure would sort any problems if you had one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

A nice little place on a lively street a few minutes walk from Independence Monument.
The Australian owner, Franco, who seemed like a cool guy, greeted us with cold drinks as soon as we arrived to check in.

My room #307 was clean and comfortable, and the A/C works well. The shower could use a bit more water flow, and the sink was slow to drain, but those were minor issues that I didn't bother telling front desk.

The tapas from Lime Nine restaurant was very good, and so was complimentary breakfast with made to order eggs.

1/2 price drinks during happy hour everyday! I always made sure to have a drink or two on the patio in the evening before heading out for dinner.

Two things I like most about the place: balconies on each floor and pool side lounge chairs where I can relax with a drink. I didn't use the pool myself, but it probably does a good job cooling down after a long day.

The second thing is the location. Just walk out the front door, and you would be greeted with street food vendors and regular Khmer people going about their business. It is a more genuine experience compared to all the foreigners and expats hanging around the riverfront.
Do try the street food there, especially noodle soup/fried noodles, and bbq duck!

If you're looking for fine dining, the BKK1 neighbourhood is also within walking distance, where you can find plenty of highly rated restaurants and cafes.

Note that there is another similarly named hotel in the city, so print out the map from the website to show your driver just in case.

Room Tip: Upper floor with pool view if you don't mind the narrow spiral stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotterdhc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Nine for 6 nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It really is a little oasis. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed, including a TV with a DVD player for those DVDs from the Russian Markets. The pool was lovely as too the day beds on each floor. The menu was also tasty and well priced. Franco does a great job of managing the place. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.1 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#54 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
#47 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omana Hotel

Property: Omana Hotel
Address: Street 9, Phnom Penh 4139, Cambodia (Formerly Hotel Nine)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omana Hotel is Western owned and operated. The building was originally constructed in 1994 to house UN officials to support the Cambodian electoral process. Since then it has been under various different renovations & management. In 2015 under new management the building was completely renovated and given its biggest facelift to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing