We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, nice lounge area, value for money”
Review of Me Mates Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Me Mates Villa
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Centrally located, nice lounge area, value for money”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Located a ten minute walk away from the riverside. Tucked in off the main street and hence avoids the noise of the vehicles and travelers. Cannot stress on how well located the place is.

Stayed at the 8 bed mixed dorm for two nights. Got a free Tuk Tuk pick up from the bus station. Was well received; Tuk Tuk driver carried my bag in and I was greeted at the door with smiling faces and a glass of ice cold water. Shown to my dorm and handed over my keys.

Neat dorm beds, each person given an ample sized locker with a padlock. Air conditioned dorms, towel provided, clean sheets. Clean bathrooms with hot water showers.

The lounge area though small, is a very nice area to chill. Happy hours through the early evening. And a pretty decent ice coffee too. They offer shisha, though its not very good.

I found it to be a great place to meet people as a solo traveler. Plenty of other solo backpackers. And the lounge area is a great place to sit down for a drink before heading out. The staff is also very friendly and helpful and they all even came out with us one night. (Do not take up their offer to go to a Khmer club unless you enjoy absolutely dreadful music)

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ananth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
13
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived, I got a nice cold water, everybody was very friendly from day 1 till I left. Nice dorm with good shower. The idea behind this hostel with teaching everybody something, was told to me afterwords, I like!! A lot!! I will stay here again in 4 days, can't wait!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marieke312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

all the positive reviews here are right. i was very content when i chose this hotel for my staying in Phnom Penh. I just stayed here for only one night, the room was very clean, and comfortable. Hotel with nice facade, good foods and drinks. The staffs were very friendly and they helped me a lot for any informations or booking tickets. Recommended !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here and although hard to find, I got there eventually. It's down an alley if you are looking on the street.

I checked in and the staff rushed a glass of water over which I downed in one go. I was shown to my room which was on the ground floor. It was really big and spacious. The toilet and shower fine, not much power if i remember right. Anyway the room was a little noisy in the morning as it was right at reception.

The food at the hostel was very very good and I enjoyed the Luk Lak they made. Was the best I had in Cambodia.

Now for the Tuk-Tuk issue, I don't know if they are associated with the hostel or not but I would not trust them. They scammed us.

One driver (Gem) he has a diamond in his tooth and a large ring on his finger, he is a real hustler. He said he would take us to the orphanage near by for free. We said that would be great as it would be nice to do something charitable. So next morning he turned up in a huge 4x4 jeep and took us. He offered to stop off so we could buy rice for the kids. Well we nearly dropped when they said it was $60 for 50kg of rice, its the staple diet there. We weren't sure what to do but got 25kg for $40, there was 3 of us so we split it, reluctantly. We then went in search of toys for the kids, oddly we were taken to some very expensive market stalls. We bought what we thought was reasonable and what the kids would enjoy.

We arrived at Lighthouse Orphanage and were greeted by no children. Some appeared after a minute or two and were not that fussed by are arrival. We were shown around and the food room was not shown. Eventually we found around 20kids all watching films on a laptop, they were not really interested in us until the movie ended. They then came and got some of the stuff we brought and played with them.

The owner/runner of the orphanage then tried to get us to donate cash to him, whilst the kids brought us over and tried to get us to buy items they had 'made'. The most shocking thing was, out of toys we brought, the owner took them unopened and locked them away. He did however pocket some bubbles to bring for his children. I couldn't believe it. I think that everything that was unopened will be returned to the stalls where we bought them and the money will be split.

When leaving we asked Gem (tuk tuk) driver to us straight back to the hostel. It took us 15mins to get from the hostel to the orphanage and on the way back it took 3hrs. We were toured around the place and taken to his sisters house, which oddly was a cafe, anyway after having to be very forceful with him and telling him to take us back immediately he reluctantly left his sisters.

When we got back we left and said thanks 15mins later he stopped us and said the owner of the car wanted money for using his car. We said that he never told us this, he continually said it was free. Anyway apparently the trip cost $20, it would of cost $2.00 if he had taken us straight there and back without the diversion to his sisters. We refused to pay and although he was annoyed the next morning still told me to write a nice review for him on hostel world as he would get $10 for it.

All of this soured my opinion on Me Mates Villa. The staff who worked inside there, especially Charlie were amazing and so nice but the tuk tuk drivers are not to be trusted.

I wouldn't stay here again simply because this type of scam is allowed to happen right outside the hostel. If it's without their consent it needs to be told to guests, if it's with their consent then it's even worse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Best things about this hostel are the wide beds, air con and hot showers!

Our 6 bed female dorm was tight for space, but some of the others are much more roomy so might depend on your luck!

I would have preferred a better communal area, so good if you're looking for a quieter hostel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1takemesomewhere_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great staff. Great food. Great rates. Great location. Met some great people to hang around with. The staff really carnt do enough for you, and its always with the biggest smile. If I'm ever back in Phnom Penh, I'm staying at Me Mates Villa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night while on my way through to the coast. Wanted to stay when I came back to PP but couldn't as was booked up. Not surprised as it's a great little, place. It's in a great location near the palace, but because it's down a little alley (not a scuzzy alley), it's also quite peaceful. The staff are super friendly and helpful. They have a small bar and serve food - I had a v tasty beef loc lac - would recommend!
The dorm room was clean, but best of all, it had massive, wide bunk beds and lockers you could fit your whole back pack in, with a padlock and key provided for small deposit. Ensuite shower was hot with good water pressure.
Great place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BlueHome Villa II
BlueHome Villa II
#34 of 237 in Phnom Penh
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 237 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
G Eleven Hotel
G Eleven Hotel
#57 of 325 in Phnom Penh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Me Mates Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Me Mates Villa

Property: Me Mates Villa
Address: # 12AB Sangkat Chheychomnas | St. 184, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Me Mates Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Me Mates Villa is a budget accommodation in Phnom Penh that provides travelers with outstanding flashpacking facilities such as a large comfortable communal area, free internet access and wifi, delicious Khmer dishes and western food, beer towers and great value cocktails in the active bar. Me Mate’s Villa has no hidden meaning, its right here in the name! What better place to say than at a mate’s? We will make sure that you have a smile on your face whenever you are in our presence and we also ensure all guests are completely satisfied with their stay. The Facilities are out of this world. Popular night club, Garden Bistro, Wood fire Pizzeria, game centers (digital and Board game facilities) Bars Live Dj's Live performances Cabaret style nightly performances tour and ticketing plus room service at the touch of a dial. 24 hour security on premises and on the street 24hrs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Me Mates Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing