We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm”
Review of Omana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omana Hotel
Ranked #42 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Due West, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Nine. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but basic--but then we did not come to Phnom Penh to stay in our room. The common areas were what made the hotel so appealing. Our daughter loved the pool, and my wife and I enjoyed sitting around the pool. The staff was very polite and helpful. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Everything you mentioned is exactly what we envisaged when we decided to build the hotel. Clean, modern rooms, with spacious communal areas to enjoy. It makes us very happy that we are achieving that.

Thanks again for taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    43
    15
    9
See reviews for
78
131
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel was a bit difficult for our 2 cab drivers to find at first because the hotel is not very noticable from the outside. At first, upon our arrival, we felt a bit skeptical about the neighborhood b/c it was late and dark. We couldn't see much of the hotel at all, until the front door opened. The inside of the hotel compared to what we saw outside was completely different, for the better though. The hotel is gated so we felt very safe as soon as we entered it.

For what we paid, we were pleased overall. The hotel was generally pretty clean and decent. Our room was a bit small, but served it's purpose since we were never really there most of the time. The other rooms for our group were larger depending on the number of beds needed. Ours was 1 double bed. The bathroom looked clean also. There were 2 complimentary bottles of water each day. Noise level was minimal, if any that we noticed. Beds were simple, nothing special. Free wifi available, and 1-2 computer/internet stations available in common area.

Buffet breakfast had 3 main items, some cereal, juices, milk, fruits, and toast, very basic. Although limited, we really couldn't ask for more and still enjoyed it every morning.

Staff were friendly but spoke limited English, some more than others. Anytime we asked about tour info, they didn't have very much to tell us. However, there is a booklet in the hotel room that talks a bit about tour info and the costs for the tours. There was one gentleman front desk who spoke better English but he was only there on certain days.

Tuk tuk drivers are everywhere, waiting to take us at the entrance. It costed us about $1 USD to Royal Palace and $3 USD to Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, one way. Tuk Tuk drivers try to get more out of you, but try to not accept the first price they give you. Some of them may not be happy with the price that they end up receiving, and try to get more from you after you arrive at your destination so make sure that both sides are clear and agree to the cost before proceeding.

We were literally just steps away from one of the main roads, 5 min walk away from the Independent monument, 7 min Tuk tuk to the Riverside street, and about 4 minutes from the Royal Palace. There are nearby restaurants that are walking distance away. Thus, we were in a good location.

The hotel has happy hour from 5:00-7:00 pm, and a nice lounge area to sit and socialize with family and friends.

Cons: small pool, no telephone/iron/hair dryer in room but these items are available upon request at reception. There is a telephone located in the common hallway but this can only be used to call reception, not to make local/long distance calls. Personal calls will have to made at reception for a small fee. The worst part is having no elevator. Although I didn't mind them not having one, my mother-in-law did, as she has difficulty climbing stairs.

Despite all the cons, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if we returned. Good price, good location, friendly staff, and worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhtutu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your recommendation.
Most taxi drivers are learning where Hotel Nine is as we are fairly new hotel, we have some more signage going up outside to make it even more noticeable. On our website there is a downloadable map that is also written in Khmer, we suggest that guests use this to make it hassle free to get to the hotel.

We have now installed phones in every guest room, there are able to call directly to reception and to the café for room service, you are also able to make local and international calls at very reasonable rates.

Thanks again for your review and hope we get to meet you again some day at Hotel Nine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Coming from Siem Reap, Phnom Penh was a bit of a culture shock... so much bigger and busier. This little oasis in the city was always great to return to.

We had a basic twin room that was, by chance, on the end of the second floor balcony, so there was no foot traffic. It was a decent size and had a very good a/c. This is possibly why we had a thick quilt on the beds - for that you had to set it quite cool. The bathroom was large, and while there was no tub, the rain shower was fantastic.

The hotel had a basic but appreciated buffet breakfast. We never tried lunch or dinner. The pool was good and the seating around both it and the balconies was great to relax by. Because it's a smaller hotel, it was never crowded.

The location was pretty decent. A 15 minute walk in the heat to the Royal Palace, and a bit further to the riverside. We walked sometimes, but the small crowd of tuk tuks waiting out the front were too hard to ignore on most occasions.

Looking back on our four night stay, we were happy and felt it was good value for money. There are higher rated hotels on TA that we'd like to try next time, but certainly we were satisfied with Hotel Nine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review

We are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nine and thanks for the recommendation. Hope to see you again one day at Hotel Nine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff and very clean property. We went as big family and had booked four rooms. Kids ranging from 4 to 14. Tuk tuks were available at all times though we had our own rental van.
Food in the restaurant was limited but tasted good. Breakfast spread was also limited but good. Restaurant closes at 10 pm so order anything to eat before that!
No phones in room and no elevator was somewhat limiting but all in all we had a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but you can try to take the ones that are on the floors above the restaurant side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We have now installed phones in every guest room, there are able to call directly to reception and to the café for room service, you are also able to make local and international calls at very reasonable rates.

Thanks again for your review and recommendation. We hope to see you again one day at Hotel Nine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel Nine is in a great location, the staff were very friendly and there are Hotel Nine tuk-tuk drivers on standby as and when you need them to whizz you around the fabulous city of Phnom Penh. Hotel Nine is on a very busy street which makes you feel like you have been chucked into the deep end of Cambodia, but it is very exciting. However you can still be by the pool enjoying Hotel 9's happy hour and feel like you are the only ones there. Great hotel, excellent facilities and very accommodating. Even arranging us a driver and car to take us all the way to Siem Reap! For just $85USD. Thoroughly recommend Hotel Nine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaBailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nine. The location of Hotel Nine is in real “Phnom Penh”, street 9 is a wonderful street that has a real community feel. Walk through the gates to Hotel Nine though and you can escape the hustle and bustle. This is what we had in mind when we built the hotel, and it is nice to know that guests also see it that way.

We will pass on your kind comments directly to the staff, it is very rewarding from them when they get this kind of feedback.

Thanks again for your review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Hotel nine is a very friendly hotel. Very clean, this quiet hotel has a good atmosphere. Breakfast is exactly what it should always be. The staff is nice, helpful and competent. Nobody could be desappointed. It is I come back again and again there. I am used to going to phnom penh and I know quite a few hotels. Only one problem, can be easily no vacancies cause there are not so many rooms. Love it ! I sent a few friends there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Thanks for your recommendation here on trip advisor and to your friends. You are right, since opening we have been very busy and we very rarely have vacancies. Book ahead!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, nice clean room, lovely pool and good breakfast. A bit expensive if you book bus travel. Excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeliBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Omana Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nine and thank you for your reccomedation. We hope that we can see you again at Hotel Nine in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 267 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skyline Boutique Hotel
Skyline Boutique Hotel
#81 of 267 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#53 of 267 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omana Hotel

Property: Omana Hotel
Address: Street 9, Phnom Penh 4139, Cambodia (Formerly Hotel Nine)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#26 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omana Hotel is Western owned and operated. The building was originally constructed in 1994 to house UN officials to support the Cambodian electoral process. Since then it has been under various different renovations & management. In 2015 under new management the building was completely renovated and given its biggest facelift to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Omana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing