We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Ranked #109 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Located on Sisowath Quay, this tiny restaurant is a good tip for any customer, either you're cambodian or a tourist.
The average price is $3 for a hot dish.
Any kind of food. Khmer/European/Junk food.
Good value for money.


Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank cambx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

The family are so nice and helpful.

The location is great.

Good balcony for people watching.

But rooms are pretty old, and not that nice.

However I guess you pay that bit extra for the balcony and the location.

I would recommend going 5 minutes away from the river and paying 10$ less for a smaller but similar standard of room.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room if you do stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeygreen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Great guest house with excellent value. Totally family run from the owners young and older kids to the owners Mother! Everyone is so kind polite and helpful. Varity of rooms to stay in all spotless airy and with AC .. not the strongest AC but it does the trick! The Guesthouse is within reasonable walking distance to all Phnom Penhs attractions.Really love this guesthouse and the welcoming relaxed atmosphere. Would reccomend to anyone on any budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a great location in Phnom Penh, right by the river and about a 10 minute walk from the night market which is worth checking out, we got the room on the 3rd floor which was massive, with a private balcony which was an added bonus. The owner was very accommodating as we turned up early she served us breakfast (which she discounted) then got our room sorted straight away, her family are lovely too always asking how your day was or if you needed anything, All in all a great guesthouse, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After booking, I saw several bad reviews and expected the worst. However, I really enjoyed my stay here. To start, the location was perfect. It's across from the water, near the Royal Palace, lots of shops etc. As a solo female traveler I appreciated so many cafes and restaurants nearby so that I didn't have a long walk back after dinner. I've stayed in other neighborhoods in the city and didn't feel comfortable walking around at night, but this area feels safe and is very active.

The woman working behind the bar/desk was incredibly helpful. She helped me secure a tuk-tuk driver and informed me of the prices. She also lent me a map to help me get around. She took the time to get to know me and was fun to talk to.

The room was small, but clean. I was on the third floor, so I didn't hear the noise from the bar downstairs. The bathroom was clean and ample hot water. For the price, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrosprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Upon arrival was sent to a different hotel. It wasn't too far away but the original room I was put in had only a window into the hall - no natural light. Was moved to a room with a window but the window just looked at a building 2 feet away. Room was dirty - cutip in the bathroom on the floor. Bad bathroom. Bed was comfy. Bug found in room, cockroach found in hallway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

After having a bad experience with an apartment rental and leaving after three months I ended up staying here for a few months. Sophia the owner gave me a good long term rate which included electricity and internet. I could only find one other guesthouse that gave me a comparable deal. I had one of the rooms facing the back alley and was happy with it. It was a lot better than the first guesthouse I stayed at. The room is small but efficient with a desk, very comfortable bed, clothes rack, table, and TV. The bathroom is very big. When I had problems they were promptly dealt with. Sophia seems genuinely concerned with making her guests happy. Guests get a discount on food and draft beers are only $0.50 for everyone. My favorite dish is the chicken with Khmer ingredients. The location is great as it is not in the very touristy part of Riverside and it is close to many good restaurants. It is also possible to walk to a lot of places like Central Market and Sorya Shopping Center. My friend stayed in one of the balcony rooms and it was nice and spacious. I would recommend the balcony rooms on level 1-2 or one of the windowed rooms facing the back alley if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#195 of 274 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#189 of 274 in Phnom Penh
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#157 of 274 in Phnom Penh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#112 of 274 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sre Leap Hotel
Sre Leap Hotel
#196 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capitol Guesthouse
Capitol Guesthouse
#115 of 274 in Phnom Penh
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovanphum Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovanphum Guesthouse

Address: #5E0, Street 178, Sangkat Chey Chum Neas, Khan Daun Penh | Right across FCC, near Royal Palace, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sovanphum Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sovanphum Guesthouse and Restaurant is set just a few steps away from the peaceful Mekong River. It features clean and comfortable guestrooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access. Authentic Khmer and Western dishes can be enjoyed at the in-house restaurant. Guests can also enjoy a drink while relaxing at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sovanphum Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing